Bernardine Kennedy - Headline Publishing Group

Bernardine Kennedy



Bernardine Kennedy was born in London but spent most of her childhood in Singapore and Nigeria before settling in Essex, where she still lives with her husband Ian. She also has a son, Stephen, and daughter, Kate. Her varied working life has included careers as an air hostess, a swimming instructor and a social worker. She has been a freelance writer for many years, specialising in popular travel features for magazines. Her previous novels, Everything is Not Enough, My Sisters' Keeper, Chain of Deception, Taken, Old Scores and Past Chances, are also available from Headline.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline

Shattered Lives

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Two sisters torn apart by tragedy... From acclaimed author Bernardine Kennedy comes Shattered Lives, an unforgettable tale of love, family and the ties that bind. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.'[An] eminently readable and very modern tale of love and betrayal. A book of powerful emotions that is both disturbing and entertaining' - Lancashire Evening PostWhen they were orphaned at a young age, sisters Hannah and Julie had to learn to look after themselves. Years later and all grown up, Hannah, with her steady job and happy marriage, seems to have fallen on her feet. The same can't be said for Julie, however. First pregnant at fifteen, and now with three children from three different men and living with a serious drug addiction, she needs help. It's up to Hannah to step in, but in doing so she discovers, in the most devastating way, that her own life might not be so perfect after all... What readers are saying about Shattered Lives: 'One of the best books I have read''Gripping to the end''Could not put this book down. Brilliant read. Bernardine Kennedy has me hooked!'

Headline

Past Chances

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

The horror of the past will haunt her forever... Past Chances is the touching novel from Bernardine Kennedy, charting the life of a young woman as she faces tragedy, love and the future. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Nadine Dorries. Eleanor Rivington has always felt like an outsider. Abandoned by her mother and brought up in fear of her father, she's desperate to leave home and live like other girls in London in the seventies. When a barman from work invites her to share a flat with him and two of his friends, it is her chance to break free. But when Eleanor confronts her father, the terrible tragedy that follows haunts her forever. And, despite the support of her new friends, Eleanor's life seems destined for further disappointment... What readers are saying about Past Chances: 'A page turner, couldn't put it down. Brilliant''Totally riveting''Five stars'

Headline

Old Scores

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

One woman's struggle to escape a life of abuse, rejection and ultimate betrayal... Written with chilling authenticity and utterly believable characters, Bernardine Kennedy's Old Scores is a saga that will stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale.'Wonderful, classy writing. Without hurry... the reader is taken through every emotion by a designer writer of enormous brilliance' - Bangor ChronicleMaria Harman finds it hard to keep her intense and mixed-up emotions in check when it comes to her family. For things are anything but loving and harmonious in the Harman household. Her bullying and spiteful older brothers, Patrick and Joe, make her life as miserable as possible, encouraged by their mother, Finola, who believes her 'golden boys' can do no wrong. Maria is hardened to Finola's scorn and indifference but deep down craves her mother's love and can't understand why her mother chose to adopt her in the first place. Her only solace comes from her warm-hearted, slow-witted brother, Eddie, and browbeaten father Sam. But when the layers of deception that conceal Maria's true parentage are slowly broken away, the already dysfunctional family is thrown into chaos... What readers are saying about Old Scores: 'Such a fantastic book... gripping right from the beginning and hard to put down''The main character is believable and the storyline is fascinating''Five stars'

Headline

Taken

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Her child has vanished. Her husband is not the man she thinks he is. Can Jessie ever get her life back? Taken is the heart-wrenching drama from Bernardine Kennedy of the strength of love, motherhood and hope. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court.'Bernardine Kennedy has the measure of this kind of women's writing, and there will be an enthusiastic audience for Taken' - Publishing News Jessica Patterson's comfortable, settled life seems idyllic and her marriage perfect. She met American Sheldon Patterson on holiday in Mexico and fell for him instantly. Good looking and easy going as well as financially secure, he was everything Jessie wanted in a husband. When they have a son, CJ, her happiness is complete. Jessie is besotted with her son and her life revolves around him, while his father constantly travels for his business. So when Sheldon announces one day that he is going to take CJ away for a few days to Disneyland, Paris - to 'bond' with his son - Jessie is persuaded to let them go. Her nightmare begins when they don't return... What readers are saying about Taken: 'Stunning''A gripping plot and very unputdownable''Great writing, this book is an emotional rollercoaster from start to finish'

Headline

Chain of Deception

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Can Lucy escape her marriage before it is too late? Bernardine Kennedy writes a moving saga of the obstacles that stand in the way of true love in the utterly compelling Chain of Deception. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. 'If you are looking for some serious escapism, pour yourself a drink and settle down with Chain of Deception' - Farnham Herald Lucy Cooper seems to have it all - a smart, attractive PR consultant from a wealthy family, she thinks she has met her perfect match in Donovan, a fitness trainer with a body to die for. After a whirlwind romance, she and Donovan marry but it isn't long before Lucy realises that her new husband is nothing more than a self-obsessed fitness freak. Worse than that, beneath his tanned veneer there lies an ugly and increasingly violent temper. Marriage to Donovan is turning Lucy into a nervous wreck, eating away at her confidence and putting her career, her health, even her sanity in jeopardy. Lucy knows that she has to make a break before he destroys her - and her loved ones - completely. Hope comes in the form of Fergus Pearson, an Irish/Jamaican motorbike courier and aspiring actor. He's gentle, laid-back and kind - everything her husband isn't. They embark on an affair but a freak accident forces Lucy to make a discovery that will turn her whole world upside down... What readers are saying about Chain of Deception: 'Such a gripping book, I couldn't put it down... Absolutely brilliant read''Beautifully written and thoroughly enjoyable''Five stars'

Headline

My Sisters' Keeper

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

To save her child, where can she go? Bernardine Kennedy's gripping saga My Sisters' Keeper follows one young woman's journey as she encounters love, tragedy and betrayal. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.'A hard-hitting emotional read which pulls no punches' - Brentwood Gazette In 1975, Vietnamese orphan Cathy Carter arrives in England to begin a new life. Her childhood in the New Forest is idyllic, but when she is fifteen tragedy strikes. Her adoptive parents are killed in a fire, and she is left with her strange, uncommunicative adoptive twin sisters. Sad and lonely, Cathy joins a local theatre group, where she becomes besotted with one of the directors. Nico is forty, and very good-looking, but he preys on vulnerable young girls, and has set his sights on Cathy. She is petite and pretty, and she is due to inherit a fortune.On her sixteenth birthday, Nico blackmails the twins into allowing Cathy to marry him. Their marriage soon turns sour, and after their daughter, Sammy-Jo, is born Cathy escapes with the child to Spain. But one day, Nico finds them... What readers are saying about My Sisters' Keeper: 'A great page turner - I couldn't put it down''A gripping story''Five stars'

Headline

Everything is not Enough

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy