Victor Pemberton - Our Street - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Our Street

A heart-warming saga of love, loss and friendship

By Victor Pemberton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Victor Pemberton's Our Street is a moving saga of an unlikely friendship formed amidst the war-torn streets of London during the Second World War.

One World War. One unlikely friendship. One bitter rivalry.

The power of friendship, love and jealousy is vividly portrayed in Victor Pemberton's moving wartime saga Our Street. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Harry Bowling.

1944, North London. Fifteen-year-old Frankie Lewis feels as if the war will go on forever. But one night in the blackout, his life takes an extraordinary turn. Whilst playing a vindictive prank on the German-Jewish widow who lives nearby, Frankie finds himself hauled across her doorstep into a world of books and culture.

Fascinated by Elsa's stories of life before the war and her late husband - a British officer - young Frankie becomes good friends with Elsa, helping her out in her shop and confiding his troubles to her - from his crush to his sister's unwanted pregnancy. So, when Elsa suddenly dies of a heart attack, Frankie is devastated. He is almost as shocked to discover that Elsa has left her shop to him - a legacy that her brother-in-law is determined to deny him...

What readers are saying about Our Street:

'Another very good story from Victor Pemberton, his books are so true to life'

'Keeps you wanting to read more and more'

'Well written and it takes you back to the time he's writing about, interesting characters and a good story too - a very enjoyable read'

Biographical Notes

Victor Pemberton is a successful radio playwright and TV producer, and has worked with some of the great names of entertainment, including Benny Hill and Dodie Smith, had a longstanding correspondence with Stan Laurel and scripted and produced many of the BBC`s `Dr Who` series. In recent years he has worked as a producer for Jim Henson, and set up his own production company, whose first TV documentary won an Emmy Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755392483
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Victor Pemberton: Peopled with strong, sincere and appealing characters — Coventry Evening Telegraph
A warm, poignant story — Plymouth Evening Herald
An evocative tale — Northern Echo
[Pemberton] knows how to please his waiting audience — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Heart-warming saga of working class life — Manchester Evening News
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A LUCKY SIXPENCE by Anne Baker is a poignant and dramatic saga set in Liverpool, sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.Praise for Anne Baker's Merseyside sagas: 'A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition' Liverpool Echo

Headline

The Sister's Secret: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 5

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

HIDDEN LIVES is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, sure to appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for Judith Lennox: 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel' Daily MailA surprise inheritance reveals the hidden lives of two sisters, torn apart by tragedy...Following her grandmother's death, Rose Martineau inherits The Egg, an extraordinary house nestling in the Sussex countryside. She discovers that the mysterious house originally belonged to her grandmother's younger sister, Sadie, who Rose never knew existed. In her search to uncover why the sisters grew apart, Rose is drawn back into the glamorous and decadent world of the 1930s. Meanwhile, Rose's own life as a dutiful wife and mother is turned upside down by a sordid scandal that threatens to destroy her marriage. It is only once she has unravelled the secrets of Sadie's past that she is able to look to her own future...An epic tale of secrets, scandal, jealousy and passion spanning the twentieth century.

Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool. In Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life's hardships. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker.In 1928 Bernie O'Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they're about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind to seek an exciting new life in Liverpool.They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool's worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant. Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world . . .

Headline Review

The Songbirds of Colliers Row: A cosy wartime family saga perfect for a winter's day

Jennifer Hart
Authors:
Jennifer Hart
Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Tinder Press

Letters From The Suitcase

Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Authors:
Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker

Uncover the secrets of Edward Fairfax Rochester, the beloved, enigmatic hero of Jane Eyre, as he tells his story for the first time in Mr Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker's gorgeous retelling of one of the most romantic stories in literature.

Headline

Our Family

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton

The minute Letty Edington becomes a munitionette in the Royal Woolwich Arsenal her life changes for ever. From the misery of her family home in well-to-do Islington, she finds herself a part of a world where girls wear make-up, boys whistle and Friday night means stewed eels and mash. And when Vi Hobbs, self-styled queen of the shell-filling shop, introduces her to her wounded brother Ollie, even the loss of Letty's own soldier-brother seems a little less hard to bear. Before long Letty and Ollie have fallen hopelessly for each other and, despite the fury of Letty's family, they marry. Before them lie years of happiness and struggle and through it all Letty's unswerving love drives them forward, through all the bitterness, hardship and heartfelt joy that make up family life in our changing times.

Headline

London Calling

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Whistledown Woman

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

On a moonlit night in 1898, Kathleen Wyman lies in labour at Bessington Hall, her husband Edward sure that she has been unfaithful to him. In his blind jealous rage he later gives away the baby to gypsy Rona Parrish, summoned to help with the delivery. Kathleen, frenzied with grief, is soon after locked away in an asylum.Rejected by her father, the little girl begins her new life with only a valuable brooch pinned to her shawl as a clue to her true origins. Named after Rona's own mother, the lovely raven-haired Starlena grows up in ignorance of her true parentage and vast inheritance, believing her birthplace to be the beautiful Whistledown Valley. And Rona, always afraid, stays watchful over the years for any sign that someone might track Starlena down - someone who wishes her harm...

Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.

Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Nobody's Darling

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Lizzie Miller worries about her beautiful eldest daughter. A mother shouldn't have favourites, but Ruby wins a special place in Lizzie's heart. Money is short in their little house in Blackburn, and Ruby yearns to give her beloved family a better life. Determined to enjoy the security only wealth can bring, she stifles her feelings for handsome Johnny Ackroyd. Ruby knows he cannot offer her the life she craves. She works as a maid for Mr Banks and his daughter, Cicely. The two girls hatch a mischievous plan to introduce Ruby to society at a party for the 'gentry' of Blackburn, where Ruby meets Luke Arnold, the dissolute heir to his father's fortunes. Seeing Ruby's dark beauty, he determines to despoil her innocence. When Luke slyly turns his charm on Cicely, Ruby feels compelled to warn her friend of his evil nature. Ruby quickly finds employment in a milliner's shop, and eventually takes over the business. But her worldly success still leaves an emptiness that riches cannot fill, and Ruby learns at last that the love of family and friends is beyond price . . .