Emily Barr - Headline Publishing Group

Emily Barr



Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.
Headline Review

Blackout (Quick Reads 2014)

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off...Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr presents The Sleeper, a shocking psychological thriller where infidelity puts Lara in great danger. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah. 'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' - Closer Lara Finch is living a lie...Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair.When Lara vanishes from the night train without leaving a trace, only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets.For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her...What readers are saying about The Sleeper:'You become so enthralled and hooked that you cannot possibly put the book down until you have reached its conclusion''Spell-binding''A fantastic thriller that kept me awake for hours and is still playing in my head like a movie'

Headline Review

Stranded

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Life You Want

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The First Wife

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Plan B

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Atlantic Shift

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Baggage

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Too much to take? Just leave it all behind... British travel writer and novelist Emily Barr transports readers to the Australian outback in Baggage, an unputdownable thriller about leaving it all behind. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell. 'Mixing girly infighting with insightful travellers' observations and the joys of motherhood, Barr certainly knows how to spin a yarn' - Guardian At eighteen, your closest friend commits suicide. At twenty-nine, you're backpacking in the Australian outback when you see her. She has a husband. She has a ten-year-old son. She has a baby on the way. She claims to be someone else. But you'd recognise her anywhere. Back in England you tell your journalist boyfriend. While he never knew her, he always knew of her - her name is Daisy Fraser and she was awaiting trial over the deaths of four people when she jumped off the Severn Bridge. He thinks: This could be the scoop of the century. He says: Happy Christmas - I'm taking you to Australia to find Daisy.What readers are saying about Baggage:'Gripping from start to finish and oh-so-credible' 'Truly brilliant read and one I couldn't put down' 'Another cracking novel with clever writing and fab characters... I was reading way into the night!'

Headline Review

The Sisterhood

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Out of my Depth

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Cuban Heels

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Backpack

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Sometimes travelling alone can be murder...Emily Barr transports readers to a sinister, dangerous South East Asia in Backpack. Escaping the downward spiral of her London life, Tansy gets more adventure than she bargained for. The perfect read for fans of Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks. 'Barr's debut comes as a blast of fresh air' - Sunday ExpressTansy has to escape from her London life. She's desperate to get away from her media job, her coke habit, her dead mother and her selfish boyfriend. But she finds travelling through Asia more smelly than romantic and, besides, she's missing her boyfriend. However she is determined not to give in, give up or go home. As she travels further east she begins to enjoy her journey - until murder starts to follow her and the trip becomes much more adventurous than she had anticipated.What readers are saying about Backpack:'A deep and thoughtful exploration of two journeys - psychological and literal''Fantastically written, there are many observations that ring true to anyone who's ever been globetrotting. Add a chilling thriller into the equation and you've got one mind-blowing read' 'A page-turningly good plot, with an intelligent viewpoint on travellers, politics and human relationships'

Headline Review

The Perfect Lie

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Ever needed to disappear?Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr transports readers to Venice for a dark journey as Lucy escapes her dangerous past. The Perfect Lie will enthral fans of Lucy Atkins and Paula Daly.'One of the most compelling page-turners around' - B Magazine For Lucy Riddick, Venice has always been the dream destination. A dream inspired by the pretty picture pinned to her mother's kitchen wall. To Lucy, Venice seems the ideal place to lose herself. And now she needs to do just that. The secret she's been keeping from her boyfriend and her friends has finally caught up with her and Lucy needs to disappear - and fast. There's no better time to pack her bags and head for Italy. But what if, when she sets foot in Venice, Lucy finds that the one thing she has been running from, the one thing she has been trying to escape, is already there, lying in wait for her? Time to run away again? Or time to end the chase, once and for all?What readers are saying about The Perfect Lie:'Gripped me from start to finish''Emily Barr has the knack of portraying settings vividly and makes you feel as if you are there. A great escapist read!''Amazing, incredibly written, fascinating and truly addictive'