Deirdre Purcell - Headline Publishing Group

Deirdre Purcell



Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

The Winter Gathering

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

Tradition, friendship, and a little seasonal magic... Deirdre Purcell writes a spellbinding novel in The Winter Gathering, a compelling tale of friendship. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Edna O'Brien. 'Spellbinding...fascinating and provocative... [Deirdre Purcell has] a new masterpiece on her hands' - Irish Independent It's ten years on from the first winter gathering, when four of Maggie Quinn's closest friends rushed in to spend Christmas with her after her husband walked out just days before. And at Christmas, it doesn't take long for an event to become a tradition.But this Christmas Day, for the first time, there's an addition to the party, in the form of a young, very handsome man. Only one of the women knows what he's doing there, and she's remaining tight-lipped.So begins a new chapter in the lives of the five friends. As the winter moves towards spring, each faces personal hurdles, from family difficulties to illness to the unexpected reappearance of Maggie's ex. Throughout, each proves that friends truly are the family you choose - and that, ultimately, the magic of Christmas can arrive at any time of year. What readers are saying about The Winter Gathering: 'Warm, insightful, funny and poignant''Purcell's prose flows and there are some very funny bits throughout''Five stars'

Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline Review

Pearl

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

The moving and powerfully engaging story of three sisters marked by a family tragedy.In 1920s' rural Ireland, Pearl Somers lives happily with her parents, her sisters Opal and Ruby, and her little brother Willie, in the gate lodge of Kilnashone Castle, where her father is chauffeur to Lord and Lady Areton. But one dreadful night, a series of dramatic events unfold and the lives of all - elite and ordinary - are changed forever. Over 40 years later, Pearl has become a successful writer. Yet there is one story she has never told, until her young cousin Catherine confesses a secret of her own that opens a door to Pearl's past - one she thought had been firmly sealed forever. When Catherine discovers Pearl's story of heartbreak and yearning, she determines to do her best to reconcile past and present. But is it too late for Pearl to find her own happy ending?

Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

In 1944, a young girl was imprisoned. Sixty years later, her story changes another woman's life... The past and present collide in Tell Me Your Secret, the spellbinding novel from Deirdre Purcell. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Edna O'Brien.'Achingly poignant, with warm, strong characters, it will no doubt become an instant bestseller and delight all Purcell fans. Once again, she has produced a great read, popular fiction with writing that matches a literary novel and includes some telling social observation. Vintage Deirdre Purcell' - Irish Independent An evocative and dramatic novel told in the voices of two narrators: Violet, who in 1944 is imprisoned in the tower of a rambling country house by her family; and Claudine, a modern-day property negotiator who becomes involved in handling the sale of the derelict Whitecliff in 2004. Violet's story is of young innocent love for a local lad taking an unfortunate twist, while Claudine is a thoroughly twenty-first-century character: daughter of a loving father with a less loving stepmother, she marries in haste after her father's death, and is at a turning point in her life when she starts to find out the true story of Violet. Is happiness a possibility for these women in their separate and very different worlds? What readers are saying about Tell Me Your Secret: 'A true hidden gem, a wonderful read''All the characters are beautifully drawn, and the multi-layered story unfolds slowly and deliciously, at times satisfyingly happily and at others poignantly sadly''One of the best books I have read...outstanding'

Headline

Children of Eve

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline

Last Summer in Arcadia

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Headline

Marble Gardens

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

Sophie and Riba have known each other since childhood. Though they couldn't be more different - Sophie is elegant and diffident, while Riba is flamboyantly extrovert - the bond between them seems unbreakable. Then Riba's teenaged daughter Zelda falls gravely ill. Frustrated by the limitations of conventional medicine, Riba pins all her hopes on alternative methods. Sophie is torn between her loyalty to her friend and her fear that Zelda, whom she loves like the child she cannot have, will not get the help she desperately needs. United in their distress, Sophie and Riba's husband Brian find themselves drawn to each other. Time is running out for Zelda, for two marriages, and for a friendship...