Victor Pemberton - The Other Side of the Track - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Other Side of the Track

A bittersweet saga of love, compassion and conflict

By Victor Pemberton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Victor Pemberton's The Other Side of the Track is an utterly compelling story of love, war and family.

To a wounded soldier, a young nurse brings hope for the future...

In The Other Side of the Track, Victor Pemberton weaves an unforgettable saga of an impossible love and the obstacles that threaten to stand in its way. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Sheila Newberry.

It's the second year of the Great War and Rosie Little is working at Charing Cross Station, helping the injured troops returning from the Front. Private Joe Upton is one such weary soldier and is instantly captivated by the lovely Rosie. The couple fall passionately in love and, although they are too young to get married, decide to live together, risking scandal and their parents' outrage. They find happiness in their new home: an abandoned railway carriage. But all too soon family conflicts drive a wedge between them, and at a time when no one seems able to escape the tragedy of war, Rosie and Joe are about to face their toughest test...

What readers are saying about The Other Side of the Track:

'Just get carried away in [Victor Pemberton books] - easy reading, holds you from the start'

'Five stars'

Biographical Notes

Victor Pemberton is a successful radio playwright and TV producer, and has worked with some of the great names of entertainment, including Benny Hill and Dodie Smith, had a longstanding correspondence with Stan Laurel and scripted and produced many of the BBC`s `Dr Who` series. In recent years he has worked as a producer for Jim Henson, and set up his own production company, whose first TV documentary won an Emmy Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755392568
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Peopled with strong, sincere and appealing characters — Coventry Evening Telegraph
A warm, poignant story — Plymouth Evening Herald
An evocative tale — Northern Echo
[Pemberton] knows how to please his waiting audience — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Heart-warming saga of working class life — Manchester Evening News
Headline

The Sister's Secret: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 5

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressDespite air raids and rationing in wartime London, sisters Liz and Dora Beck find time for fun and laughter at the local ice-rink. Then a handsome American serviceman catches their attention, and so begins heartache between the sisters. Dora is increasingly jealous of her sister's blossoming romance with Victor. But when Victor is killed in a bomb attack, Liz makes a shocking discovery that upsets her whole family. Forced out of her home, Liz finds support where she least expects it. And, with almost nothing left to lose, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...

Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

VICTORY GIRLS is the sixth poignant saga in Helen Carey's much-loved Lavender Road series, set in south London during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening StandardAugust 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over. Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever. Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old. Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road.

Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline Review

The Songbirds of Colliers Row

Jennifer Hart
Authors:
Jennifer Hart

From the ashes of war rose a song of hope...A warm-hearted, nostalgic and uplifting saga, The Songbirds of Colliers Row by Jennifer Hart is perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Donna Douglas, Kate Thompson's Secrets of the Singer Girls and for anyone with a song in their heart...A village without a voice. That's what the locals are saying about Llandegwen, deep in the Welsh valleys. The village choir, once a source of pride for the small mining community, has been forced to disband; the elderly choirmaster heartbroken by the empty seats belonging to those who'll never return from the battlefields. The arrival of a young war widow from the East End with her little boy sets tongues wagging, not least when rumours abound that she's looking to revive the choir. Can the community set aside their grief and lift their voices, and the village's hopes, once more?

Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

Our Family

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton

The minute Letty Edington becomes a munitionette in the Royal Woolwich Arsenal her life changes for ever. From the misery of her family home in well-to-do Islington, she finds herself a part of a world where girls wear make-up, boys whistle and Friday night means stewed eels and mash. And when Vi Hobbs, self-styled queen of the shell-filling shop, introduces her to her wounded brother Ollie, even the loss of Letty's own soldier-brother seems a little less hard to bear. Before long Letty and Ollie have fallen hopelessly for each other and, despite the fury of Letty's family, they marry. Before them lie years of happiness and struggle and through it all Letty's unswerving love drives them forward, through all the bitterness, hardship and heartfelt joy that make up family life in our changing times.

Headline

London Calling

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Liverpool Sisters

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Girl Below Stairs: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 3

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Girl Below Stairs is the third powerful saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Josephine Cox, of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.Edie Cooper has grown up at Fairley Terrace, surrounded by a loving family. Now she spends her days working as lady's maid to Christina, the adopted daughter of the powerful Fairley family, and her nights dreaming of a life with handsome local lad Charlie Oglethorpe. Although broken-hearted when Charlie leaves to make his fortune in London, Edie finds consolation in her friendship with Christina, who asks for her help in uncovering the mystery of her true parentage. But someone in the grand house will stop at nothing to keep the long-buried secrets hidden. Will Edie be able to protect Christina? And will she find her own path to happiness with Charlie? Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter.

Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

HEART AND HOME is a poignant saga of shop girls in 1930s Liverpool from Lyn Andrews, the Sunday Times bestselling author of FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE and THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.Cathie Kinrade is all too used to hardship. Growing up on the Isle of Man in the 1930s, she sees her da set sail daily on dangerous seas while her mam struggles to put food on the table. Cathie has little hope for her own future, until a chance encounter changes her fortunes for ever. Fiercely determined, Cathie leaves for Liverpool, a bustling modern city full of possibility. With a lively job as a shop girl in a grand department store, and a firm friend in kind-hearted Julia, Cathie has found her niche. But the discovery of an explosive secret could put everything at risk. And when love comes calling, Cathie's new friends fear that she may be set to trust the wrong man with her heart...

Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache...This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.'History and Romance. A touching saga' - My WeeklyIt is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:'This book was great. Couldn't put it down, well worth reading' 'Like a fairy tale ending'

Headline

Every Mother's Son

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrew's warm-hearted novel of Liverpool during the Blitz is not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Kate Thompson. Molly and Bernie have been friends forever. As young girls they left Ireland seeking new beginnings in Liverpool. Now they are marrying their sweethearts and looking forward to enjoying the lives they've worked so hard to build. But as the Liverpool Blitz begins, it seems as if their dreams are about to be destroyed. Night after night, horrific bombing tears the city apart. As wives and mothers, both women know that they could face great tragedy. But they also know that their friendship, and their love for their husbands and sons, will give them the strength to find the happiness they deserve...

Headline

The Miner's Daughter: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 2

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

A Moment in Time: A Short Story

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Angels Cry Sometimes

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox