Marcia Willett - Headline Publishing Group

Marcia Willett



Marcia Willett was born in Somerset, the youngest of five girls. After training to become a ballet dancer, she joined her sister's Dance Academy as ballet mistress. She then became a naval wife and her son was born in 1970. She now lives in Devon with her husband, Rodney, who first encouraged Marcia to write, and their Newfoundland, Trubshawe.
Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Chadwick siblings will always have a place to call home... Marcia Willett presents a sensitive, compassionate and deeply moving story in Winning Through, the third novel in the Chadwick Family Chronicles. The perfect read for fans of Erica James and Liz Fenwick. 'Fans will love this story for its absorbing insight into character and rich evocation of local settings' - South Hams Gazette It's nearly thirty years since the Chadwick siblings arrived from Kenya at The Keep in Devon to live with their grandmother Freddy. And while much has altered since in their lives, The Keep remains a sanctuary for the whole family; warm, unchanging, filled with love. Now mistress of The Keep, Fliss finds it hard to fill the place of her beloved grandmother, especially when she has so many doubts in her life. Mole has settled into his second family, the Navy. And Susanna, always the baby, is now a wife and mother herself. But whatever challenges they face, the family know that the house will always be ready to welcome them home.What readers are saying about Winning Through:'Ms Willett has given her characters such depth and their lives such texture that you feel that you are reading about real people''Beautifully written and emotive, with tragedy and delight clearly interwoven''Wonderful description of scenery which I was able to visualise immediately'

Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead... The Courtyard is a sensitive and compassionate story of an invaluable friendship that helps see two women through a time of crisis. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'She may not be as famous as Binchy or Pilcher but British writer Willett is just as gifted' - Booklist Nell Woodward and Gussie Merton make unlikely friends - one a young married woman and the other a lonely elderly lady. Nell's husband, John, is an estate agent fresh from the Navy, but he is ignorant of the outside world and, as others abandon the collapsing property market, he gets in deeper...It is at Nethercombe, the home of Gussie's nephew, Henry, that a refuge is found. Henry has developed and sold a cluster of cottages, known as The Courtyard, and the people who buy them form a bond of friendship that embraces Nell and Gussie. But it is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead...What readers are saying about The Courtyard:'Her [Marcia Willett's] writing is crisp, fresh and very vivid and her characters are so ALIVE''Enjoyable and believable characters, simple storyline and wonderful description of the Devonshire countryside and surrounds''Engrossing'

Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Keep must remain in the family... Holding On is the stunning second novel in Marcia Willett's Chadwick Family chronicles set in Devonshire. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Fern Britton. Over the years, the magnificent Keep in Devon has provided a bolt hole for the Chadwick family. Now the five young cousins who grew up there have left home and their grandmother Freddy wonders anxiously whether she will live to see the arrival of the next generation. No matter what happens to them, she knows that The Keep must remain within the family, ready and waiting for their return.What readers are saying about Holding On:'The author is a genius at portraying characters and I felt I knew them personally very early on''The story of the Chadwick family is so compelling and I just couldn't put it down''Marcia Willett writes in such a way that you want to be part of this family'

Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Second Time Around

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

One beautiful home, four unfamiliar faces...Marcia Willett's uplifting novel Second Time Around tells the tale of three cousins who are brought together, each in desperate need of a sense of belonging. The perfect read for fans of Liz Fenwick and Harriet Evans. When Mathilda Rainbird bequeaths her beautiful house in a Devonshire cove to three unknown relatives, she brings together a group of people who all secretly yearn for a sense of belonging. Tessa, a delightful twenty-two-year-old, still misses her dead parents and brother but has learned that it is better to be alone than to be with the wrong people. Will, a retired widow, is by nature a positive man. Enchanted by Mathilda's house and drawn to Isobel, Mathilda's housekeeper who still lives in the cove, he sees life taking an exciting turn. Beatrice, a retired prep-school matron, thinks the idea of living with her cousins is preposterous. But a magical Christmas spent in the cove soon wins her over. As they muck in together it is as though they have known each other all their lives. Isobel, who still grieves for her dear friend, recognises Mathilda in each one of them as she is warmly accepted as part of this delightful and truly extraordinary family.What readers are saying about Second Time Around:'The descriptions of place and time are stunning''By the time you finish, the characters have become close friends and you can hardly bear to say goodbye. You shared their grief and moments of happiness - that almost certainly means that you have both cried and laughed''A wonderful setting'

Headline

Forgotten Laughter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Hattie's Mill

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The renovation of a mill shows how lives too can be rebuilt... Marcia Willett's charming novel Hattie's Mill is the tale of Hattie Weatherall, breaking free of convention and starting again, forming lasting friendships along the way. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or email them to keep in touch' - Rocky Mountain News Hattie Weatherall's heart leapt when she first saw Abbot's Mill, and with her dog and an assortment of wild fowl for company she sets about renovating the mill. Sarah Farley feels a pang of envy for Hattie's freedom. For over twenty years, Sarah has tolerated her husband's infidelities - and her love for him is about to be tested again... As Hattie settles into life at the mill, she befriends two young boatmen. Toby is recovering from a broken marriage and, when he has another chance at happiness, Hattie is glad welcome his new family into the fold. Joss's problems are not so easily solved, but when he turns to Hattie for help, the motherly love that blossoms in her heart enables them both to heal old wounds...What readers are saying about Hattie's Mill:'She [Marcia Willett] has a gift for writing and her books are a delight to read''Beautifully written''The characters come to life and the plots are very carefully worked out and totally believable'

Headline

Looking Forward (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 1)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett