Julia Keller - Headline Publishing Group

Julia Keller



Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005. Her first novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, was highly acclaimed is also available from Headline.
Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins, Book 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Karin Slaughter has called Julia Keller 'a rare talent' and Dennis Lehane has praised her 'remarkable writing'. Now Bell Elkins returns. His body was found mutilated on the outskirts of the town he was there to help. Who killed him and why?A high-end resort being built on the outskirts of Acker's Gap, West Virginia, a town desperate for jobs and prosperity, should have been welcome. But following the Buffalo Creek disaster of 1972, where a coal company's mistake tragically claimed the lives of many Raythune County's citizens, opinions and tensions are running high. When Ed Hackel, Mountain Magic's marketing manager, is found brutally murdered, suspicion quickly falls on Royce Dillard. An acknowledged loner orphaned by the disaster, Dillard had made his opposition clear by refusing to sell a parcel of his land deemed critical by the developers for access to the resort. With all evidence pointing to Dillard, Bell Elkins, the County's prosecuting attorney, feels she has no choice but to charge him. When a person dies his last ragged breath always tells the truth -- but is the truth always what it seems to be?

Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Can Bell protect the innocent?Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'A beautiful writer' - Michael Connelly Attorney Bell Elkins' days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse - children born to mothers addicted to painkillers - is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science - for all of its marvels - cannot: a simple human touch.One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots''Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

It starts as another day. But sometimes one day changes everything...Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner author Julia Keller, faces one of her most challenging days in this exclusive digital short story. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning MankellFor Bell Elkins no day is ever the same.But on this day, for the third day running, Bell has woken up from the same dream. A dream about a boy needing her help, reaching out to her. Bell, always unable to help.Already unsettled she becomes embroiled, in her role as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, in an investigation into a couple running a local day-care centre, and Bell suspects that her day is only going to get worse. A suspicion that is compounded when she's forced to confront a friend's treachery and a ghost from her past.No day is ever the same, but will Bell be forever changed by this one?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Real life flows from the pages of Julia Keller''A novel that wraps you in its spell''Five stars'

Headline

A Haunting of the Bones (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

As the heat rises, they must face the danger to come...Julia Keller brings us Summer of the Dead, the third novel to feature the intrepid Bell Elkins. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning Mankell. 'A suspenseful, superbly executed plot that displays a depth rarely seen in mystery fiction' - BooklistThe first death came unexpectedly. An old man attacked outside his home, his murder a shock to the town. Then the second death came and with it fear.For Raythune County's prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, the inexplicable killings in Acker's Gap are all she can think about. Everything - the oppressive summer heat, her absent daughter, her troublesome sister - fades into the background as she tries to work out who is responsible.As tensions escalate, and suspects begin to emerge, Bell will have to face demons from her own past as she comes head-to-head with a killer bent on destroying all those who stand in their way...What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots''A compelling read''Five stars'

Headline

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Concealed beneath the water, her body wants to be found...Bell Elkins returns in Bitter River, the gripping second instalment from Pulitzer prize winner Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'Julia Keller's lyrical and evocative prose in Bitter River propels the novel until all you can do is hang on until the final page. Her sense of place is spot-on and bittersweet' - C.J. Box Acker's Gap, West Virginia: a high-school student - sixteen, full of promise, and pregnant - is found murdered in a car at the bottom of the Bitter River. Her death devastates the community, but one among them must be responsible. Bell Elkins, Raythune County's prosecuting attorney, is determined to bring the killer to justice.But someone else has their own agenda. Amid the shadow of the Appalachian Mountains, another act of violence is about to strike. As Bell and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong work to uncover the truth, one thing is certain: no one can truly understand Acker's Gap until they are in the thick of it.Bell returned to her hometown to make a difference. But just how much is she willing to risk?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller creates brilliant characters''Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Five stars'

Headline

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

In a town ravaged by deception, can one woman make a difference?From Pulitzer-prize winner Julia Keller comes A Killing in the Hills, the first in a series featuring prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, set in the beautiful, crime-ridden town of Acker's Gap. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.'A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap' - Laura LippmanNestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, visitors see only Acker's Gap's stunning natural beauty. But for those living there it's a different story. The mountain roads harbour secret places, perfect for making the prescription drugs that tempt its desperately poor.Bell Elkins left a broken teenager, savaged by a past she couldn't forget. But, as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, Bell is back and determined to help clean up the only home she has ever known.As winter sets in and her daughter is witness to a shocking triple murder, Bell finds her family in danger. Can she uncover the truth before her world is destroyed again?What readers are saying about A Killing in the Hills:'A mesmerizing book''The intertwined plots play out against a beautiful portrayal of this rural area, a wonderfully conveyed portrait''I am an avid thriller reader and in my opinion this ranks among the best of them'