Morgan Mccarthy - The Other Half of Me - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755388752
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755388769
    • Publication date:24 May 2012

The Other Half of Me

By Morgan Mccarthy

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

Beautifully written, evocative, suspensful, and shot through with a delicious thread of menace, THE OTHER HALF OF ME is an incredibly exciting debut

Jonathan and Theo's childhood is one in which money is abundant but nurture is scarce. With a father who died when they were very young and a mother who starts drinking at lunchtime, the brother and sister are largely left to roam around their sprawling estate in rural Wales, looking after only themselves and each other. Until, that is, their grandmother Eve returns to the family home. Eve is a figure who is as enchanting as she is forbidding, and she takes the children under her wing, answering their questions about their family history that have always been ignored. Yet as they grow older, they discover that much of what they've been told is a fiction, and that something very sinister lies in their past.

Biographical Notes

Morgan McCarthy lives in Berkshire. She is the author of four novels: THE OTHER HALF OF ME, THE OUTLINE OF LOVE, STRANGE GIRLS AND ORDINARY WOMEN and THE HOUSE OF BIRDS.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755388738
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
'Dark, addictive and a stunning debut' — Cosmopolitan
'Gorgeously written' — Heat
'An accomplished novel... McCarthy's exquisite storytelling points to a promising literary career' — Edinburgh Evening News
'Bath-time reading sorted with Morgan McCarthy's pageturner' — Sunday Times
'A beautiful, brooding novel... Darkly lush, filled with an irresistibly sad glamour, this is a memorable debut' — Kirkus
Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core. They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy. But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in. My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later. This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Headline Review

Christmas With You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

THE THOUSAND LIGHTS HOTEL is the gorgeous new novel from Emylia Hall, author of Richard & Judy Summer Pick THE BOOK OF SUMMERS. Set in idyllic Italy, it's the perfect holiday read, for fans of Louise Douglas and Hannah Richell.When Kit loses her mother in tragic circumstances, she feels drawn to finally connect with the father she has never met. That search brings her to the Thousand Lights Hotel, the perfect holiday escape perched upon a cliff on the island of Elba. Within this idyllic setting a devastating truth is brought to light: shaking the foundations upon which the hotel is built, and shattering the lives of the people within it.A heartbreaking story of loss, betrayal, and redemption, told with all the warmth and beauty of an Italian summer.

Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERCartes Postales from Greece is an extraordinary new book from Victoria Hislop, the Sunday TimesNumber One bestselling author of The Island, The Return, The Thread, and The Sunrise. It is fiction in full colour - magical and unique.'Hislop's passionate love of the country breathes from every page' Daily MailWeek after week, the postcards arrive, addressed to someone Ellie does not know, each signed with an initial: A.These alluring cartes postales of Greece brighten her life and cast a spell on her. She decides she must see this country for herself. On the morning Ellie leaves for Athens, a notebook arrives. Its pages tell the story of a man's odyssey through Greece. Moving, surprising and sometimes dark, A's tale unfolds with the discovery not only of a culture, but also of a desire to live life to the full once more. Beloved, bestselling author Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece is fiction illustrated with photographs that make this journey around Greece, already alive in the imagination, linger forever in the mind.

Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The unputdownable summer read about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2017SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARDA top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Somewhere, Someday

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Somewhere, Someday by Josephine Cox, the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is the heartfelt story of learning to live with your past.Kelly knew that, although Barney would always love her, his restless soul would never allow him to stay, but she could never have envisaged how his leaving would alter her life. Alone once more, Kelly finds herself remembering the past: in particular, what happened in the autumn of 1877 and how it destroyed her family. Filled with regrets and wishes that life may have been different, Kelly begins to see that she must confront her past - and only then will she finally be free.

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller you have to read this summer

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and joyful new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...'Funny, bouncy, romantic and brilliantly written' 5 *s Heat

Headline Review

Calling You Home (A Glen Avich novella): The Million Copy Selling Author

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Tinder Press

The House of Birds

Morgan Mccarthy
Authors:
Morgan Mccarthy
Headline

American Gods

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline

Darkfall

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

If you delight in the suspense of Stephen King and The Stranger by Harlan Coben chilled you to the bone (in the best possible way), you'll love Darkfall - the classic thriller by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. 'Not just a master of our darkest dreams but also a literary juggler' - The Times.Winter gripped the city. Terror gripped it, too. They found four corpses in four days, each more hideous than the last.At first the cops thought they were dealing with a psychopath. But soon they heard eerie sounds in the ventilation system - and saw unearthly silver eyes in the snow-slashed night.In a city paralyzed by a blizzard, something watches, something stalks... This book was originally published under the title DARKNESS COMES. .

Headline Eternal

Ain't She Sweet: Green Mountain Book 6

Marie Force
Authors:
Marie Force
Headline

Lightning

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Eternal

Second Chance Summer: Cedar Ridge 1

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Headline Review

The Olive Branch

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Escape to Italy with The Olive Branch - the irresistible new novel from Jo Thomas, author of ebook bestseller The Oyster Catcher. 'I loved it!' Katie FfordeYou can buy almost anything online these days. For Ruthie Collins, it was an Italian farmhouse.Yet as she battles with a territorial goat and torrential rain just to get through the door of her new Italian home, the words of Ed, her ex, are ringing in her ears. She is daft, impetuous and irresponsible. But Ruthie is determined to turn things around and live the dream.First, though, she must win over her fiery neighbour, Marco Bellanouvo, and his family... Then there's the small matter of running an olive farm. As the seasons change and new roots are put down, olives and romance might just flourish in the warmth of the Mediterranean sun.

Headline

Phantoms

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Yesterday Snowfield, California, was a charming little town basking in the golden afternoon sun. Today it is a place of nightmare. An ancient, awesome force has spirited away almost the entire population of the town and left the bodies of those remaining bizarrely disfigured. What hope can there be for the few still left alive...?