Victor Pemberton - A Long Way Home - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755334568
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2007

A Long Way Home

By Victor Pemberton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A favourite with saga fans, Victor's novels have gained him an army of readers all over the world

The new wartime saga from the hugely popular Victor Pemberton is 'History with a heart on its sleeve' Northern Echo. It's 1939 when Hannah and Louie Adams wave goodbye to their mother and home in Holloway, leaving for the safety of the Hertfordshire countryside. The girls try to settle in with their new foster-parents, but the Bullocks are stern people, and when they send the homesick Louie to another family, the Beedles, Hannah is devastated. At least Louie is happy with the Beedles, whilst Hannah befriends their son Sam. But as the Bullocks become more unbearable, Hannah decides there's only one way out - she must walk back to Blitz-torn Islington. Thirty-six hours later, a cold, weary and frightened girl arrives home to a shocking sight...

Biographical Notes

Victor Pemberton is a successful radio playwright and TV producer, and has worked with some of the great names of entertainment, including Benny Hill and Dodie Smith, had a longstanding correspondence with Stan Laurel and scripted and produced many of the BBC`s `Dr Who` series. In recent years he has worked as a producer for Jim Henson, and set up his own production company, whose first TV documentary won an Emmy Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755392575
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Peopled with strong, sincere and appealing characters — Coventry Evening Telegraph
A warm, poignant story — Plymouth Evening Herald
An evocative tale — Northern Echo
[Pemberton] knows how to please his waiting audience — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Heart-warming saga of working class life — Manchester Evening News
Headline

Our Family

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton
Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY by Anne Baker is a dramatic Liverpool family saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.The youngest of five siblings, Lottie Mortimer has never felt like she belonged. Her mother died shortly after she was born, leaving her father and grandmother to raise the family and, despite their love and support, Lottie can't help wondering if there is something they are not telling her... With the First World War over, the Mortimers' ship-owning business is struggling to survive and Lottie, who works with her father, worries what the future will hold. Meanwhile, her elder sister Eunice is trapped in an unhappy marriage that causes concern for them all. Then Lottie discovers the shocking truth about her birth that turns her world upside down and the dramatic events that unfold affect them all...

Headline

The Girl Below Stairs: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 3

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Girl Below Stairs is the third powerful saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Josephine Cox, of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.'Believable characters, a vivid sense of time and place, thoroughly enjoyable' Rosie GoodwinEdie Cooper has grown up at Fairley Terrace, surrounded by a loving family. Now she spends her days working as lady's maid to Christina, the adopted daughter of the powerful Fairley family, and her nights dreaming of a life with handsome local lad Charlie Oglethorpe. Although broken-hearted when Charlie leaves to make his fortune in London, Edie finds consolation in her friendship with Christina, who asks for her help in uncovering the mystery of her true parentage. But someone in the grand house will stop at nothing to keep the long-buried secrets hidden. Will Edie be able to protect Christina? And will she find her own path to happiness with Charlie? Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter.

Headline

Those Were The Days

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Headline

Liverpool Sisters

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Christmas Message

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

The Perfect Gift

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache...This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.'History and Romance. A touching saga' - My WeeklyIt is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:'This book was great. Couldn't put it down, well worth reading' 'Like a fairy tale ending'

Headline

London Calling

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

A poignant, warm-hearted and engaging saga of south London's women during the Second World War. It will take more than Hitler's Luftwaffe to break the spirit of the residents of Lavender Road. If courage, resilience and a shared sense of humour could win wars, the conflict would already be over.It's not all harmony, though. Nurse Molly Coogan and would-be actress Jen Carter certainly don't see eye to eye. Molly, despite hating the strict discipline of wartime hospital life, is unimpressed by flighty Jen's prima donna ways. While pretty Jen, unaware of Molly's secret heartache, can't resist taking her own personal frustrations out on Molly. It's probably just as well that no one knows what challenges lie ahead...From stolen glasses in the Flag and Garter to fancy dinners in the heart of the West End, from a desperate battle for survival on a hospital ward to a torpedo hitting its target in the Mediterranean Sea, LONDON CALLING takes readers into a world of ordinary people living extraordinary lives.

Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

The Miner's Daughter: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 2

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

A Christmas Escape

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Sonny Fareham's lover - and also her boss - is the charismatic Tony Bridgeman, a successful and ruthless man who usually gets what he wants. But for Sonny, the affair that has promised a future of hope and happiness must end in desperate fear. Late one evening, Sonny overhears a private conversation between Tony Bridgeman and his wife. Only then does she realise she is in great danger. Pregnant and afraid, Sonny flees her home to make a new life in the north of England, where she meets a gregarious and motherly new friend, Ellie Kenny. When the mysterious and handsome David Langham seems drawn to her, Sonny almost dares to believe that she could be happy again. But never far away is the one person who wants to destroy everything that she now holds dear...

Headline

Living a Lie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

In 1975 Lucinda Marsh throws herself in front of a speeding train leaving her twelve-year-old daughter Kitty alone, confused and abandoned - save for a selfish aunt, a violent father and her childhood sweetheart Harry Jenkins. When Kitty is sent to an orphanage after the death of her father, she meets Georgie, a lively cockney girl who, through the following difficult years, becomes her loyal friend. Convinced that her feelings for Harry will ruin the brilliant future that lies ahead of him, Kitty turns her back on his love. Together with Georgie, she strives to find fulfilment in other places and other relationships, but when fate throws her back together with Harry she begins to wonder if true love can ever die . . .

Headline

Don't Cry Alone

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Beth Ward and Tyler Blacklock share a love they know will last forever. But Beth's mother, Esther, is jealous of the girl and seizes an opportunity to be rid of her daughter. Banished in disgrace from the family home, Beth takes the northbound train and alights at Blackburn, friendless and alone. On this day, Fortune smiles, for Beth is taken in by warm-hearted Maisie Armstrong, a widow with two children. Money is scarce, but love abounds in the cosy house on Larkhill, and Beth is content there to await the birth of her child. But she cannot forget Tyler, and is tormented by the belief that he has betrayed her . . .