Julia Keller - Headline Publishing Group

Julia Keller



Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005. Her first novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, was highly acclaimed is also available from Headline.
Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Can Bell protect the innocent?Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'A beautiful writer' - Michael Connelly Attorney Bell Elkins' days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse - children born to mothers addicted to painkillers - is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science - for all of its marvels - cannot: a simple human touch.One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots''Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins, Book 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

A Haunting of the Bones (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

What do you do when the past comes knocking?Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner Julia Keller, takes on her most personal case yet in exclusive digital novella A Haunting of the Bones. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.Teresa Dolan's disappearance was never reported to the police. Because no one but her young daughters thought it was suspicious. And her abusive husband Donnie certainly didn't want the police hanging around.Bell Elkins and her sister Shirley grew up thinking their father had murdered their mother. But, with no body, no police involvement and no proof, justice was never served.Forty years later Bell's life has settled into a distorted rhythm. Then she receives a phone call that shatters her world.Human remains have been found in the scrubland just outside town. And they belong to her mother.What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller makes her characters come alive on the page''Outstanding''Five stars'

Headline

Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

In a town ravaged by deception, can one woman make a difference?From Pulitzer-prize winner Julia Keller comes A Killing in the Hills, the first in a series featuring prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, set in the beautiful, crime-ridden town of Acker's Gap. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.'A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap' - Laura LippmanNestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, visitors see only Acker's Gap's stunning natural beauty. But for those living there it's a different story. The mountain roads harbour secret places, perfect for making the prescription drugs that tempt its desperately poor.Bell Elkins left a broken teenager, savaged by a past she couldn't forget. But, as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, Bell is back and determined to help clean up the only home she has ever known.As winter sets in and her daughter is witness to a shocking triple murder, Bell finds her family in danger. Can she uncover the truth before her world is destroyed again?What readers are saying about A Killing in the Hills:'A mesmerizing book''The intertwined plots play out against a beautiful portrayal of this rural area, a wonderfully conveyed portrait''I am an avid thriller reader and in my opinion this ranks among the best of them'