June Tate - Headline Publishing Group

June Tate



June Tate was born in Southampton. After leaving school she became a hairdresser and spent several years working on cruise ships, first on the Queen Mary and then on the Mauritania, meeting many Hollywood film stars and VIPs on her travels. After her marriage to an airline pilot, she lived in Sussex and Hampshire before moving to Estoril in Portugal. June, who has two adult daughters, now lives in Sussex.
Headline

A Family Affair

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

Talk of the Town

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate

She may have found the man of her dreams... but is he all that he seems? Talk of the Town is another gritty saga from June Tate, packed with the usual ingredients - passion, violence and a heroine with steel in her veins. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Lynda Page.'A page-turner for all saga lovers' - Katie FfordeAs the 1920s roar around her, wild child Tilly Thompson is desperate for adventure. She wishes she could travel the world like her friend David Strickland, an engineer officer on the Aquitania, but, for now, she must try to find her thrills closer to home. When Tilly hears a new club, the Blue Pelican, has opened in Southampton, it's not long before she's the star of the dance floor, kicking her heels up to the Charleston. Flame-haired Tilly quickly attracts the attention of the club's devastatingly handsome owner Eddie Chapman. She won't be warned about Chapman's reputation, though - not while she's having the time of her life. But that life is about to change dramatically as Tilly stumbles upon a sinister trail of violence and crime. And it all seems to lead to Eddie Chapman... What readers are saying about Talk of the Town: 'This is a book that is packed with drama and there is so much going on that you cannot help but read on and on and on to find out what happens. There is never a dull moment in this book. The cast of characters are all interesting and the storyline is put together perfectly... This book is going in my top ten reads''Classic Tate, excellent story''Five stars'

Headline

When Somebody Loves You

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

To Be A Lady

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

Every Time You Say Goodbye

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate

For Kitty, the war opens more doors than ever before... In June Tate's Every Time You Say Goodbye, the war provides a means for escape and freedom for one restless young woman. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lynda Page. 'Displays June's customary flair for keeping the reader glued to the page' - Coventry Evening TelegraphIt's 1943 and Kitty Freeman is hungry for excitement. Married for only 18 months, she's miserable. Brian Freeman wants nothing more than a quiet life, a tidy home and a wife to make his dinner. But when he receives his call-up papers and is sent to France, Kitty feels like a bird set free from its cage. Will she be able to resist the charms of local villain Gerry Stubbs? Does the handsome American lieutenant Jeff Ryder want more than just friendship? One thing's for sure: the war holds more for Kitty than she could ever have imagined... What readers are saying about Every Time You Say Goodbye: 'June Tate is a marvellous storyteller and this is one of her best. Her characters are warm and engaging and her stories are dramatic and well-paced''Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Good story with lots of twists to keep you interested''Five stars'

Headline

For Love or Money

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

Nothing Is Forever

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

Better Days

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate
Headline

For the Love of a Soldier

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate

Can their love survive the battles they'll have to face? For the Love of a Soldier is a gritty and compelling saga of love, war and prejudice in 1940s Southampton docklands, from much-loved author June Tate. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Josephine Cox. 'What a tangled and wonderful wartime web is weaved here' - Northern EchoMaggie Evans is living with her parents at their docklands pub in Southampton when the GIs arrive to support the British troops in 1943. She's never met anyone like American Steve Rossi, and it's hard to resist his good looks and easy confidence. But there's another side to Steve, and when he pulls a knife during a fight, Maggie begins to wonder what other secrets he's concealing.Joshua Lewis is everything Steve's not: kind, considerate and honest. And he's black. When he and Maggie become friends, Steve's true colours are revealed; he's a bigot as well as a dangerous criminal. Maggie realises only just in time that it's Joshua, not Steve, she loves. But can she and Joshua make a go of it in a world set against them? What readers are saying about For the Love of a Soldier: 'This book was a joy from start to finish''Excellent love story with the back drop of WWII''Super book - five stars'

Headline

No One Promised Me Tomorrow

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate

Faced with a new chance at love, can she leave the past behind her? June Tate's No One Promised Me Tomorrow, the gripping sequel to Riches of the Heart, finds Lily risking everything in order to protect the person she loves most: her daughter. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Cathy Sharp. Since she found herself alone with a young daughter, Lily Pickford has devoted her life to ensuring that little Victoria has everything Lily lacked in her own childhood. But now a recession has cast a shadow over Lily's business in the Southampton docklands. When she risks everything to save the day, she finds herself separated from Victoria and facing a prison sentence for a crime she didn't commit. It'll be a tough battle to get Victoria back, and a fierce struggle to put food in their mouths. But Lily's a fighter, though she has given up on romance; she's forgotten what it's like to be touched by a man. Yet when Luke Longford turns his heart-stopping smile her way, old feelings resurface, and Lily realises she's still vulnerable. Is she ready for love? And is Luke man enough to accept Lily for what she is - and for everything she has been in her secret past? What readers are saying about No One Promised Me Tomorrow: 'Another great story from June Tate, all her books have the right amount of sorrow, intrigue and romance''Couldn't put this book down''Five stars'

Headline

Riches of the Heart

June Tate
Authors:
June Tate

Abandoned and alone, this is the unforgettable tale of one woman's search for happiness. Riches of the Heart by June Tate is a moving saga of one woman's encounters with poverty, tragedy and her chance for happiness. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale.'[Lily's] struggle to find happiness again makes this gritty saga compulsive reading' - Woman's WeeklyLily Pickford is just sixteen when her violent father throws her out of the house. Her first few nights are spent sleeping rough in Southampton's sleazy docklands, but her luck turns when stallholder Rachel Cohen gives her work and a place to stay where she regularly encounters Vittorio Teglia, a local villain who desires her. Her happiness is complete when she meets Tom McCann, a wild Irishman who only has eyes for Lily. When Lily is tragically forced to walk away from her new life, she is driven to the streets and prostitution, dreading the day that Tom discovers what she's become. A day that dawns all too soon... What readers are saying about Riches of the Heart: 'I love this storyline, the details of the old days, and the interesting characters''One of the best books l have ever read''Absolutely wonderful - five stars' Don't miss the heart-stopping sequel: No One Promised Me Tomorrow