Julia Keller - Headline Publishing Group

Julia Keller



Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005. Her first novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, was highly acclaimed is also available from Headline.
Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Can Bell protect the innocent?Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'A beautiful writer' - Michael Connelly Attorney Bell Elkins' days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse - children born to mothers addicted to painkillers - is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science - for all of its marvels - cannot: a simple human touch.One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots''Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins, Book 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

It starts as another day. But sometimes one day changes everything...Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner author Julia Keller, faces one of her most challenging days in this exclusive digital short story. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning MankellFor Bell Elkins no day is ever the same.But on this day, for the third day running, Bell has woken up from the same dream. A dream about a boy needing her help, reaching out to her. Bell, always unable to help.Already unsettled she becomes embroiled, in her role as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, in an investigation into a couple running a local day-care centre, and Bell suspects that her day is only going to get worse. A suspicion that is compounded when she's forced to confront a friend's treachery and a ghost from her past.No day is ever the same, but will Bell be forever changed by this one?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Real life flows from the pages of Julia Keller''A novel that wraps you in its spell''Five stars'

Headline

A Haunting of the Bones (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

In a small town, everybody is next of kin to everybody else.When a local high-school student - sixteen, promising and pregnant - is found murdered in a car in Bitter River, the hunt is on to find her killer. Prosecuting Attorney for Raythune County Bell Elkins is on the case, and determined to bring justice for the girl whose death devastates the whole population of Acker's Gap. But there are even more sinister events taking place in the isolated West Virginia town, and in the shadow of the Appalachian Mountains the strength of small community ties is tested by catastrophe. As Bell and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong set about uncovering the truth behind the violence shaking the area, one thing is for certain: no outsider can fully understand the power of the bond between inhabitants of Acker's Gap.The brilliant sequel to A KILLING IN THE HILLS, BITTER RIVER is an electrifying thriller, which throws a devastating light on an America that is often forgotten.(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller