Deirdre Purcell - Headline Publishing Group

Deirdre Purcell



Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

The Winter Gathering

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

Tradition, friendship, and a little seasonal magic... Deirdre Purcell writes a spellbinding novel in The Winter Gathering, a compelling tale of friendship. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Edna O'Brien. 'Spellbinding...fascinating and provocative... [Deirdre Purcell has] a new masterpiece on her hands' - Irish Independent It's ten years on from the first winter gathering, when four of Maggie Quinn's closest friends rushed in to spend Christmas with her after her husband walked out just days before. And at Christmas, it doesn't take long for an event to become a tradition.But this Christmas Day, for the first time, there's an addition to the party, in the form of a young, very handsome man. Only one of the women knows what he's doing there, and she's remaining tight-lipped.So begins a new chapter in the lives of the five friends. As the winter moves towards spring, each faces personal hurdles, from family difficulties to illness to the unexpected reappearance of Maggie's ex. Throughout, each proves that friends truly are the family you choose - and that, ultimately, the magic of Christmas can arrive at any time of year. What readers are saying about The Winter Gathering: 'Warm, insightful, funny and poignant''Purcell's prose flows and there are some very funny bits throughout''Five stars'

Headline

Last Summer in Arcadia

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

One summer changes everything... From the No 1 Irish bestselling author Deirdre Purcell comes Last Summer in Arcadia, a novel of marriage, family and survival. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.'Intimate, yet distinct. Purcell juggles voices deftly to deliver a snappy read, releasing revelations with mounting tension' - Irish Independent The tension is palpable as Tess and Jerry Brennan sit in the drawing room of their wonderful house high above the sea, waiting for the police to arrive. Tess is facing the consequences of her own actions, innocently undertaken but devastating in their outcome; Jerry has been caught out in a misdemeanour, a transgression men have made since time began but one that in his case has repercussions that will mean the end of a successful career. Adding to Tess's agitation is the knowledge that her two best friends are facing parallel traumas of their own. Life skated along for the three couples until last summer when they all travelled to the village of Collioure in the south of France. Now they have everything to lose: their marriages, their family lives, and their friendships. What readers are saying about Deirdre Purcell: 'Unerringly perceptive, Last Summer in Arcadia is a compellingly written, powerful exploration of the complex mix of love, trust and compromise''Warm, insightful, funny and poignant''Five stars'

Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

To find happiness, they must reconcile the past and present... Pearl is a moving and powerfully engaging story of three sisters, marked by a family tragedy, from acclaimed author Deirdre Purcell. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Catherine Dunne.'A sweeping love story... Fans of Purcell are bound to welcome Pearl into their lives like an old friend, and will enjoy catching up' - Irish Independent In 1920s' rural Ireland, Pearl Somers lives happily with her parents, her sisters Opal and Ruby, and her little brother Willie, in the gate lodge of Kilnashone Castle, where her father is chauffeur to Lord and Lady Areton. But one dreadful night, a series of dramatic events unfold and the lives of all - elite and ordinary - are changed forever. Over 40 years later, Pearl has become a successful writer. Yet there is one story she has never told, until her young cousin Catherine confesses a secret of her own that opens a door to Pearl's past - one she thought had been firmly sealed forever. When Catherine discovers Pearl's story of heartbreak and yearning, she determines to do her best to reconcile past and present. But is it too late for Pearl to find her own happy ending? What readers are saying about Pearl: 'A unique story line [with] rich characters''Tragic, yet enchanting. A totally different kind of love story; not clichéd or predictable but unique and beautiful''Five stars'

Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline

Marble Gardens

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

When her child is in danger, a woman will break all the rules... Deirdre Purcell's Marble Gardens is a compelling and original story with a perceptive eye into contemporary relationships. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.'Purcell is an accomplished storyteller and it is her characters that triumph' - Ireland on Sunday Sophie and Riba have known each other since childhood. Though they couldn't be more different - Sophie is elegant and diffident, while Riba is flamboyantly extrovert - the bond between them seems unbreakable. Then Riba's teenaged daughter Zelda falls gravely ill. Frustrated by the limitations of conventional medicine, Riba pins all her hopes on alternative methods. Sophie is torn between her loyalty to her friend and her fear that Zelda, whom she loves like the child she cannot have, will not get the help she desperately needs. United in their distress, Sophie and Riba's husband Brian find themselves drawn to each other. Time is running out for Zelda, for two marriages, and for a friendship... What readers are saying about Marble Gardens: 'Very tangible characters, realistic story [and a] sense of place''Good read, realistic yarn about relationships'

Headline

Children of Eve

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

Why would a mother abandon her children? Children of Eve is a moving novel from acclaimed author Deirdre Purcell. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Catherine Dunne.'Any novel that is at once accessible and thought-provoking is one worth reading' - Irish Independent Eve Moraghan broke one of the great taboos when she abandoned her children as toddlers. Now adults, Arabella, Willow and Rowan have heard nothing of their mother since the day she walked out the door, headed no one knows where. Why she went, they just don't know. But now, it seems, they're about to find out. Their mother's been in an accident, and she's sent word that she wants to see her children. The first reaction is to tell her to forget it. She gave up on them - why should they jump when she says so? And yet somehow they each find themselves on that plane, making the journey that will tell them what their past was all about - and open new doors into the future. What readers are saying about Deirdre Purcell: 'Warm, insightful, funny and poignant''Well-written with real people''Five stars'

Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell