James Forrester - The Roots of Betrayal - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755358601
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2011

The Roots of Betrayal

By James Forrester

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The brilliant new Elizabethan thriller from the highly acclaimed author of SACRED TREASON

From the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series, and SACRED TREASON comes the brilliant new Elizabethan thriller.

1564: Catholic herald William Harley, Clarenceux King of Arms, is the custodian of a highly dangerous document. When it is stolen, Clarenceux immediately suspects a group of Catholic sympathisers, the self-styled Knights of the Round Table. Francis Walsingham, the ruthless protégé of the queen's Principal Secretary, Sir William Cecil, intercepts a coded message from the Knights to a Countess known to have Catholic leanings. He is convinced that Clarenceux is trying to use the document to advance the cause of the Catholic Queen. And soon Clarenceux enters a nightmare of suspicion, deception and conspiracy. Conflict and fear, compounded by the religious doubts of the time, conceal a persistent mystery. Where has the document gone? Who has it and who really took it? And why? The roots of betrayal are deep and shocking: and Clarenceux's journey towards the truth entails not just the discovery of clues and signs, but also the discovery of himself.

Biographical Notes

James Forrester is a pen name for historian Dr Ian Mortimer. Dr Mortimer is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the author of four highly acclaimed medieval biographies. He is also the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England which was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller and The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series. He lives with his wife and three children on the edge of Dartmoor. For more information, visit www.jamesforrester.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755356065
  • Publication date: 16 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

Time's Convert

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness

From the Sunday Times Number One bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches, soon to be a major Sky TV series, a novel about what it takes to become a vampire.From human to vampire ...Marcus Whitmore was made a vampire in the eighteenth century. Over two hundred years later, he finds himself in love with Phoebe Taylor, a human who decides to become a vampire herself.But her transformation will prove as challenging now as it was for Marcus when he first encountered Matthew de Clermont, his sire.While Phoebe is secreted away, Marcus relives his own journey from the battlefields of the American Revolutionary War, through the treachery of the French Revolution to a bloody finale in New Orleans. His belief in liberty, equality and brotherhood challenged at every stage by the patriarchy of the de Clermonts.What will he and Phoebe discover in one another when they are finally reunited at Les Revenants, beneath the watchful gaze of Matthew and his wife, Diana Bishop?Sunday Times Number One bestselling author Deborah Harkness returns to the spellbinding world she created in A Discovery of Witches and, through the prism of an unconventional love story, explores the power of tradition and the endless possibilities for change.

Headline Review

Drowning Ruth (Oprah's Book Club)

Christina Schwarz
Authors:
Christina Schwarz
Headline

A Bloody Field by Shrewsbury

Edith Pargeter
Authors:
Edith Pargeter

From Edith Pargeter, who also wrote as Ellis Peters, A BLOODY FIELD BY SHREWSBURY is a vivid medieval tale of Henry IV's kingdom in crisis. 'Chivalry, treachery, conflict of loyalties... The clash of wills is as stirring as the clash of steel' Observer England, 1399. A treacherous plot has been hatched to depose King Richard and install Henry Bolingbroke on the English throne.With the aid of his powerful friend Hotspur, Henry is victorious. But, crowned Henry IV, he rules a kingdom in crisis. In Wales, rebellion threatens. Henry's heir, Hal, is named Prince of Wales but the Welsh have a prince of their own blood and he is calling them to arms.More dangerous still, a rift is opening between Henry, Hotspur and Hal. As tension mounts, the three men are inexorably drawn into a bloody collision on which the fate of the realm will hang...

Headline

A Song Once Heard

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline

Return to Moondance

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline

The Mulberry Field

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline

A Turning Shadow

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline Review

The Crimson Ribbon

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
Headline Review

The Outcasts

Kathleen Kent
Authors:
Kathleen Kent
Headline Review

Seven for a Secret

Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

The Last Dance and Other Stories

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

Three of these stories were previously published in Victoria Hislop's ebook collection, One Cretan Evening. In ten powerful stories, Victoria Hislop takes us through the streets of Athens and into the tree-lined squares of Greek villages. As she evokes their distinct atmosphere, she brings vividly to life a host of unforgettable characters, from a lonesome priest to battling brothers, and from an unwanted stranger to a groom troubled by music and memory. These bittersweet tales of love and loyalty, of separation and reconciliation, captured in Victoria Hislop's unique voice, will stay with you long after you reach the end.

