Julia Keller - Headline Publishing Group

Julia Keller



Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005. Her first novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, was highly acclaimed is also available from Headline.
Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins, Book 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

It starts as another day. But sometimes one day changes everything...Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner author Julia Keller, faces one of her most challenging days in this exclusive digital short story. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning MankellFor Bell Elkins no day is ever the same.But on this day, for the third day running, Bell has woken up from the same dream. A dream about a boy needing her help, reaching out to her. Bell, always unable to help.Already unsettled she becomes embroiled, in her role as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, in an investigation into a couple running a local day-care centre, and Bell suspects that her day is only going to get worse. A suspicion that is compounded when she's forced to confront a friend's treachery and a ghost from her past.No day is ever the same, but will Bell be forever changed by this one?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Real life flows from the pages of Julia Keller''A novel that wraps you in its spell''Five stars'

Headline

A Haunting of the Bones (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

What do you do when the past comes knocking?Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner Julia Keller, takes on her most personal case yet in exclusive digital novella A Haunting of the Bones. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.Teresa Dolan's disappearance was never reported to the police. Because no one but her young daughters thought it was suspicious. And her abusive husband Donnie certainly didn't want the police hanging around.Bell Elkins and her sister Shirley grew up thinking their father had murdered their mother. But, with no body, no police involvement and no proof, justice was never served.Forty years later Bell's life has settled into a distorted rhythm. Then she receives a phone call that shatters her world.Human remains have been found in the scrubland just outside town. And they belong to her mother.What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller makes her characters come alive on the page''Outstanding''Five stars'

Headline

Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Concealed beneath the water, her body wants to be found...Bell Elkins returns in Bitter River, the gripping second instalment from Pulitzer prize winner Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'Julia Keller's lyrical and evocative prose in Bitter River propels the novel until all you can do is hang on until the final page. Her sense of place is spot-on and bittersweet' - C.J. Box Acker's Gap, West Virginia: a high-school student - sixteen, full of promise, and pregnant - is found murdered in a car at the bottom of the Bitter River. Her death devastates the community, but one among them must be responsible. Bell Elkins, Raythune County's prosecuting attorney, is determined to bring the killer to justice.But someone else has their own agenda. Amid the shadow of the Appalachian Mountains, another act of violence is about to strike. As Bell and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong work to uncover the truth, one thing is certain: no one can truly understand Acker's Gap until they are in the thick of it.Bell returned to her hometown to make a difference. But just how much is she willing to risk?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller creates brilliant characters''Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Five stars'

Headline

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

In a town ravaged by deception, can one woman make a difference?From Pulitzer-prize winner Julia Keller comes A Killing in the Hills, the first in a series featuring prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, set in the beautiful, crime-ridden town of Acker's Gap. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.'A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap' - Laura LippmanNestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, visitors see only Acker's Gap's stunning natural beauty. But for those living there it's a different story. The mountain roads harbour secret places, perfect for making the prescription drugs that tempt its desperately poor.Bell Elkins left a broken teenager, savaged by a past she couldn't forget. But, as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, Bell is back and determined to help clean up the only home she has ever known.As winter sets in and her daughter is witness to a shocking triple murder, Bell finds her family in danger. Can she uncover the truth before her world is destroyed again?What readers are saying about A Killing in the Hills:'A mesmerizing book''The intertwined plots play out against a beautiful portrayal of this rural area, a wonderfully conveyed portrait''I am an avid thriller reader and in my opinion this ranks among the best of them'