Julia Keller - Headline Publishing Group

Julia Keller



Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005. Her first novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, was highly acclaimed is also available from Headline.
Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Can Bell protect the innocent?Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'A beautiful writer' - Michael Connelly Attorney Bell Elkins' days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse - children born to mothers addicted to painkillers - is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science - for all of its marvels - cannot: a simple human touch.One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots''Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins, Book 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

One man with the power to forever alter a town's destiny. But how far will he go to secure his own?Bell Elkins returns in Last Ragged Breath, the fourth electrifying thriller from acclaimed author Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.'A gripping, beautifully crafted murder-mystery' - Scott TurowA high-end resort being built on the outskirts of Acker's Gap, West Virginia, a town desperate for jobs and prosperity, should have been welcome. But following the Buffalo Creek disaster of 1972, where a coal company's mistake tragically claimed the lives of many Raythune County's citizens, opinions and tensions are running high.When Ed Hackel, Mountain Magic's marketing manager, is found brutally murdered, suspicion quickly falls on Royce Dillard. An acknowledged loner orphaned by the disaster, Dillard had made his opposition clear by refusing to sell a parcel of his land deemed critical by the developers for access to the resort. With all evidence pointing to Dillard, Bell Elkins, the County's prosecuting attorney, feels she has no choice but to charge him. When a person dies his last ragged breath always tells the truth -- but is the truth always what it seems to be?What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:'Well-written, interest-grabbing, ingenious mystery' 'Twists and turns galore!''Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

A Haunting of the Bones (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

What do you do when the past comes knocking?Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine from Pulitzer Prize winner Julia Keller, takes on her most personal case yet in exclusive digital novella A Haunting of the Bones. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.Teresa Dolan's disappearance was never reported to the police. Because no one but her young daughters thought it was suspicious. And her abusive husband Donnie certainly didn't want the police hanging around.Bell Elkins and her sister Shirley grew up thinking their father had murdered their mother. But, with no body, no police involvement and no proof, justice was never served.Forty years later Bell's life has settled into a distorted rhythm. Then she receives a phone call that shatters her world.Human remains have been found in the scrubland just outside town. And they belong to her mother.What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller makes her characters come alive on the page''Outstanding''Five stars'

Headline

Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Concealed beneath the water, her body wants to be found...Bell Elkins returns in Bitter River, the gripping second instalment from Pulitzer prize winner Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay. 'Julia Keller's lyrical and evocative prose in Bitter River propels the novel until all you can do is hang on until the final page. Her sense of place is spot-on and bittersweet' - C.J. Box Acker's Gap, West Virginia: a high-school student - sixteen, full of promise, and pregnant - is found murdered in a car at the bottom of the Bitter River. Her death devastates the community, but one among them must be responsible. Bell Elkins, Raythune County's prosecuting attorney, is determined to bring the killer to justice.But someone else has their own agenda. Amid the shadow of the Appalachian Mountains, another act of violence is about to strike. As Bell and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong work to uncover the truth, one thing is certain: no one can truly understand Acker's Gap until they are in the thick of it.Bell returned to her hometown to make a difference. But just how much is she willing to risk?What readers are saying about Julia Keller:'Julia Keller creates brilliant characters''Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together''Five stars'

Headline

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller