Kaite Welsh - Headline Publishing Group

Kaite Welsh



Kaite Welsh is an author, critic and journalist. Her work has appeared in various journals from the Times Literary Supplement to Cosmopolitan and she covers LGBT issues for the Daily Telegraph. Her short fiction, featuring roller derby, Greek myths and ghosts, has been published in several anthologies and she guest lectures on Creative Writing at universities around the UK.
She lives in Edinburgh with her wife, three cats and a lot of books.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

The Unquiet Heart

Kaite Welsh
Authors:
Kaite Welsh

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONSThis powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday ExpressSarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiancé Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel façade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

Tinder Press

The Wages of Sin

Kaite Welsh
Authors:
Kaite Welsh