Alex Rutherford - Headline Publishing Group
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

TRAITORS IN THE SHADOWS is the sixth gripping novel in the action-packed Empire of the Moghul series by Alex Rutherford, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Robyn Young. 'Totally absorbing... Authentic characters and sweeping action' Wilbur SmithA dynasty at warA new emperor, Aurangzeb, sits on India's glittering Peacock Throne - the throne he seized from his father while the old emperor still lived. He has paid for it with blood: during the brutal civil war he hunted down and killed his brothers. Now he must return the Moghul Empire to the true path and achieve new glory. But the exercise of great power is isolating. With enemies everywhere, who should he trust? Certainly not his sons. He must rely on himself and the knowledge that there are more ways to subdue a man than on the battlefield.But as the years pass memories haunt him - memories of a father who never loved him and a mother who lies in the Taj Mahal; of murdered brothers and of sons and daughters locked in sunless prisons. He tells himself that everything he has done has been necessary - moral, even. But how will his God judge him?

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Tainted Throne

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **What could be more fascinating to read about than the rise of a great empire?'A totally absorbing narrative filled with authentic historical characters and sweeping action set in an age of horrifying but magnificent savagery. The writing is as compelling as the events described and kept me eagerly leaping from one page to the next' Wilbur SmithAlex Rutherford's Empire of the Moghul series tells the bloody, brutal and compelling story of the Moghul Emperors of Central Asia in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Now, in the fourth Moghul novel, we begin to see the Empire's self-destruction; a dazzling and compelling story of paternal control, filial betrayl, envy, doubt and conspiracy.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **Keep your enemies close, and your sons closer...The story of the third great Moghul Emperor, Akbar, leader of a triumphant dynasty which contained the seeds of its own destruction.Akbar, ruler of a sixth of the world's people, colossally rich and utterly ruthless, was a contemporary of Elizabeth I, but infinitely more powerful. His reign began in bloodshed when he strangled his treacherous 'milk-brother', but it ended in glory. Akbar extended his rule over much of Asia, skillfully commanding tens of thousands of men, elephants and innovative technology, yet despite the unimaginable bloodshed which resulted his empire was based on universal religious tolerance.However, Akbar's homelife was more complicated. He defied family, nobles and mullahs to marry a beautiful Rajput princess, whose people he had conquered; but she hated Akbar and turned Salim, his eldest son, against him. What's more, as any Moghul prince could inherit his father's crown and become Emperor, his sons were brought up to be intensely competitive and suspicious of each other: to see eachother as rivals for the greatest prize of all. And, as Salim grew to manhood, the relationship between father and son became tainted by rebellion and competition to be the greatest Moghul of them all.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Brothers at War

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Raiders From the North

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **The first book in the Empire of the Moghul series: chronicling the rise and fall of the Moghul rulers of India, beginning with Babur who swept in from Central Asia to found one of the most powerful dynasties in history.1494, and the new ruler of Ferghana, twelve-year-old Babur, faces a seemingly impossible challenge. Babur is determined to equal his great ancestor, Tamburlaine, whose conquests stretched from Delhi to the Mediterranean, from wealthy Persia to the wild Volga. But he is dangerously young to inherit a crown and treasonous plots, tribal rivalries, rampaging armies and ruthlessly ambitious enemies will threaten his destiny, his kingdom, even his survival.