Monica Wood - Headline Publishing Group

Monica Wood



Monica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.
Headline Review

Any Bitter Thing

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

ANY BITTER THING is a novel about how much we can and should forgive, by Monica Wood, the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY, and perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Joanna Cannon. 'If you liked THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, try ANY BITTER THING' GlamourAfter surviving a near-fatal accident, thirty-year-old Lizzy Mitchell faces a long road to recovery. She remembers little about the days she spent in and out of consciousness, save for one thing: she saw her beloved deceased uncle, Father Mike, the man who raised her until she was nine, when she was abruptly sent away.Though her troubled marriage and broken body need tending, Lizzy knows she must uncover the details of her accident - and delve into the events of twenty years ago, when whispers and accusations forced a good man to give up the only family he had.

Headline Review

Ernie's Ark

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

A heart-wrenching story collection from the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY Monica Wood, ERNIE'S ARK tells the story of a small town's people, determined to survive... Perfect for those who love reading Anne Tyler, Joanna Cannon and Emma Healey. 'Loving character portraits... help us understand the human condition' Boston GlobeAbbott Falls, Maine, a town once drenched with ordinary hopes and dreams, is now praying for a small drop of good fortune. Ernie Whitten - out of a job and tending to his ill wife - needs it more than most. Struck with sudden inspiration, Ernie builds a giant ark in his backyard. It is a work of art, a vessel to carry them both away, and a plea to God to spare Marie, come hell or high water.As the ark takes shape, the rest of the town carries on. There's Dan Little, sent to fine Ernie for building the ark, who makes a significant discovery about himself. Francine Love is a precocious thirteen-year-old who longs to be part of a family. And CEO Henry John McCoy, an impatient man determined to be a good father to his twenty-six-year-old daughter. The people of Abbott Falls will try their best to hold their community together, against the fiercest of odds...

Headline Review

Secret Language

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

My Only Story

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

The unforgettable novel about a boy in a million - and the 104-year-old woman who saves his family.Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily MailThe story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school?So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades. One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again. 'A bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places' Good Housekeeping.

Headline Review

When We Were the Kennedys

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

A Woman in a Million

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

An e-short story.If you loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Shock of the Fall, this is for you...There's someone you should meet. But, before you do...She's just turned one hundred. She doesn't want a birthday party. Or a TV interview. She's too busy practising for her driving test. And hoodwinking church visitors with magic tricks. She's Miss Ona Vitkus. And she's one in a million.Warm, funny and heartbreaking, this short-story prequel to THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY - the book destined to be on everyone's lips this summer - will make you laugh and cry with the turn of a page.