Marcia Willett - Headline Publishing Group

Marcia Willett



Marcia Willett was born in Somerset, the youngest of five girls. After training to become a ballet dancer, she joined her sister's Dance Academy as ballet mistress. She then became a naval wife and her son was born in 1970. She now lives in Devon with her husband, Rodney, who first encouraged Marcia to write, and their Newfoundland, Trubshawe.
Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead... The Courtyard is a sensitive and compassionate story of an invaluable friendship that helps see two women through a time of crisis. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'She may not be as famous as Binchy or Pilcher but British writer Willett is just as gifted' - Booklist Nell Woodward and Gussie Merton make unlikely friends - one a young married woman and the other a lonely elderly lady. Nell's husband, John, is an estate agent fresh from the Navy, but he is ignorant of the outside world and, as others abandon the collapsing property market, he gets in deeper...It is at Nethercombe, the home of Gussie's nephew, Henry, that a refuge is found. Henry has developed and sold a cluster of cottages, known as The Courtyard, and the people who buy them form a bond of friendship that embraces Nell and Gussie. But it is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead...What readers are saying about The Courtyard:'Her [Marcia Willett's] writing is crisp, fresh and very vivid and her characters are so ALIVE''Enjoyable and believable characters, simple storyline and wonderful description of the Devonshire countryside and surrounds''Engrossing'

Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It had all seemed so exciting and romantic...Marcia Willett's fascinating and moving debut Those Who Serve, set in the 1960s, is a tale of the ups and downs of Navy life and of being a Navy wife. The perfect read for fans of Harriet Evans and Katie Fforde. Not even out of their teens, Kate and Cass, friends since boarding school, both marrying dashing naval officers within weeks of each other. But after all the glamour of naval balls and white weddings, passing beneath the arches of naval swords had not led Kate down the pathway to marital bliss. Not even her cherished twins can compensate for her husband's coldness and mental cruelty and she yearns for the peace of her beloved West Country. Cass, on the other hand, revels in the freedom of movement her husband's long absences on the submarines provide - even with the arrival of the first of her four children, she is not to be denied the frenzied activity of the 1960s sexual revolution! But it is a dangerous game that Cass is playing, and as the decades roll by, Kate may not always be around to pick up the pieces...What readers are saying about Those Who Serve:'Absolutely beautifully written. Emotional rollercoaster from start to finish''A delight, well written and great human insight''Wonderful believable characters'

Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

An 'old friend' changes everything... Thea's Parrot is an entertaining standalone tale of marriage and lies with some familiar faces from Marcia Willett's debut Those Who Serve. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Fern Britton. George Lampeter certainly isn't looking for a wife but as soon as the forty-three-year-old submarine commander sets eyes on Thea, twenty years his junior, he's found his partner for life. Just about everyone knows of George's long-standing affair with Felicity Mainwaring, the intimidating wife of a naval colleague. Her husband's death the previous year had prompted many to speculate that George would end up marrying his formidable mistress. No one expected it more than Felicity herself and as her letters and calls to George go unanswered she becomes suspicious. He somehow manages to duck Felicity's attempts to contact him long enough to marry Thea, and the couple embark on a harmonious life together in the heart of rural Devon. Thea enjoys matrimony immensely and through the naval network, finds a soul mate in Polly, another youthful bride, but not with such an understanding husband. But everything changes for Thea and George when she mentions that an old friend of his had dropped in for a chat while he was in London - Felicity Mainwaring. What readers are saying about Thea's Parrot:'Intelligently written and nicely plotted with enough twists and good characters to keep you moving through it''Thoroughly fantastic. The twists and turns were remarkable''I was left wanting more'

Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Who do you turn to in your time of need?The Dipper is Marcia Willett's deeply moving novel that shows the strength of love and friendship in confronting the dark sorrows of life. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Fern Britton.'A must for women fiction readers' - BooklistIn the depths of Dartmoor, Quentin and Clemmie Halliwell know that the onset of old age threatens their life together at The Grange. Phyllida Makepeace feels secure in her marriage to Alistair, but when a deep sorrow strikes them, she discovers that no one is untouched by human frailty. Claudia and Jeff Maynard seem the perfect couple. But they are hiding from the truth and Claudia is about to realise the shattering effects of denial. Turning to one another in their time of need, these friends and neighbours learn those vital lessons in how to love, forgive and, most importantly, how to trust again.What readers are saying about The Dipper:'The characters come to life and the plots are carefully worked out and totally believable''A true pleasure to read''Touching and gentle with really believable characters. Marcia Willett is a sensitive writer'

Headline

Second Time Around

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Forgotten Laughter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Looking Forward (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 1)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Summer of 1957. Life at The Keep changes forever...Marcia Willett tells the tale of three orphaned siblings sent from Kenya to live with their grandmother and cousins in Devon. Looking Forward is the first stunning novel in the Chadwick Family chronicles and is the perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Hilary Boyd. 'This moving family chronicle has a cast of wise and family characters. A real tear-jerker' - Family Circle Life at The Keep changes forever when Fliss, Mole and Susannah arrive in the summer of 1957. Their parents and elder brother have been killed in Kenya so the children are sent to their grandmother, Freddy, in Devon. Freddy is no stranger to grief, but she would be lost without her devoted helpers, Ellen and Fox, who enable her to cope with this latest tragedy. And, above all, she looks to her brother-in-law, Theo, to guide her while the children heal their wounds and embark on the treacherous journey to adulthood.What readers are saying about Looking Forward:'Marcia Willett has a wonderful affinity for bringing her characters to life' 'Another touching story!''Both heart-warming and heart-wrenching. But it left me feeling warm and happy'

Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Hattie's Mill

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Hattie Weatherall's heart leapt when she first saw Abbot's Mill, and with her dog and an assortment of wild fowl for company she sets about renovating the mill. Sarah Farley feels a pang of envy for Hattie's freedom. For over twenty years, Sarah has tolerated her husband's infidelities - and her love for him is about to be tested again... As Hattie settles into life at the mill, she befriends two young boatmen. Toby is recovering from a broken marriage and, when he has a another chance at happiness, Hattie is glad welcome his new family into the fold. Joss's problems are not so easily solved, but when he turns to Hattie for help, the motherly love that blossoms in her heart enables them both to heal old wounds...