Deirdre Purcell - Headline Publishing Group

Deirdre Purcell



Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

The Winter Gathering

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline

Last Summer in Arcadia

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

One summer changes everything... From the No 1 Irish bestselling author Deirdre Purcell comes Last Summer in Arcadia, a novel of marriage, family and survival. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.'Intimate, yet distinct. Purcell juggles voices deftly to deliver a snappy read, releasing revelations with mounting tension' - Irish Independent The tension is palpable as Tess and Jerry Brennan sit in the drawing room of their wonderful house high above the sea, waiting for the police to arrive. Tess is facing the consequences of her own actions, innocently undertaken but devastating in their outcome; Jerry has been caught out in a misdemeanour, a transgression men have made since time began but one that in his case has repercussions that will mean the end of a successful career. Adding to Tess's agitation is the knowledge that her two best friends are facing parallel traumas of their own. Life skated along for the three couples until last summer when they all travelled to the village of Collioure in the south of France. Now they have everything to lose: their marriages, their family lives, and their friendships. What readers are saying about Deirdre Purcell: 'Unerringly perceptive, Last Summer in Arcadia is a compellingly written, powerful exploration of the complex mix of love, trust and compromise''Warm, insightful, funny and poignant''Five stars'

Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

The moving and powerfully engaging story of three sisters marked by a family tragedy.In 1920s' rural Ireland, Pearl Somers lives happily with her parents, her sisters Opal and Ruby, and her little brother Willie, in the gate lodge of Kilnashone Castle, where her father is chauffeur to Lord and Lady Areton. But one dreadful night, a series of dramatic events unfold and the lives of all - elite and ordinary - are changed forever. Over 40 years later, Pearl has become a successful writer. Yet there is one story she has never told, until her young cousin Catherine confesses a secret of her own that opens a door to Pearl's past - one she thought had been firmly sealed forever. When Catherine discovers Pearl's story of heartbreak and yearning, she determines to do her best to reconcile past and present. But is it too late for Pearl to find her own happy ending?

Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

In 1944, a young girl was imprisoned. Sixty years later, her story changes another woman's life... The past and present collide in Tell Me Your Secret, the spellbinding novel from Deirdre Purcell. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Edna O'Brien.'Achingly poignant, with warm, strong characters, it will no doubt become an instant bestseller and delight all Purcell fans. Once again, she has produced a great read, popular fiction with writing that matches a literary novel and includes some telling social observation. Vintage Deirdre Purcell' - Irish Independent An evocative and dramatic novel told in the voices of two narrators: Violet, who in 1944 is imprisoned in the tower of a rambling country house by her family; and Claudine, a modern-day property negotiator who becomes involved in handling the sale of the derelict Whitecliff in 2004. Violet's story is of young innocent love for a local lad taking an unfortunate twist, while Claudine is a thoroughly twenty-first-century character: daughter of a loving father with a less loving stepmother, she marries in haste after her father's death, and is at a turning point in her life when she starts to find out the true story of Violet. Is happiness a possibility for these women in their separate and very different worlds? What readers are saying about Tell Me Your Secret: 'A true hidden gem, a wonderful read''All the characters are beautifully drawn, and the multi-layered story unfolds slowly and deliciously, at times satisfyingly happily and at others poignantly sadly''One of the best books I have read...outstanding'

Headline

Marble Gardens

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

When her child is in danger, a woman will break all the rules... Deirdre Purcell's Marble Gardens is a compelling and original story with a perceptive eye into contemporary relationships. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.'Purcell is an accomplished storyteller and it is her characters that triumph' - Ireland on Sunday Sophie and Riba have known each other since childhood. Though they couldn't be more different - Sophie is elegant and diffident, while Riba is flamboyantly extrovert - the bond between them seems unbreakable. Then Riba's teenaged daughter Zelda falls gravely ill. Frustrated by the limitations of conventional medicine, Riba pins all her hopes on alternative methods. Sophie is torn between her loyalty to her friend and her fear that Zelda, whom she loves like the child she cannot have, will not get the help she desperately needs. United in their distress, Sophie and Riba's husband Brian find themselves drawn to each other. Time is running out for Zelda, for two marriages, and for a friendship... What readers are saying about Marble Gardens: 'Very tangible characters, realistic story [and a] sense of place''Good read, realistic yarn about relationships'

Headline

Children of Eve

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell