Karen Maitland - Headline Publishing Group

Karen Maitland



Karen Maitland travelled and worked in many parts of the United Kingdom before settling for many years in the beautiful medieval city of Lincoln, an inspiration for her writing. She is the author of The White Room, Company of Liars, The Owl Killers, The Gallows Curse and The Falcons of Fire and Ice. She has recently relocated to a life of rural bliss in Devon.

www.karenmaitland.com

Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

Wicked Children

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

The Raven's Head

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

A gothic delight from Karen Maitland, author of the bestselling and much-loved Company of Liars, that will enchant readers of Kate Mosse's The Burning Chambers or fans of Deborah Harkness seeking a new, dark fix. 'An atmospheric and dark story' The TimesNever trust your secrets to a Raven when you are not its true master...1224. Langley Manor, Norfolk. Lord Sylvain has been practising alchemy in hiding for years and now only the Apothecary's niece can help him with final preparations to forge the Philosopher's Stone.Alchemy calls for symbols - and victims - and when a man in possession of an intricately carved raven's head arrives at the Manor in a clumsy attempt at blackmail, Sylvain has both symbol and victim within easy reach.But the White Canons in nearby Langley Abbey are concealing a crucial, missing ingredient... Regulus, a small boy with a large destiny.What readers are saying about The Raven's Head:'An intriguing and exciting dark tale about power and intrigue in politics, but most of all about the power and fear of the main ingredient of the book - almighty alchemy!' 'Full of stories, witchcraft, alchemy, suspicion and suspense. Fantastic book''As well as being a suspenseful tale that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat, the book illustrates that the Middle Ages had a dark edge. The writing is beautiful, and the novel is crafted in a masterful way'

Headline Review

The Dangerous Art of Alchemy

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

The Vanishing Witch

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Step back in time with Karen Maitland, author of the hugely popular Company of Liars. This dark tale is sure to thrill fans of The Witchfinder's Sister and C. J. Sansom with its chilling recreation of the Peasants' Revolt.'A gem, crafted in the darkness ... Maitland has produced another gripping tale, from a darker age, which has surprising resonances with the present' Independent on Sunday By the pricking of my thumbs ...Lincoln, 1380. A raven-haired widow is newly arrived in John of Gaunt's city, with her two unnaturally beautiful children in tow.The widow Catlin seems kind, helping wool merchant Robert of Bassingham care for his ill wife. Surely it makes sense for Catlin and her family to move into Robert's home?But when first Robert's wife - and then others - start dying unnatural deaths, the whispers turn to witchcraft. The reign of Richard II brings bloody revolution, but does it also give shelter to the black arts?And which is more deadly for the innocents of Lincoln?What readers are saying about The Vanishing Witch:'Engrossing, enchanting and mysterious - this book kept my mind busy from start to finish''Compulsive reading. Thoroughly researched, highly informative and just a downright good story!''Magical and mysterious. Against this fascinating historical background, Maitland weaves a sinister tale of witchcraft, betrayal and terror'

Headline Review

Liars and Thieves (A Company of Liars short story)

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Liars and Thieves is an exclusive e-novella featuring characters from Karen Maitland's much-loved Company of Liars, set against the backdrop of the plague outbreak of 1348. Sure to enthral fans of Minette Walters' The Last Hours and Kate Mosse's The Burning Chambers. 'Combines the storytelling traditions of The Canterbury Tales with the supernatural suspense of Mosse's Sepulchre in this atmospheric tale of treachery and magic' Marie Claire on Company of LiarsCamelot and Narigorm the rune reader return to delight fans of Karen Maitland's classic novel as the company - in their desperate bid to outrun the plague - encounter a band of outlaws, who are making the most of the breakdown in law and order to steal from the weak ... and kill at leisure.But in the child Narigorm they might just have met their match - for plague is the lesser of those two evils.What readers are saying about Liars and Thieves: 'If you read Company of Liars, you'll love this. A wonderful short story''A short but excellent read from this consistently reliable author''An interesting gap filler. Atmospheric, dark, occasionally gruesome and mildly creepy. A nice reminder of the original characters and storyline'