Laurie Frankel - Headline Publishing Group

Laurie Frankel



Laurie Frankel writes novels (reads novels, teaches other people to write novels, raises a small person who reads and might someday write novels) in Seattle, Washington. She and her husband and daughter live on a nearly vertical hill from which Laurie can watch three different bridges when she's staring out her windows between words.

Laurie's earlier novels are The Atlas of Love and Goodbye For Now. This Is How It Always Is is her third novel.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of BIG LITTLE LIES 'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' PrimaLaurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT.This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.This is how children change...and then change the world.This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess. When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.What readers are saying about THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS:'This writing is glorious. A fabulous book. Topical, moving, full of magic''One of the most amazing and thought-provoking books I have ever read. It's warm, well observed and funny''A beautiful love story of two people who meet, fall hopelessly in love and then create a wonderful unique family of five'

Headline Review

Goodbye For Now

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

'GOODBYE FOR NOW is a fabulous, original read - very funny, yet so sad and thought-provoking too. I couldn't put it down' Liane Moriarty, author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRET'Witty writing and a fast-moving story make GOODBYE FOR NOW compulsively readable' Graeme Simsion, author of THE ROSIE PROJECTLaurie Frankel's heart-breaking, but life-affirming, novel about finding love and coming to terms with loss is perfect for fans of ONE DAY and ME BEFORE YOU.Imagine a world in which you never have to say goodbye.A world in which you can talk to your loved ones after they've gone - About the trivial things you used to shareAbout the things you wish you'd said while you still had the chanceAbout how hard it is to adjust to life without them.When Sam Elling invents a computer programme that enables his girlfriend Meredith to do just this, nothing can prepare them for the consequences. For every person who wants to say goodbye, there is someone else who can't let go. And when tragedy strikes, they have to find out whether goodbye has to be for ever. Or whether love can take on a life of its own..'Enough tears to rival Seattle's annual rainfall. And yet, GOODBYE FOR NOW is still hopeful and thoughtful and securely rooted in a belief in the essential goodness of which people are capable' Seattle Times