Claire McGowan - Headline Publishing Group

Claire McGowan



Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.
Headline

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Long-buried secrets are being unearthed. And they're very close to home...Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns yet again to her hometown to investigate a spine-chilling case in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. The Paula Maguire series is the perfect read for fans of Michael Connelly and Peter May.'A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills' - Sunday Mirror When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.What readers are saying about the Paula Maguire series:'I have loved every single book. It's the characters and their own personal lives that really stand out in Claire McGowan's novels''Claire McGowan knows how to pull us in. Her future releases are always lined up on my kindle way ahead of time!''McGowan keeps developing her characters to be more rounded and complex. I've really fallen in love with the character of Paula Maguire and I can't wait to read more about her'

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

A Savage Hunger (Paula Maguire 4)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Blood stains the altar. Can she be found? Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist is called in to investigate a missing girl and the disappearance of a holy relic in Claire McGowan's exhilarating fourth novel in the series, A SAVAGE HUNTER. The Paula Maguire series is sure to enthral fans of Stuart MacBride and Lee Child.'A complex, disturbing, resonant novel that remains light on its feet and immensely entertaining' - Irish Times Victim: Female. Twenty-two years of age. Reason for investigation: Missing person. ID: Alice Morgan. Student. Last seen at a remote religious shrine in Ballyterrin.Alice Morgan's disappearance raises immediate questions for forensic psychologist Paula Maguire. Alice, the daughter of a life pee0r in the Home Office, has vanished along with a holy relic - the bones of a saint - and the only trace is the bloodstains on the altar.With no body to confirm death, the pressure in this high-profile case is all-consuming, and Paula knows that she will have to put her own life, including her imminent marriage, on hold, if they are to find the truth.A connection to a decades-old murder immediately indicates that all may not be as it seems; as the summer heat rises and tempers fray, can Alice be found or will they learn that those that are hungry for vengeance may be the most savage of all?What readers are saying about A Savage Hunter:'A compelling story with twists and turns, intelligently written to include history and current issues''An excellent, well-written series, giving you an insight into the troubles that have plagued Northern Ireland and how all their lives have been affected''I found the twisty threads really engrossing and couldn't wait to see how they were brought to a climax. And boy, talk about explosive ending!'

Headline

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

The third in the crime series featuring forensic psychologist Paula Maguire by Claire McGowan acclaimed as 'Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell' by Ken Bruen.Victim: Male. Mid-thirties. 5'7".Cause of death: Hanging. Initial impression - murder.ID: Mickey Doyle. Suspected terrorist and member of the Mayday Five.The officers at the crime scene know exactly who the victim is.Doyle was one of five suspected bombers who caused the deaths of sixteen people. The remaining four are also missing and when a second body is found, decapitated, it's clear they are being killed by the same methods their victims suffered. Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is assigned the case but she is up against the clock - both personally and professionally. With moral boundaries blurred between victim and perpetrator, will be Paula be able to find those responsible? After all, even killers deserve justice, don't they? (P)2015 Headline Digital

Headline

Controlled Explosions (A Paula Maguire Short Story)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Stolen. Missing. Dead...Forensic psychologist Paul Maguire is up against the clock to stop a merciless killer in THE DEAD GROUND, the second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost. Claire McGowan's thrillers are sure to enthral readers of Michael Connelly and Karin Slaughter 'Fresh and accessible without ever compromising on grit or suspense' - Erin KellyForensic psychologist Paula Maguire, already wrestling with the hardest decision of her life, is forced to put her own problems on hold when she's asked to help find a baby taken from a local hospital.Then the brutal, ritualistic murder of a woman found lying on a remote stone circle indicates a connection to the kidnapping and Paula knows that they will have to move fast if they are to find the person responsible.When another child is taken and a pregnant woman goes missing, Paula finds herself caught up in a deadly hunt for a killer determined to leave no trace, and discovers every decision she makes really is a matter of life and death...What readers are saying about The Dead Ground:'Another gripping page-turner from a fabulous writer!''Every time you think you've got it all worked out there will be another twist to it. Definitely worth reading''A powerful read that touched nicely on women's rights and pro-choice in an Irish context. Cleverly done; I felt a great deal of empathy for all concerned. An excellent read'

Headline

The Lost (Paula Maguire 1)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

The Fall: A murder brings them together. The truth will tear them apart.

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

A twisty, unputdownable thriller about the secrets people keep and the lies people tell, for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. "Compelling and flawless" Sharon BoltonWhat would you do if the man you love was arrested for murder?Bad things never happen to Charlotte.But her fiancé Dan has been hiding a secret, and the pressure is pushing him over the edge.When he's arrested for killing a nightclub owner, Charlotte's future is shattered.Then she opens her door to Keisha, an angry and frustrated stranger with a story to tell.Convinced of Dan's innocence, Charlotte must fight for him - even if it means destroying her perfect life. But what Keisha knows will threaten everyone she loves, and put Charlotte's own life in danger... Three stories. One truth. Brace yourself for The Fall. What people are saying about Claire McGowan:'A knockout new talent' Lee Child'Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying' Peter James'Compelling and flawless' Sharon Bolton'A keeps-you-guessing mystery' Alex Marwood 'Clever and entertaining' Jane Casey 'Original and compelling' Mark Edwards'Terrifically assured and pulse pounding' Stav Sherez'Taut plotting and assured writing' Good Housekeeping'A cool and twisted debut' Daily Mirror'She knows how to tell a cracking story' Daily Mail'Page turning' Guardian'Chills you to the bone' Daily Telegraph