Emily Barr - Headline Publishing Group

Emily Barr



Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.
Headline Review

Blackout (Quick Reads 2014)

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

You wake up in Paris. No money. No memory. No Child...Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr's chilling Quick Read Blackout is nail-bitingly good. The perfect read for fans of Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. You wake up in a strange room, with no idea how you got there.You are abroad, in a city you have never visited before.You have no money, no passport, no phone.And there is no sign of your baby.What do you do?What readers are saying about Blackout:'Super little mystery that had me stumped for most of it''The underlying story is one of substance, both clever and sad - a story that doesn't disappoint' 'Fast-paced, gripping read with lots of unexpected turns'

Headline Review

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Stranded

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

'A real page-turner with a plot twist worthy of Lost' - Cosmopolitan Bruised from the breakdown of her marriage, Esther Lomax needs to get away, and Malaysia's unspoilt shores seem the perfect place. But a day's boat trip takes a desperate turn when Esther and six other holidaymakers are taken to a desert island and their guide does not return. The group have no way of getting back to the mainland and know nothing about each other. As the days pass, tensions erupt, secrets emerge and time increasingly runs out, and Esther must ask herself the ultimate question: will she leave the island alive?What readers are saying about Stranded:'A brilliant book - Emily Barr at her best' 'I lost a good night's sleep as I really had to keep reading''A superb novel with a sinister twist'

Headline Review

The Life You Want

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Emily Barr presents the gripping sequel to the critically acclaimed Backpack...The Life You Want is an unputdownable read proving the grass is always greener on the other side. The perfect read for fans of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah.Ever wish you could just leave it all behind again?Tansy feels trapped in her marriage to Max, and the looks she receives from parents in the playground suggest she's not doing a great job at being a mother to her two sons either. So Tansy decides to take a trip to India, to visit an old friend and sort her head out. But life is about to get a whole lot more complicated, and as she uncovers a shocking secret, she begins to long for the normality of family life...What readers are saying about The Life You Want:'Addictive read - I would recommend it to anyone''A great follow up to Backpack and I loved it''Pure escapism with a fantastic twist'

Headline Review

The First Wife

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Plan B

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

Atlantic Shift

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Is it really necessary to go halfway round the world to find the real you?Bestselling author Emily Barr transports readers to New York City in Atlantic Shift as world-famous Evie attempts to start a new life for herself. The perfect read for fans of Dorothy Koomson and Lisa Jewell.'Superb characterisation and edgy style' - Glasgow Daily RecordGorgeous, world-famous cellist Evie Silverman is classicalite through and through. Real musicians despise her. Her talent has been promoted way beyond its value because - apparently - everyone loves a blonde girl in lipstick who can do interesting things between her thighs. She's played for the President of the United States. She's played at No. 10 Downing Street. And tonight she's playing for Royalty. But tonight she's also going to change her life. Tonight she's going to leave her husband. Tonight, for the first time in fifteen years, she's going to stand on her own two feet. For tomorrow begins her new life - starting with a trip to New York. It all too soon becomes apparent that breaking the rules - and escaping from your past - isn't what it's cracked up to be...What readers are saying about Atlantic Shift:'A real page-turner''The story of figuring out what's important in life is really relatable''Gripping story with a fantastic twist'

Headline Review

Baggage

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Too much to take? Just leave it all behind... British travel writer and novelist Emily Barr transports readers to the Australian outback in Baggage, an unputdownable thriller about leaving it all behind. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell. 'Mixing girly infighting with insightful travellers' observations and the joys of motherhood, Barr certainly knows how to spin a yarn' - Guardian At eighteen, your closest friend commits suicide. At twenty-nine, you're backpacking in the Australian outback when you see her. She has a husband. She has a ten-year-old son. She has a baby on the way. She claims to be someone else. But you'd recognise her anywhere. Back in England you tell your journalist boyfriend. While he never knew her, he always knew of her - her name is Daisy Fraser and she was awaiting trial over the deaths of four people when she jumped off the Severn Bridge. He thinks: This could be the scoop of the century. He says: Happy Christmas - I'm taking you to Australia to find Daisy.What readers are saying about Baggage:'Gripping from start to finish and oh-so-credible' 'Truly brilliant read and one I couldn't put down' 'Another cracking novel with clever writing and fab characters... I was reading way into the night!'

Headline Review

The Sisterhood

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

We all have a dark side...Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr grips readers with her witty and wicked thriller The Sisterhood. The perfect read for fans of Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks. 'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' - Closer Elizabeth Greene is devastated when her boyfriend of ten years leaves her for someone else. After a night of drowning her sorrows leads to an unexpected one-night stand, Elizabeth finds herself pregnant, alone and vulnerable. Helen has just discovered she has a sister she didn't know she had. Bored with her privileged life in France and driven by a need to gain her parents' approval, Helen sets out to find her sister and reunite her with her long-lost mother. When her search leads her to Elizabeth the two women become closely linked. But their connection to one another is founded on a dark deception, with the truth having extreme consequences...What readers are saying about The Sisterhood:'Eerie and suspenseful, the timing is perfect and the pages are turned ever-faster as the story reaches it's very unexpected conclusion''Witty and dark and impossible to put down''Utterly absorbing and creepily enjoyable'

Headline Review

Out of my Depth

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

When old school friends get together it's supposed to be a laugh - but not when you've got something to hide...Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr digs up the past for four school friends when they reunite in France. Out of my Depth is a tale of friends and 'frenemies' with dark secrets - perfect for fans of Sam Baker and Samantha Hayes. 'Sleep-sabotagingly moreish' - Cosmopolitan When Susie decides to invite her old school friends for a reunion she tells herself that it's just about showing off. It's about letting Amanda, Izzy and Tamsin, see how well she's done, with her successful career as an artist, her gorgeous house in France, her deliciously louche boyfriend. But the truth is that this is a dark plan. A plan that could make or break her seemingly perfect life...and she knows it. As the old friends gather at Susie's for a long weekend of catching up and comparisons, it is clear that despite their lives having taken very different turns, they are all still haunted by a dark and common past. They each know that up until now they have been treading water -- waiting for the inevitable moment when they have to face the truth. The question is, now that the time has come, who will sink and who will swim?What readers are saying about Out of my Depth:'Another fantastic read from a fantastic author''Barr's clever plotting and observant descriptions mean that you easily get involved in the lives of everyone in the book''Takes some very unexpected twists and turns'

Headline Review

Cuban Heels

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Bored with your life? Steal someone else's...Bestselling author Emily Barr transports readers from Brighton to Cuba in Cuban Heels as Maggie becomes increasingly obsessed with the married couple next door. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish's thrillers and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door. 'A warmly engaging novel of genuine quality' - Publishing News Maggie moves to Brighton after splitting up with her long-term boyfriend, and, unable to find a job, starts work as a lapdancer. Failing to make any new friends, she writes letters compulsively, and the highlight of her day is the sound of the morning post being delivered. Maggie gradually becomes obsessed with the married couple, Libby and David, living next door. Libby has given up work after having a baby, and is finding life as a full-time mother very difficult. Just as she persuades David that she should return to work, he is asked to take a sabbatical from his management-consultant job. He's always longed to travel, and convinces Libby that they should spend six months in Cuba, learning Spanish. Maggie, deciding she too wants to travel, follows them to Havana, where the horrors of her past - in particular her young sister's violent death - begin to haunt her. And as Maggie starts to break down, she tries to take over Libby's life...What readers are saying about Cuban Heels:'I couldn't put this down''Emily Barr writes beautifully and I could really feel Maggie's emotions throughout the book. A truly enthralling read''Spot-on eye for the contradictions and compromises in the lives of twenty-first century westerners, excellent but unobtrusive travel writing and compelling plot'

Headline Review

Backpack

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr
Headline Review

The Perfect Lie

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

Ever needed to disappear?Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr transports readers to Venice for a dark journey as Lucy escapes her dangerous past. The Perfect Lie will enthral fans of Lucy Atkins and Paula Daly.'One of the most compelling page-turners around' - B Magazine For Lucy Riddick, Venice has always been the dream destination. A dream inspired by the pretty picture pinned to her mother's kitchen wall. To Lucy, Venice seems the ideal place to lose herself. And now she needs to do just that. The secret she's been keeping from her boyfriend and her friends has finally caught up with her and Lucy needs to disappear - and fast. There's no better time to pack her bags and head for Italy. But what if, when she sets foot in Venice, Lucy finds that the one thing she has been running from, the one thing she has been trying to escape, is already there, lying in wait for her? Time to run away again? Or time to end the chase, once and for all?What readers are saying about The Perfect Lie:'Gripped me from start to finish''Emily Barr has the knack of portraying settings vividly and makes you feel as if you are there. A great escapist read!''Amazing, incredibly written, fascinating and truly addictive'