Maggie O'Farrell - Headline Publishing Group

Maggie O'Farrell



Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.
Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

AS SELECTED FOR THE ZOE BALL BOOK CLUB: A BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE SUNDAY TIMES, THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, IRISH TIMES, OBSERVER, RED and THE TELEGRAPH.I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, gorgeously written, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

THIS MUST BE THE PLACE: Exclusive Chapter Sampler

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Read for free the first chapter of Maggie O'Farrell's new novel, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, and discover for yourself why this book is garnering so much attention and praise. 'Inventive, moving and hilarious. I loved it' Rachel Joyce'Destined to be one of the most acclaimed books of 2016' Hannah Beckerman'Magnificent... perceptive, profound and page turning' Cathy RentzenbrinkMeet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex-film star given to shooting at anyone who ventures up their driveway.He is also about to find out something about a woman he lost touch with twenty years ago, and this discovery will send him off-course, far away from wife and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?Maggie O'Farrell's seventh novel is a dazzling, intimate epic about who we leave behind and who we become as we search for our place in the world.

Tinder Press

Maggie O'Farrell: A Reader's Guide - free digital compendium

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

A story of a dysfunctional but deeply loveable family reunited, set during the legendary summer of 1976, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE by Maggie O'Farrell was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award and was a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each with different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.

Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Tinder Press

My Lover's Lover

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

From the Costa Award winning, bestselling author of THIS MUST BE THE PLACE and I AM, I AM, I AM, comes an intense, breathtakingly accomplished story of a woman's life stolen, and reclaimed. 'Unputdownable' Ali SmithEdinburgh in the 1930s. The Lennox family is having trouble with its youngest daughter. Esme is outspoken, unconventional, and repeatedly embarrasses them in polite society. Something will have to be done.Years later, a young woman named Iris Lockhart receives a letter informing her that she has a great-aunt in a psychiatric unit who is about to be released.Iris has never heard of Esme Lennox and the one person who should know more, her grandmother Kitty, seems unable to answer Iris's questions. What could Esme have done to warrant a lifetime in an institution? And how is it possible for a person to be so completely erased from a family's history?

Tinder Press

The Distance Between Us

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

AFTER YOU'D GONE is the groundbreaking debut novel from the Costa-Award winning Maggie O'Farrell, author of THIS MUST BE THE PLACE and I AM, I AM, I AM. It is a stunning, best-selling novel of wrenching love and grief.A distraught young woman boards a train at King's Cross to return to her family in Scotland. Six hours later, she catches sight of something so terrible in a mirror at Waverley Station that she gets on the next train back to London.AFTER YOU'D GONE follows Alice's mental journey through her own past, after a traffic accident has left her in a coma. A love story that is also a story of absence, and of how our choices can reverberate through the generations, it slowly draws us closer to a dark secret at a family's heart.