Bernardine Kennedy - Headline Publishing Group

Bernardine Kennedy



Bernardine Kennedy was born in London but spent most of her childhood in Singapore and Nigeria before settling in Essex, where she still lives with her husband Ian. She also has a son, Stephen, and daughter, Kate. Her varied working life has included careers as an air hostess, a swimming instructor and a social worker. She has been a freelance writer for many years, specialising in popular travel features for magazines. Her previous novels, Everything is Not Enough, My Sisters' Keeper, Chain of Deception, Taken, Old Scores and Past Chances, are also available from Headline.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline

Shattered Lives

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Two sisters torn apart by tragedy... From acclaimed author Bernardine Kennedy comes Shattered Lives, an unforgettable tale of love, family and the ties that bind. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.'[An] eminently readable and very modern tale of love and betrayal. A book of powerful emotions that is both disturbing and entertaining' - Lancashire Evening PostWhen they were orphaned at a young age, sisters Hannah and Julie had to learn to look after themselves. Years later and all grown up, Hannah, with her steady job and happy marriage, seems to have fallen on her feet. The same can't be said for Julie, however. First pregnant at fifteen, and now with three children from three different men and living with a serious drug addiction, she needs help. It's up to Hannah to step in, but in doing so she discovers, in the most devastating way, that her own life might not be so perfect after all... What readers are saying about Shattered Lives: 'One of the best books I have read''Gripping to the end''Could not put this book down. Brilliant read. Bernardine Kennedy has me hooked!'

Headline

Past Chances

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy
Headline

Old Scores

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy
Headline

Taken

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Her child has vanished. Her husband is not the man she thinks he is. Can Jessie ever get her life back? Taken is the heart-wrenching drama from Bernardine Kennedy of the strength of love, motherhood and hope. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court.'Bernardine Kennedy has the measure of this kind of women's writing, and there will be an enthusiastic audience for Taken' - Publishing News Jessica Patterson's comfortable, settled life seems idyllic and her marriage perfect. She met American Sheldon Patterson on holiday in Mexico and fell for him instantly. Good looking and easy going as well as financially secure, he was everything Jessie wanted in a husband. When they have a son, CJ, her happiness is complete. Jessie is besotted with her son and her life revolves around him, while his father constantly travels for his business. So when Sheldon announces one day that he is going to take CJ away for a few days to Disneyland, Paris - to 'bond' with his son - Jessie is persuaded to let them go. Her nightmare begins when they don't return... What readers are saying about Taken: 'Stunning''A gripping plot and very unputdownable''Great writing, this book is an emotional rollercoaster from start to finish'

Headline

Chain of Deception

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy
Headline

My Sisters' Keeper

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

To save her child, where can she go? Bernardine Kennedy's gripping saga My Sisters' Keeper follows one young woman's journey as she encounters love, tragedy and betrayal. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.'A hard-hitting emotional read which pulls no punches' - Brentwood Gazette In 1975, Vietnamese orphan Cathy Carter arrives in England to begin a new life. Her childhood in the New Forest is idyllic, but when she is fifteen tragedy strikes. Her adoptive parents are killed in a fire, and she is left with her strange, uncommunicative adoptive twin sisters. Sad and lonely, Cathy joins a local theatre group, where she becomes besotted with one of the directors. Nico is forty, and very good-looking, but he preys on vulnerable young girls, and has set his sights on Cathy. She is petite and pretty, and she is due to inherit a fortune.On her sixteenth birthday, Nico blackmails the twins into allowing Cathy to marry him. Their marriage soon turns sour, and after their daughter, Sammy-Jo, is born Cathy escapes with the child to Spain. But one day, Nico finds them... What readers are saying about My Sisters' Keeper: 'A great page turner - I couldn't put it down''A gripping story''Five stars'

Headline

Everything is not Enough

Bernardine Kennedy
Authors:
Bernardine Kennedy

Just as life gets back on track, the past turns everything upside down... Bernardine Kennedy's Everything is not Enough is a moving saga of family, ambition and learning to stand on your own two feet. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.'A powerful and emotional novel - you'll be hooked' - Martina Cole When Louise Jermaine's father leaves, she grows up fast with little help from her selfish mother. Her best friend's home is a sanctuary - until her step-father hurts her so deeply she vows to escape from her past. She reinvents herself as Angie Kavanagh and discovers a talent for journalism, becoming a top celebrity interviewer. Years later, she writes about spoilt supermodel and It-girl Rebekah Alari. Angie sees that, despite all her advantages, Rebekah's life is not as glamorous as she pretends. She, too, hides a secret about her past. Angie herself seems at last to have found happiness, but her life is littered with emotional obstacles and she finds it impossible to leave the past behind... What readers are saying about Everything is not Enough: 'I was gripped throughout... and the characters are as real as my own family. A brilliant book''Excellent story, fantastic characters''Couldn't put it down'