Brian Kimberling - Snapper - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755396214
    • Publication date:15 Aug 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398607
    • Publication date:09 May 2013

Snapper

By Brian Kimberling

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A birdwatcher's guide to the human heart - an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.

With wry humour and real freshness, SNAPPER charts the disastrous love affair between career birdwatcher Nathan Lochmueller and the place that made him.


Set in a brilliantly observed rural Indiana, 'the bastard son of the Midwest', SNAPPER is a book about birdwatching, a woman who won't stay true, and a pick-up truck that won't start. Here turtles eat alligators for breakfast, Klansmen skulk in the undergrowth, and truckers drop into the diner of a town named Santa Claus to ensure that no child's Christmas letter goes unanswered, while Nathan grapples with the eternal question: should I stay, or should I go? Kimberling's vision of small-town life is as characterful as Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon, but bristling with the tensions of race, class, poverty and prejudice, it makes for a bracing read.

Biographical Notes

Brian Kimberling is a native of Indiana and a graduate of Indiana University. In the mid-nineties he was a research assistant for a major study of Indiana songbirds, an experience central to his first book, SNAPPER. Since then he has lived and worked in the Czech Republic, Mexico, Turkey and England. He began writing SNAPPER on the Bath Spa Creative Writing MA in 2009, and was awarded the first annual Janklow & Nesbit Prize for the best manuscript to emerge from the course. He lives in Bath with his wife and son.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755396221
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Superb... always engaging, sometimes beautiful and often funny' — Telegraph
'[The] coolest of cool...a quirky and memorable debut' — Guardian
Captivating... Snapper could do for birdwatchers what Annie Proulx did for small-town newspaper reporters and cowboys — Independent on Sunday
Funny and adroit fiction — Margaret Atwood, via Twitter
'Lyrical, comic and packed with piercing descriptions... at the same time as being down-to-earth and humorous, Snapper is suffused with a certain melancholy, and it is Kimberling's expert balancing of all these elements that allows the novel's insights - into who we are and where we come from - to hit home' — Observer
Delightfully entertaining — Esquire
Brilliant... an absolute joy of a book. I predict big things for it — Scott Pack, Me and My Big Mouth
Brimming with unusual characters and hilarious idisoyncracies... Kimberling shows much promise — Shortlist
Fascinating and captivating — Washington Post
Funny and absorbing' — Booklist
Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Headline Review

Private Lies

Muna Shehadi
Authors:
Muna Shehadi

Private Lies begins the stunning Fortune's Daughters trilogy by Muna Shehadi, in which three sisters discover, after her death, that their glamorous movie star mother could never have given birth to them. This gorgeous read of family secrets, romance, and self-discovery, is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Santa Montefiore.The three daughters of stunning but unstable movie star Jillian Croft and her famous acting-teacher husband, Daniel Braddock, grew up being treated as special, even after their mother's tragic death. Years later, their world is overturned when they discover a medical document suggesting Jillian could never have given birth to them.Whilst Olivia and Eve insist there's some mistake, quirky, impulsive middle sister Rosalind can't leave the matter alone. Rosalind has always felt separate from her poised, successful sisters. If she has a different birth mother, she wants to know.Investigation leads her to Leila Allerton, an opera singer from New Jersey with a vibrant, close-knit family to whom Rosalind aches to belong. At first its members warmly welcome their new neighbour - but circumstances and personalities soon clash, leaving a bewildered Rosalind unsure how they'll feel when they discover her true reason for seeking them out.Look for Eve's story in Hidden Truths and Olivia's story in Honest Secrets.

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Tinder Press

Snapper

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Tinder Press

Nationwide

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Tinder Press

Nationwide

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling

A promotional taster of the charismatic world of SNAPPER: this free, ebook-only extract from Brian Kimberling's forthcoming fiction debut will draw you into a place not a million miles from Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon. When birdwatcher Nathan Lochmueller's car, the Gypsy Moth, breaks down in the Indiana town of Santa Claus, he must throw himself upon the mercy of the staff of the local diner. NATIONWIDE is a delightfully quirky comic episode in a charmingly unconventional coming-of-age story.

Headline Review

Wicked Business (Wicked Series, Book 2)

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

Reasons to read Janet Evanovich's bestselling novels: 'Hilarious' (Mail on Sunday); 'The funniest, sassiest crime writer going' (Good Book Guide); 'A laugh-out-loud page turner' (Heat)True love is hard to find when the secret has been taken to the tomb.Lizzy Tucker's once normal life as a pastry chef is over as she battles sinister forces and an inconvenient attraction to her unnaturally talented, but off-limits partner, Diesel.There's been a gruesome murder of a lovelorn academic, and the clues to finding the killer point straight to one of Seven Stones Lizzy and Diesel have been searching for. Problem is Diesel's black sheep cousin, Wulf, also wants the stone. Or maybe it's Lizzy that he wants. Either way Lizzy and Diesel are in his crosshairs.Treasures will be sought, and the power of lust will be unmistakable as Lizzy and Diesel find themselves in an ancient game of twisted riddles and high-stakes hide-and-seek.

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Headline Review

Glitz

Louise Bagshawe
Authors:
Louise Bagshawe

The four beautiful Chambers girls are rolling in money, thanks to the trust fund set up by their reclusive, super-rich uncle Clem. But when he summons his nieces to his mansion in the Seychelles to announce his engagement to Bai-Ling, a woman young enough to be their baby sister, the girls know the party could be over. Can they stop the wedding? What happens when four pampered princesses have to cope without their trust fund? Who will learn to stand on their own two feet... and who will fall?

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Caroline Graham

Caroline Graham, the creator of Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby, was born in Warwickshire and educated at Nuneaton High School for Girls, and later the Open University. She was awarded an MA in Theatre Studies at Birmingham University, and has written several plays for both radio and theatre. She has been dubbed by The Sunday Times as, 'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie'.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Christina Schwarz

Christina Schwarz's novels include the Oprah Book Club selection Drowning Ruth, which was an international bestseller. Born and raised in rural Wisconsin, USA, she lives in southern California.

Christopher Golden

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of such novels as Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has collaborated on books, comics, videogames and scripts with other writers, including Mike Mignola, Amber Benson, and Charlaine Harris. He has also written novels for teens and young adults, and, as an editor, he has worked on several short story anthologies. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. www.christophergolden.com

Crime Files

Bringing you killers and their captors - from the Crime Team at Hodder, Headline and Quercus. Dedicated to quality Crime & Thriller writing, from the publishers of Martina Cole, John Grisham, Peter May & many more. Crime Files is a dedicated community, created by Hodder, Headline and Quercus, where all you crime and thriller writing fans can get together and share your passion for thrillingly good books. Plus you can get in on the case and have access to all the latest news, reviews, interviews and highly confidential information. What are you waiting for? Join the club. It would be criminal not to.www.crimefilesinternational.comwww.facebook.com/CrimeFiles

Daisy Goodwin

Daisy Goodwin's work as a TV producer and presenter includes Reader I Married Him, Bookworm and The Nation's Favourite Poems; she is also the creator of Grand Designs and wrote the script for ITVs Victoria . She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir as well as two novels, My Last Duchess and The Fortune Hunter. Goodwin reviews regularly for the Times and Sunday Times and writes a bibliotherapy column for the Daily Mail.

David Arnold

David Arnold lives in Lexington, Kentucky, with his (lovely) wife and (boisterous) son. Previous jobs include freelance musician/producer, stay-at-home dad, and preschool teacher. He is a fierce believer in the power of kindness and community. And chips. He believes fiercely in chips. Mosquitoland is his first novel.You can learn more at davidarnoldbooks.com and follow him on Twitter @roofbeam.

David Churchill

David Churchill is the pseudonym of an award-winning journalist, who has conducted several hundred in-depth interviews with senior politicians, billionaire entrepreneurs, Olympic athletes, movie stars, supermodels and rock legends. He has investigated financial scandals on Wall Street, studio intrigues in Hollywood and corrupt sports stars in Britain, and lived in Moscow, Washington DC and Havana. He has edited four magazines, published seventeen books and been translated into some twenty languages. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy reflects his lifelong passion for history and his fascination for the extraordinary men and women of the past who shaped the world we live in today.

David Duchovny

David Duchovny is a television, stage and screen actor, as well as a screenwriter and director.