Headline Review

The Seventh Son

Reay Tannahill
Authors:
Reay Tannahill

A superb historical novel about Richard III, the notorious hunchback king whose burial site was recently uncovered, which will appeal to fans of Josephine Tey's THE DAUGHTER OF TIME, Philippa Gregory's THE KINGMAKER'S DAUGHTER, and readers of Hilary Mantel. At the heart of this stunning novel is the complex human being known to history as Richard III, a king whose reign is darkened by the murder of the young Princes in the Tower, but who also found a touching love with the woman he married, and possessed immense courage. As goes the old adage 'history is written by the victors', so Richard III's own story was corrupted by the spokesman of the Tudor regime, William Shakespeare. And yet here is a man who inspired loyalty and hatred in almost equal measure, until at last the implacable enmity of one woman brought about his downfall. In this classic novel, the paradox of England's most enigmatic king is vividly brought to life. It is a family drama in the grand tradition, a tale of brother against brother, cousin against cousin, of love, hate and intrigue, of women inescapably entangled in the fates of their men, and of a mystery that has exercised people's minds for more than five hundred years.

Headline Review

Girl in Hyacinth Blue

Susan Vreeland
Authors:
Susan Vreeland

Susan Vreeland's GIRL IN HYACINTH BLUE was shortlisted for the ABA Best Novel of the Year award, and is a hugely absorbing fictional portrait of Vermeer's daughter sure to appeal to any reader of THE GIRL WITH THE PEARL EARRING by Tracy Chevalier. 'Subtle and atmospheric...an impressive debut' Publishers WeeklyHere is the story of an imaginary painting by Vermeer, and the aspirations and longings of those whose lives it illuminates, and darkens. From a proud father regretting his lost love to a compromised French noblewoman, from a hanged girl to Vermeer's own gifted daughter, Susan Vreeland's beautiful and luminous tales link to form an evocative jewel.

Headline

The Great Deception

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline Review

The Final Sacrament

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester

September 1566. William Harley, Clarenceux King of Arms, lives quietly with his family in London, with a document in his possession that could destroy the state. The aged Lady Percy, Countess of Northumberland, has not given up trying to find it. Nor has she forgotten how he betrayed her and the Catholic cause - she has spent the last two years planning her revenge. But then eloquent and adventurous courtier, John Greystoke suddenly seems most concerned for Clarenceux's safety. And why, on behalf of the government, does Francis Walsingham have spies watching Clarenceux's house day and night? When his wife and his daughter go missing, Clarenceux finds himself on the run with his other young daughter, hunted by Lady Percy's agents. He knows he must finally destroy the document, even if it should cost him his life - but how can he, until he has reunited his family?

Headline Review

The Time of Terror

Seth Hunter
Authors:
Seth Hunter
Tinder Press

The Pillow Book of the Flower Samurai

Barbara Lazar
Authors:
Barbara Lazar
Headline

Mayfield

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

The overwhelming and consuming love of two men for the same indomitable woman...Mayfield is Joy Chambers' gripping saga set across nineteenth-century Australia and all the way to Boston, USA. The perfect read for fans of Judith Kinghorn and Patricia Shaw.'Written with an ease of style and sophistication' - Liverpool Echo In the grandest wedding the small western plains town of Bathurst has ever seen, Eve Herman, without position or money, is marrying John Stuart Wakeman, one of the richest, most influential men in the land. Before their wedding day is over, Australia's most wanted man, the bushranger Alan Fletcher, will have held up their coach and altered all their lives... Alan Fletcher: aristocrat and Royal Naval Captain, wrongly convicted of murder and transported to New South Wales for life. Eve Herman: American orphan, abandoned in Sydney town and left to survive by her wits and courage. John Stuart Wakeman: the owner of fabled Mayfield, Australia's largest and most prosperous cattle property. Mayfield is their story: from the streets of Southampton to the vast bush country of New South Wales and across the world to the city of old Boston, USA.What people are saying about Mayfield:'Very enlightening historical facts add to the depth of the story. Highly recommended' 'Totally absorbing''If you love family sagas then this book is for you'

Headline

My Zulu, Myself

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

My Zulu, Myself is Joy Chambers' magnificent epic saga, set against the tumultuous background of Zululand and the Zulu war of 1879. The perfect read for fans of Margaret Leroy and Tamara McKinley. 'An epic saga and meticulously researched: this is an understatement' - Daily Telegraph, Sydney From the moment John Lockley saves the Zulu boy, Darlengi, from drowning, they almost believe they are true brothers; born on the same day, never knowing their mothers, they spend their formative years together sharing a deep and abiding love for their country of South Africa. But when loves intervenes in the young men's lives, tragedy appears, and all they hold dear is threatened as they fight to maintain a relationship across cultures and a deeply divided nation.What people are saying about My Zulu, Myself:'Joy Chambers researches information and produces a story that captures you and makes it difficult to put the book down''A lovely romantic novel with historical interest''Excellent story, wonderful characters and brilliantly written'