James Forrester - The Roots of Betrayal - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755358601
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2011

The Roots of Betrayal

By James Forrester

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The brilliant new Elizabethan thriller from the highly acclaimed author of SACRED TREASON

From the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series, and SACRED TREASON comes the brilliant new Elizabethan thriller.

1564: Catholic herald William Harley, Clarenceux King of Arms, is the custodian of a highly dangerous document. When it is stolen, Clarenceux immediately suspects a group of Catholic sympathisers, the self-styled Knights of the Round Table. Francis Walsingham, the ruthless protégé of the queen's Principal Secretary, Sir William Cecil, intercepts a coded message from the Knights to a Countess known to have Catholic leanings. He is convinced that Clarenceux is trying to use the document to advance the cause of the Catholic Queen. And soon Clarenceux enters a nightmare of suspicion, deception and conspiracy. Conflict and fear, compounded by the religious doubts of the time, conceal a persistent mystery. Where has the document gone? Who has it and who really took it? And why? The roots of betrayal are deep and shocking: and Clarenceux's journey towards the truth entails not just the discovery of clues and signs, but also the discovery of himself.

Biographical Notes

James Forrester is a pen name for historian Dr Ian Mortimer. Dr Mortimer is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the author of four highly acclaimed medieval biographies. He is also the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England which was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller and The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series. He lives with his wife and three children on the edge of Dartmoor. For more information, visit www.jamesforrester.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755356065
  • Publication date: 16 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

'This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction' The TimesAlison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession and Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen, draws a spellbinding portrait of Anna of Kleve, Henry VIII's fourth queen, as you've never seen her before. What secrets did Anna of Kleve hold? 'Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else' Barbara Erskine'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian

Headline

Conqueror (Leopards of Normandy 3)

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline

Time's Convert

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline Review

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Emily Gunnis
Authors:
Emily Gunnis
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

'This brilliant book is a bombshell! Jane Seymour the shy mouse type? Think again!' Kate WilliamsAlison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws an enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen, as you've never seen her before. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.'This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction' The TimesTHE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King.She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son . . . or face ruin.This new Queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne. In doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King?JANE SEYMOURTHE THIRD OF HENRY'S QUEENSHER STORYAcclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world. History tells us how she died.This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived.SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Headline

Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, The Silent Companions and Susan Hill, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and as good as Sarah Waters' Historical Novel Society 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil.Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet. What readers are saying about The Coffin Path: 'A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night''Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge''I couldn't put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen'

Headline Review

Another Woman's Husband

Gill Paul
Authors:
Gill Paul

USA Today bestselling author of The Secret WifeANOTHER WOMAN'S HUSBAND is the latest gripping novel from Gill Paul. 'A triumph' Dinah Jefferies on The Secret Wife.Two women, divided by time, bound by a secret...1911. Aged just fifteen, Mary Kirk and Wallis Warfield meet at summer camp. Their friendship will survive heartbreaks, continents, and the demands of the English crown, until it is shattered by one unforgivable betrayal...1997. Kendall's romantic break in Paris with her fiance is interrupted when the taxi in front crashes suddenly. The news soon follows: Princess Diana is dead. Trying to forget what she has witnessed, Kendall returns home, where the discovery of a long-forgotten link to Wallis Simpson, the Duchess of Windsor, will lead her to the truth of a scandal which shook the world...Richly imagined and beautifully written, ANOTHER WOMAN'S HUSBAND is a moving novel about two women thrust into the spotlight, haunted by love and loss.

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Tinder Press

Mussolini's Island

Sarah Day
Authors:
Sarah Day
Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Queen of the Dark Ages and bestselling author of Company of Liars, Karen Maitland returns to the plague with a tale that will chill and delight fans of Minette Walters' The Last Hours and Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister in equal measure.'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times 1361. An unlucky thirteen years after the Black Death, plague returns to England.When the sickness spreads from city to village, who stands to lose the most? And who will seize this moment for their own dark ends?The dwarf who talks in riddles? The mother who fears for her children? The wild woman from the sea? Or two lost boys, far away from home?Pestilence is in the air. But something much darker lurks in the depths.What readers are saying about The Plague Charmer:'I couldn't put it down. Atmospheric and dark. [Karen Maitland] has created a very believable world of superstition, reality and the possibility of the supernatural''An incredibly absorbing book, full of twists and turns''Loved this gritty tale set in a time of dark magic and the plague. Its horrors are vividly told but with an underlying sense of human resilience and hope'

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Set in London's East End in the 1900s, DIAMONDS IN DANBY WALK is Pam Evans' dramatic and heartrending family saga sure to appeal to fans of Dilly Court and Annie Murray.If Ralph Jackson had not been selfishly intent on an afternoon's stolen pleasure with his East End mistress Clara that day in 1900, a great many lives would have been different - most notably that of Amy Atkins, Clara's skinny young niece. Her penniless father George wants a better start for her than the mean streets of Bethnal Green, and if he has to resort to a spot of blackmail to get it, so be it.For fear of his philandering ways coming to light, Ralph offers Amy a job at his posh West London jeweller's. With her quick wits and eye for business she attracts the attention of Ralph's handsome son Clifford. But when one thing inevitably leads to another, weak-willed Clifford is quite happy to leave Amy holding the baby. He has reckoned without the powerful influence Amy's father still exerts over Ralph. An amazed Amy finds herself Mrs Clifford Jackson, but even love and gratitude do not blind her to her husband's weaknesses, and when tragedy strikes she is faced with some difficult choices . . .

Headline

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Whispering Years

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline Review

Eden Gardens

Louise Brown
Authors:
Louise Brown

Eden Gardens, Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa. Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune.But Maisy's more at home in the city's forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands.Then one day Maisy's tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world.So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble...This is the other side of British India. A dizzying, scandalous, dangerous world, where race, class and gender divide and rule.

Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter: Costa Shortlisted 2015

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale