Monica Wood - Headline Publishing Group

Monica Wood



Monica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.
Headline Review

Any Bitter Thing

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

Ernie's Ark

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

Secret Language

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

SECRET LANGUAGE by Monica Wood is a moving and compelling tale of two sisters as they reconnect, not to be missed by readers of Anne Tyler, Joanna Cannon and Sue Monk Kidd. 'Fiercely lyrical... [Wood] writes with sensitivity and intuitive insight about relationships coming apart and the walls people erect to keep others out' Publishers Weekly As children, dragged around the country by semi-famous actor parents who could barely take care of themselves, sisters Faith and Constance had to rely on one another.As adults, though, they have drifted apart: Faith has children and a grounded domestic life - but hasn't necessarily found unconditional love; whereas Constance, a flight attendant, is always searching for her true place in life.Then Isadora, the half-sister they never knew existed, makes her dramatic entrance into their lives. This crisis forces Faith and Constance into their long-forgotten childhood habits, and they begin to make their way back to one another and find a new way to be a family.What readers are saying about SECRET LANGUAGE:'So glad I discovered Monica Wood. Her language is gorgeous, her characters compelling, and she delicately describes the pain and joy of human relationships in a way we can all identify with''Extremely well written and thought-provoking with outstanding character development' 'A rare and affecting book that can create such heartfelt turmoil. Highly recommend for readers who love realistic stories about family life'

Headline Review

My Only Story

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

MY ONLY STORY is a moving, funny and bittersweet novel by Monica Wood, the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY, sure to appeal to fans of Sarah Winman, Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell. 'Wood's command of voice holds a reader all the way through to the last page' San Francisco Chronicle Rita Rosario has a gift, a way with people. She listens to them and really sees them for who they are - warts and all. Women, even men, come to Rita's beauty shop for perms, town gossip, and makeovers of their very lives.John Reed first appears to Rita in one of her dreams. When they meet at a town gathering a few days later, she immediately offers him a haircut, and a heart. As they share stories, Rita helps John fill a void by reconnecting him to his only family - a young niece he nearly lost in a heart-breaking tragedy.While inspiring John out of loneliness and into reconciliation, Rita begins to come to terms with events in her past... and discovers things about herself she never realised, including her own intimate role in John's unfolding story.What readers are saying about MY ONLY STORY:'Monica Wood is a beautiful writer and can convey complex emotions in the most beautiful and simple ways. The book stays with you long after you finish it, as do the characters''An enchanting book. Wood's mastery of the language creates beautiful, sometimes poetic prose. Her ability to express both human pain and human hope is very refreshing. This book is a treasure''One of the best kept secrets of the literary world'

Headline Review

When We Were the Kennedys

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

A Woman in a Million

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood