Emily Barr - Headline Publishing Group

Emily Barr



Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.
Headline Review

Blackout (Quick Reads 2014)

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Stranded

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The First Wife

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

His first wife was everything you're not. But was she everything she seemed?Lily, a young woman left alone in the world on the death of her grandparents, finds purpose when she befriends Harry Summers, a grieving widower, whose wife Sarah recently took her own life in Barcelona. The pair fall in love and Lily finally finds the security she has never had. But Lily's life takes a darker turn when she realises there may be more to Sarah's death than meets the eye. Anxious to find the truth before she marries her beloved Harry, Lily sets off to Barcelona in search of answers. What she discovers is more shocking than she could ever have imagined...

Headline Review

Plan B

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Sisterhood

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

We all have a dark side...Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr grips readers with her witty and wicked thriller The Sisterhood. The perfect read for fans of Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks. 'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' - Closer Elizabeth Greene is devastated when her boyfriend of ten years leaves her for someone else. After a night of drowning her sorrows leads to an unexpected one-night stand, Elizabeth finds herself pregnant, alone and vulnerable. Helen has just discovered she has a sister she didn't know she had. Bored with her privileged life in France and driven by a need to gain her parents' approval, Helen sets out to find her sister and reunite her with her long-lost mother. When her search leads her to Elizabeth the two women become closely linked. But their connection to one another is founded on a dark deception, with the truth having extreme consequences...What readers are saying about The Sisterhood:'Eerie and suspenseful, the timing is perfect and the pages are turned ever-faster as the story reaches it's very unexpected conclusion''Witty and dark and impossible to put down''Utterly absorbing and creepily enjoyable'

Headline Review

Out of my Depth

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Perfect Lie

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Life You Want

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Atlantic Shift

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Gorgeous, world-famous cellist Evie Silverman is classical-lite through and through. Real musicians despise her. Her talent has been promoted way beyond its value because - apparently - everyone loves a blonde girl in lipstick who can do interesting things between her thighs. She's played for the President of the United States. She's played at No 10 Downing Street. And tonight she's playing for Royalty.But tonight she's also going to change her life. Tonight she's going to leave her husband. Tonight, for the first time in fifteen years, she's going to stand on her own two feet. For tomorrow begins her new life - starting with a trip to New York.It all too soon becomes apparent that breaking the rules - and escaping from your past - isn't what it's cracked up to be...

Headline Review

Cuban Heels

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Maggie moves to Brighton after splitting up with her long-term boyfriend, and, unable to find a job, starts work as a lapdancer. Failing to make any new friends, she writes letters compulsively, and the highlight of her day is the sound of the morning post being delivered. Maggie gradually becomes obsessed with the married couple, Libby and David, living next door. Libby has given up work after having a baby, and is finding life as a full-time mother very difficult. Just as she persuades David that she should return to work, he is asked to take a sabbatical from his management-consultant job. He's always longed to travel, and convinces Libby that they should spend six months in Cuba, learning Spanish. Maggie, deciding she too wants to travel, follows them to Havana, where the horrors of her past - in particular her young sister's violent death - begin to haunt her. And as Maggie starts to break down, she tries to take over Libby's life...

Headline Review

Baggage

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

At eighteen, your closest friend commits suicide.At twenty-nine, you're backpacking in the Australian outback when you see her. She has a husband. She has a ten-year-old son. She has a baby on the way. She claims to be someone else. But you'd recognise her anywhere.Back in England you tell your journalist boyfriend. While he never knew her, he always knew of her - her name is Daisy Fraser and she was awaiting trial over the deaths of four people when she jumped off the Severn Bridge. He thinks: This could be the scoop of the century. He says: Happy Christmas - I'm taking you to Australia to find Daisy.

Headline Review

Backpack

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Tansy has to escape from her London life. She's desperate to get away from her media job, her coke habit, her dead mother and her selfish boyfriend. But she finds travelling through Asia more smelly than romantic and, besides, she's missing her boyfriend. However, she is determined not to give in, give up or go home. As she travels further east she begins to enjoy her journey - until murder starts to follow her and the trip becomes much more adventurous than she had anticipated.