Pauline Mclynn - Headline Publishing Group

Pauline Mclynn



Pauline McLynn grew up in Galway and started acting while studying History of Art in Dublin. She has played many stage roles, but shot to fame as the inimitable Mrs Doyle in Father Ted. Her other television work includes Aristocrats and Bremner, Bird and Fortune and, most recently, the hugely popular comedy series Jam and Jerusalem. Pauline has read several Books at Bedtime and her appearances on cinema screens include Angela's Ashes, Quills, Gypo, Heidi and An Everlasting Piece. Pauline has contributed to Girls' Night In, in aid of War Child, Magic, in aid of One Parent Families, Moments, in aid of Tsunami Relief and the serial Irish novel Yeats Is Dead, in aid of Amnesty International.
Headline Review

The Time is Now

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn
Headline Review

Missing You Already

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Missing You Already is an utterly enchanting novel about the importance of the little things in life - little things that we so often take for granted but would be lost without. The perfect read for fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep.'Mclynn bravely tackles some serious subjects with sensitivity, honesty and intelligence. It is an insightful and ultimately uplifting novel from a talented writer' - Irish Times At a remote railway station in Norfolk, Kitty Fulton runs the ticket office and her pet project is the lost and found. Nothing gives her more pleasure than to reunite possessions with their rightful owners. It is an experience that remains elusive in her own world as her mother's Alzheimer's pulls them further and further apart and, on top of this, she must endure the disintegration of a close relationship with a childhood friend. Just when Kitty feels her life can't get more complicated a series of extraordinary events challenges her notions of duty and fidelity. And in struggling to find the answers Kitty embarks on a journey that questions the importance of life and the way we must all live...What readers are saying about Missing You Already:'A wonderful story of despair, heartache, new beginnings and hope''Beautifully written''A warm read, which will make you laugh, cry and question what you would do in these situations'

Headline Review

Bright Lights and Promises

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

An Irish Times bestseller, Bright Lights and Promises is a mesmerising novel that deals with family relationships in touching detail. The perfect read for fans of Matt Haig's How to Stop Time and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep.'A winner. Pauline McLynn brings the same comic touches to her writing as she brought to the wonderful Mrs Doyle' - Daily Express It's not easy being the mother of a twelve-year-old boy who's in love with his babysitter and having trouble at school. Nor are matters helped by the unexpected arrival of an elderly mother who's suddenly footloose and fancy free. At least Susie Vine feels secure at Arland & Shaw, London's leading theatrical agency, where her clients love her almost as much as they love themselves. Then the man who broke her heart comes back into her life and she's forced to ask herself whether she was right to leave him all those years ago. Or is someone else waiting in the wings...?What readers are saying about Bright Lights and Promises:'Deals with the different sorts of love we all feel for people and is illustrated beautifully throughout''This is a fine writer plying her craft''McLynn is a great storyteller - you never know what you are going to get'

Headline Review

Summer in the City

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Lucy learns that life is both kind and cruel as she settles into her new South London home. Filled with humour and warmth, Summer in the City is a must-read novel for fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep. 'A funny, sad, charming and unpredictable novel' - Daily TelegraphLucy White can't quite believe what's happened to her happy, ordinary life. Ending up homeless - not to mention husbandless - has come as an almighty shock. All she wants to do is lie low for a while, but when she arrives in a quiet street in South London she's in for a surprise.The residents of Farewell Square are anything but quiet. There's a housewife with a secret that needs to be shared, a publicist whose behaviour outside office hours would shock his clients and an artist who can't seem to control her lodgers. They're as intrigued by Lucy as she is by them, and as she's drawn into their midst, she realises that life can be kind as well as cruel. And that no one has to be lonely if they don't want to be.What readers are saying about Summer in the City:'The key strengths to the story and the writing is the emotion driven through the circumstances of the plot and the ability for you to move from laughter to tears and back again in a single page''Love and sorrow of many kinds leavened with a good dose of humour, and a very satisfying conclusion' 'A real page-turner'

Headline Review

The Woman on the Bus

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Is it the end of the road... Or just the beginning? Combining the storytelling powers of Maeve Binchy with her own unique sense of humour and perception, Father Ted's Pauline McLynn crafts a sparklingly original novel, The Woman on the Bus. The perfect read for fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Matt Haig's How to Stop Time. 'This is Pauline McLynn's fourth novel, and the author is going from strength to strength with every outing. Fizzing with vividly sketched characters, The Woman on the Bus is a skilfully written story' - Sunday Tribune It's a typical Tuesday evening in Kilbrody. Cathy Long is on her way to collect her drunken father from the pub. Ozzy O'Reilly is in the graveyard, watching the Dublin bus through his binoculars. Charlie Finn is pulling pints, when suddenly it hits him: he's bored. And that's when the woman from the bus walks through his door and drinks herself into oblivion. Now the whole village wants to know, who is the woman on the bus? The question is, will she tell them?What readers are saying about The Woman on the Bus:'Her best book so far. Full of real characters, real emotions''Heartily recommended, can keep you turning page after page. It is worthy of a sequel' 'A funny yet moving love story set amongst some wonderful scenery'

Headline

Right on Time (Leo Street, Book 3)

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Leo Street battles against time to find a missing girl in Pauline McLynn's third comic crime caper from the Leo Street sries. Right on Time is the perfect read for fans of Jenny Colgan and Lauren Henderson. 'This novel scoots along at a great pace with some genuinely funny lines and a touching ending' - Sunday Mirror Every second counts for private investigator Leo Street on her latest case. She must find a missing teenager in the drug-fuelled streets of Dublin before it's too late. But with a watch that's stopped and a biological clock that's taken over, it's not going to be easy.Leo's irrepressible sidekick Ciara, her mischievous mutt No. 4, and Ciara's gorgeous twin brother Ronan, lend a helping hand. But can they track down the missing girl and save the day, or will a case of bad timing put all their lives at risk?What readers are saying about Right on Time:'Gritty, funny, witty and sad, all at the same time''The weary lead character's witty observations provide a number of laughs and the support characters give the book a chatty warmth''I couldn't put it down'

Headline

Better than a Rest (Leo Street, Book 2)

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Pauline McLynn's intrepid private investigator, Leo Street, returns in this sparkling comic crime caper. The charming Leo Street series is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson.'Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle' - OK! Private eye Leo Street is on the trail of an adulterous husband when her clapped-out car causes her cover to be blown. It's time to draft in Ciara Gillespie, the teenage tearaway whom she befriended on her last case. At first, Ciara's methods of surveillance leave a lot to be desired, but soon she's unearthing the secret life of an obstetrician who likes to dabble in genetic engineering... With Ciara in control, Leo's free to pursue other matters, such as who's making anonymous phone calls to her friend Maeve, and why there's pandemonium at the local crèche. Then she accepts an invitation from Andy Raynor - an old flame who she's never fully extinguished - and sparks begin to fly.What readers are saying about Better than a Rest:'The characters are drawn with exquisite first-hand knowledge of real people, and the situations in which Leo finds herself, whether bland or extraordinary, are described with pinpoint accuracy and a certain amount of delicious agony''She [Pauline McLynn] truly understands the eccentricities of Dublin life and reflects them perfectly''Excellent mix of humour and drama'

Headline

Something for the Weekend (Leo Street, Book 1)

Pauline Mclynn
Authors:
Pauline Mclynn

Dublin private-eye Leo Street feigns culinary prowess as she investigates marital infidelity in the countryside. Something for the Weekend is the first comic crime caper of the charming Leo Street series by Pauline McLynn. The perfect read for fans of Janet Evanovich and Joanna Cannon. 'Scandal, infidelity, secrets and soufflé are all explored with a healthy dollop of humour' - ExpressWhen private investigator Leo Street is sent to County Kildare to spy on the wife of a loathsome client, she's delighted to be getting away from rainy Dublin and her hopeless, permanently resting actor boyfriend Barry. The one catch is she has to masquerade as a member of a cookery course and the only piece of culinary equipment Leo can handle is a tin opener - Weekend Entertaining Part 1 is daunting to say the least. As she strips away layers of marital infidelity - not to mention several other scandalous secrets - she battles with bread-making and brûlée. But where will it all end - in triumph or tragedy?What readers are saying about Something for the Weekend:'A well written, engaging plot makes this a page turner''Pauline McLynn has created a realistic character that jumps off the page and hits you between the eyes''Guaranteed to make you laugh... and then cry'