Judith Kinghorn - Headline Publishing Group

Judith Kinghorn



Judith Kinghorn was born in Northumberland, educated in the Lake District, and is a graduate in English and History of Art. She lives in Hampshire with her husband and two children.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

The Memory of Lost Senses

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn
Headline Review

The Last Summer

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn

A sweepingly epic and gloriously intimate commercial debut - a beautiful and haunting story of lost innocence and a powerful, enduring love.Clarissa is almost seventeen when the spell of her childhood is broken. It is 1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer - and the end of an era. Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university and staying with his mother, the housekeeper, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa.As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and another story unfolds: they are not the only people in love. Soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked by a war that changes their lives for ever.

Headline Review

The Last Summer

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn

1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer...Judith Kinghorn's The Last Summer is a dramatic and moving novel set against the heartbreak of the First World War. The perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Sarra Manning. 'Epic and enthralling' - Woman & Home Clarissa is 17, the world her own. Who would know that this could be the last summer?Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa. As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked irrevocably by a war that changes their lives for ever.What readers are saying about The Last Summer:'A beautiful story of two people who were meant to be together despite all that life throws at them''A gripping storyline full of dilemmas, emotions and overwhelmingly moving events''Beautifully written, compelling, moving & evocative of the era in which it is set. The author deserves every positive accolade'