BookSeriesList
Headline

A Daughter's Journey

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews' captivating saga A DAUGHTER'S JOURNEY brings the Liverpool of the 1950s and 1960s vividly to life - not to be missed by readers of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.Angela O'Rourke is six when her parents hand her over to an aunt and uncle in a distant village. It's a common practice for large, hard-up families in 1950s Ireland, but for Angela it means that her mother and father don't love her any more. Angela is well cared for until she's sixteen, but then her uncle takes to drink, and it's not safe for her stay in his house. Moving to Liverpool in the early 1960s, she begins to make her mark in the world of fashion design. But the pain of a disastrous love affair sends her home to Ireland just after the death of her aunt: and there, among old papers, Angela makes an astonishing discovery. As she learns the truth about the past, a brighter new future beckons.

Headline

A Secret in the Family

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

'The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool' (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, brings 1960s Liverpool vividly to life in this evocative saga not to be missed by readers of Donna Douglas and Kate Thompson.When best friends Dee Campbell and Jean Williams leave school in 1959, it feels like every opportunity awaits them. Their families haven't long moved from a rundown part of the city to leafy Kirkby when Jean's father wins the Irish sweepstake and soon Jean's set up her own hairdressing salon, while both girls have fallen for good-looking lads with prospects. But Dee's father is about to discover a disturbing truth about her fiancé which will tear the family apart. As Dee flees to Ireland, Jean marries Tony, blissfully unaware that she's not the only pretty girl to catch his eye... Tumultuous years lie ahead but Dee and Jean will learn that the people who love you will always be there when you need them most...

Headline

Beyond a Misty Shore

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Sunday Times bestselling Lyn Andrews writes touchingly and evocatively of the aftermath of war in BEYOND A MISTY SHORE, not to be missed by readers of Maureen Lee and Kitty NealeIt is 1945 and the war is finally over. But for sisters Sophie and Maria, who have no choice but to leave their beloved home on the Isle of Man, the upheaval is just beginning. Eighteen-year-old Maria is loath to leave the island as it's there she met Hans Bonhoeffer, a young Austrian interned during the war. For widowed Sophie, however, Liverpool offers exciting opportunities. As Maria longs for a reunion with Hans, Sophie is drawn to Frank Ryan, a man who is not free to be with her. Will the sisters ever find happiness?.

Headline

Conner Street's War

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Behind the grimy wharves of Londons dockland lies Conner Street, home to a close-knit community where women stand gossiping in doorways, small boys play marbles on the cobbles and the dockers pop down to the Eagle for a quick pint. Corner shops nestle beside the tiny terraced houses and two minutes away is the lively Tower Road market, where it is said, if you can't buy something then it's not made. Once World War Two breaks out, however, life in Conner Street changes dramatically - for ever...

Headline

From Liverpool With Love

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews' Sunday Times bestseller FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE is a nostalgic and dramatic saga perfect for readers of Dilly Court and Katie FlynnIn 1920s Liverpool, Jane, her little brother Alfie and their mother Ellen have faced the horrors of the workhouse together. But when Ellen dies, two very different paths open up for the siblings. Jane is sent to work in the Empire Laundry and builds a new life for herself with the neighbours who take her in. She finds solace there and the promise of a happy future when she falls for Joe, their eldest son.But Alfie absconds from the workhouse and embarks on a life of crime. When their paths cross once more, Alfie turns on his sister. His plans will jeopardise every happiness she hoped for...

Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

HEART AND HOME is a poignant saga of shop girls in 1930s Liverpool from Lyn Andrews, the Sunday Times bestselling author of FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE and THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.Cathie Kinrade is all too used to hardship. Growing up on the Isle of Man in the 1930s, she sees her da set sail daily on dangerous seas while her mam struggles to put food on the table. Cathie has little hope for her own future, until a chance encounter changes her fortunes for ever. Fiercely determined, Cathie leaves for Liverpool, a bustling modern city full of possibility. With a lively job as a shop girl in a grand department store, and a firm friend in kind-hearted Julia, Cathie has found her niche. But the discovery of an explosive secret could put everything at risk. And when love comes calling, Cathie's new friends fear that she may be set to trust the wrong man with her heart...

Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A dramatic and warm-hearted Liverpool saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.It is 1935 and as Carrie Courtney watches her twin sister, Connie, marry the man of her dreams, Carrie longs to find a love of her own. Having lost their mother at an early age, the girls were brought up by their maiden aunts and, with Connie leaving home, Carrie is desperate to spread her wings. Using her skills as a bookkeeper, Carrie gets an exciting new job but her stunning beauty soon attracts the wrong kind of attention. And romance is the last thing on her mind when her beloved father finds himself caught up in an illegal jewellery business that threatens to destroy them all...

Headline

Mersey Blues

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

For three friends, life after the Great War will never be the same again... Mersey Blues is a heart-rending portrayal of Liverpool in the years between the wars - of the rebuilding of the city, and the people's dreams of peace, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry. Mersey Blues is the sequel to Lyn Andrews' much-loved wartime saga, Mist Over The Mersey.The Great War had ended and Scotland Road was left to count the cost. Many young men had not come back; those who had would never be the same again. Dee Chatterton and Abbie Kerrigan had seen the horrors of war for themselves as nurses in military hospitals abroad. While Abbie settled down in the familiar surroundings of Scotland Road, for others, different horizons beckoned. Dee went to live in Canada, while their friend Hannah Harvey became personal nurse to none other than Richard, seventh Earl of Ashenden, badly injured in the war. Moving to the splendours of Ashenden Hall was to bring her unimagined happiness, but also the heartache of being separated for ever from her family and friends. What readers are saying about Mersey Blues: 'Very good read, just could not wait to read it. Brilliant writer''I enjoyed the story so much I immediately bought another Lyn Andrews. Somehow I just flew through the pages, which I think shows that the pace keeps you turning the pages''Five stars'

Headline

Sunlight on the Mersey

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

SUNLIGHT ON THE MERSEY is an engaging saga full of nostalgia and heartbreak from bestselling author Lyn Andrews, whose novels will be enjoyed by fans of Kate Thompson and Dilly Court.Three years have passed since the end of the Great War. Yet life in Liverpool remains uncertain for shopkeeper's wife Kate Mundy and her family.Following recent heartbreak, seventeen-year-old Rose is sent to work in rural Wales, where she is enchanted by the 'big house' and by David, its tragic young owner. Sister Iris can't escape so easily, especially when an accident has devastating consequences for the family. Meanwhile ex-soldier Charlie is keen to secure a brighter future for himself...even if it means putting ambition above his own happiness. There is romance in store for each of the family. But can love blossom amidst the challenges that lie ahead?

1