Claire McGowan - Headline Publishing Group

Claire McGowan



Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.
Headline

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Long-buried secrets are being unearthed. And they're very close to home...Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns yet again to her hometown to investigate a spine-chilling case in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. The Paula Maguire series is the perfect read for fans of Michael Connelly and Peter May.'A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills' - Sunday Mirror When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.What readers are saying about the Paula Maguire series:'I have loved every single book. It's the characters and their own personal lives that really stand out in Claire McGowan's novels''Claire McGowan knows how to pull us in. Her future releases are always lined up on my kindle way ahead of time!''McGowan keeps developing her characters to be more rounded and complex. I've really fallen in love with the character of Paula Maguire and I can't wait to read more about her'

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you loved Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author acclaimed as 'the new Ruth Rendell' by Ken Bruen.When ravaged by storms, remote Irish islands become inaccessible... and inescapable.Two scientists inexplicably disappear from remote Bone Island during a vicious storm, and suspicions are quickly raised about foul play. With her own pressing personal issues and the possibility of her mother still being alive at the forefront of her mind, Paula has other concerns but is determined to help. It quickly becomes apparent though that this island has secrets of its own and despite its idyllic and peaceful guise, its history of loyalties and grudges amongst its small community leads Paula to think a murderer may be at large. But with another storm heading in, will Paula be able to solve the case and leave the island in time? Or will she find herself trapped on an inescapable island with a killer's sights firmly on her...(P)2017 Headline Digital

Headline

A Savage Hunger (Paula Maguire 4)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Blood stains the altar. Can she be found? Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist is called in to investigate a missing girl and the disappearance of a holy relic in Claire McGowan's exhilarating fourth novel in the series, A SAVAGE HUNTER. The Paula Maguire series is sure to enthral fans of Stuart MacBride and Lee Child.'A complex, disturbing, resonant novel that remains light on its feet and immensely entertaining' - Irish Times Victim: Female. Twenty-two years of age. Reason for investigation: Missing person. ID: Alice Morgan. Student. Last seen at a remote religious shrine in Ballyterrin.Alice Morgan's disappearance raises immediate questions for forensic psychologist Paula Maguire. Alice, the daughter of a life pee0r in the Home Office, has vanished along with a holy relic - the bones of a saint - and the only trace is the bloodstains on the altar.With no body to confirm death, the pressure in this high-profile case is all-consuming, and Paula knows that she will have to put her own life, including her imminent marriage, on hold, if they are to find the truth.A connection to a decades-old murder immediately indicates that all may not be as it seems; as the summer heat rises and tempers fray, can Alice be found or will they learn that those that are hungry for vengeance may be the most savage of all?What readers are saying about A Savage Hunter:'A compelling story with twists and turns, intelligently written to include history and current issues''An excellent, well-written series, giving you an insight into the troubles that have plagued Northern Ireland and how all their lives have been affected''I found the twisty threads really engrossing and couldn't wait to see how they were brought to a climax. And boy, talk about explosive ending!'

Headline

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Controlled Explosions (A Paula Maguire Short Story)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist on the Irish border, returns as a teenager in this exclusive digital short story from Claire McGowan. If you love the Paula Maguire series, or are yet to meet the infamous psychologist, you'll be gripped...1998 and future forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is still in school, being taunted by bullies. In particular one girl, whose family has paramilitary links, is calling her a rat. Even though Paula might not know why her mother went missing five years before, she's sure she's no traitor's daughter.But words are nothing compared to what her policeman father, PJ, is dealing with. The hot summer is simmering with violence and the entire force is focused on finding a bomber leaving devices on the routes of Orange parades.When PJ is injured at the scene of a crime, Paula is shocked to find herself next in the perpetrator's crosshairs. The threats at school don't feel so empty now, but what connection could there be? As the possibility of first love appears, will Paula be able to find out in time to save herself and follow her heart?What readers are saying about Controlled Explosions:'A beautifully rendered novella set way before the series began. I was completely hooked' 'Fast-paced and exciting''A great peek into the history of Paula - our favourite psychologist! All very fascinating - I just love the setting'

Headline

The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

A stolen baby. A murdered woman. A decades-old atrocity. Something connects them all... A month before Christmas, and Ballyterrin on the Irish border lies under a thick pall of snow. When a newborn baby goes missing from hospital, it's all too close to home for forensic psychologist Paula Maguire, who's wrestling with the hardest decision of her life.Then a woman is found in a stone circle with her stomach cut open and it's clear a brutal killer is on the loose.As another child is taken and a pregnant woman goes missing, Paula is caught up in the hunt for a killer no one can trace, who will stop at nothing to get what they want.The Dead Ground will leave you gasping for breath as Paula discovers every decision she makes really is a matter of life and death...(P)2014 Headline Digital

Headline

The Lost (Paula Maguire 1)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

The Fall: A murder brings them together. The truth will tear them apart.

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

What would you do if the man you love was accused of murder?Bad things never happen to Charlotte. She's living the life she's always wanted and about to marry wealthy banker, Dan. But Dan's been hiding a secret, and the pressure is pushing him over the edge. After he's arrested for the vicious killing of a nightclub owner, Charlotte's future is shattered.Then she opens her door to Keisha, an angry and frustrated stranger with a story to tell. Convinced of Dan's innocence, Charlotte must fight for him - even if it means destroying her perfect life. But what Keisha knows threatens everyone she loves, and puts her own life in danger.DC Matthew Hegarty is riding high on the success of Dan's arrest. But he's finding it difficult to ignore his growing doubts as well as the beautiful and vulnerable Charlotte. Can he really risk it all for what's right?Three stories. One truth. They all need to brace themselves for the fall.(P)2012 Headline Digital