Claire McGowan - Headline Publishing Group

Claire McGowan



Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.
Headline

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Long-buried secrets are being unearthed. And they're very close to home...Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns yet again to her hometown to investigate a spine-chilling case in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. The Paula Maguire series is the perfect read for fans of Michael Connelly and Peter May.'A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills' - Sunday Mirror When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.What readers are saying about the Paula Maguire series:'I have loved every single book. It's the characters and their own personal lives that really stand out in Claire McGowan's novels''Claire McGowan knows how to pull us in. Her future releases are always lined up on my kindle way ahead of time!''McGowan keeps developing her characters to be more rounded and complex. I've really fallen in love with the character of Paula Maguire and I can't wait to read more about her'

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you loved Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author acclaimed as 'the new Ruth Rendell' by Ken Bruen.When ravaged by storms, remote Irish islands become inaccessible... and inescapable.Two scientists inexplicably disappear from remote Bone Island during a vicious storm, and suspicions are quickly raised about foul play. With her own pressing personal issues and the possibility of her mother still being alive at the forefront of her mind, Paula has other concerns but is determined to help. It quickly becomes apparent though that this island has secrets of its own and despite its idyllic and peaceful guise, its history of loyalties and grudges amongst its small community leads Paula to think a murderer may be at large. But with another storm heading in, will Paula be able to solve the case and leave the island in time? Or will she find herself trapped on an inescapable island with a killer's sights firmly on her...(P)2017 Headline Digital

Headline

A Savage Hunger (Paula Maguire 4)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Blood stains the altar. Can she be found? Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist is called in to investigate a missing girl and the disappearance of a holy relic in Claire McGowan's exhilarating fourth novel in the series, A SAVAGE HUNTER. The Paula Maguire series is sure to enthral fans of Stuart MacBride and Lee Child.'A complex, disturbing, resonant novel that remains light on its feet and immensely entertaining' - Irish Times Victim: Female. Twenty-two years of age. Reason for investigation: Missing person. ID: Alice Morgan. Student. Last seen at a remote religious shrine in Ballyterrin.Alice Morgan's disappearance raises immediate questions for forensic psychologist Paula Maguire. Alice, the daughter of a life pee0r in the Home Office, has vanished along with a holy relic - the bones of a saint - and the only trace is the bloodstains on the altar.With no body to confirm death, the pressure in this high-profile case is all-consuming, and Paula knows that she will have to put her own life, including her imminent marriage, on hold, if they are to find the truth.A connection to a decades-old murder immediately indicates that all may not be as it seems; as the summer heat rises and tempers fray, can Alice be found or will they learn that those that are hungry for vengeance may be the most savage of all?What readers are saying about A Savage Hunter:'A compelling story with twists and turns, intelligently written to include history and current issues''An excellent, well-written series, giving you an insight into the troubles that have plagued Northern Ireland and how all their lives have been affected''I found the twisty threads really engrossing and couldn't wait to see how they were brought to a climax. And boy, talk about explosive ending!'

Headline

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Controlled Explosions (A Paula Maguire Short Story)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist on the Irish border, returns as a teenager in this exclusive digital short story from Claire McGowan. If you love the Paula Maguire series, or are yet to meet the infamous psychologist, you'll be gripped...1998 and future forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is still in school, being taunted by bullies. In particular one girl, whose family has paramilitary links, is calling her a rat. Even though Paula might not know why her mother went missing five years before, she's sure she's no traitor's daughter.But words are nothing compared to what her policeman father, PJ, is dealing with. The hot summer is simmering with violence and the entire force is focused on finding a bomber leaving devices on the routes of Orange parades.When PJ is injured at the scene of a crime, Paula is shocked to find herself next in the perpetrator's crosshairs. The threats at school don't feel so empty now, but what connection could there be? As the possibility of first love appears, will Paula be able to find out in time to save herself and follow her heart?What readers are saying about Controlled Explosions:'A beautifully rendered novella set way before the series began. I was completely hooked' 'Fast-paced and exciting''A great peek into the history of Paula - our favourite psychologist! All very fascinating - I just love the setting'

Headline

The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Stolen. Missing. Dead...Forensic psychologist Paul Maguire is up against the clock to stop a merciless killer in THE DEAD GROUND, the second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost. Claire McGowan's thrillers are sure to enthral readers of Michael Connelly and Karin Slaughter 'Fresh and accessible without ever compromising on grit or suspense' - Erin KellyForensic psychologist Paula Maguire, already wrestling with the hardest decision of her life, is forced to put her own problems on hold when she's asked to help find a baby taken from a local hospital.Then the brutal, ritualistic murder of a woman found lying on a remote stone circle indicates a connection to the kidnapping and Paula knows that they will have to move fast if they are to find the person responsible.When another child is taken and a pregnant woman goes missing, Paula finds herself caught up in a deadly hunt for a killer determined to leave no trace, and discovers every decision she makes really is a matter of life and death...What readers are saying about The Dead Ground:'Another gripping page-turner from a fabulous writer!''Every time you think you've got it all worked out there will be another twist to it. Definitely worth reading''A powerful read that touched nicely on women's rights and pro-choice in an Irish context. Cleverly done; I felt a great deal of empathy for all concerned. An excellent read'

Headline

The Lost (Paula Maguire 1)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Not everyone who's missing is lostWhen two teenage girls go missing along the Irish border, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire has to return to the hometown she left years before. Swirling with rumour and secrets, the town is gripped by fear of a serial killer. But the truth could be even darker.Not everyone who's lost wants to be foundSurrounded by people and places she tried to forget, Paula digs into the cases as the truth twists further away. What's the link with two other disappearances from 1985? And why does everything lead back to the town's dark past- including the reasons her own mother went missing years before?Nothing is what it seemsAs the shocking truth is revealed, Paula learns that sometimes, it's better not to find what you've lost.(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline

The Fall: A murder brings them together. The truth will tear them apart.

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

A twisty, unputdownable thriller about the secrets people keep and the lies people tell, for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. "Compelling and flawless" Sharon BoltonWhat would you do if the man you love was arrested for murder?Bad things never happen to Charlotte.But her fiancé Dan has been hiding a secret, and the pressure is pushing him over the edge.When he's arrested for killing a nightclub owner, Charlotte's future is shattered.Then she opens her door to Keisha, an angry and frustrated stranger with a story to tell.Convinced of Dan's innocence, Charlotte must fight for him - even if it means destroying her perfect life. But what Keisha knows will threaten everyone she loves, and put Charlotte's own life in danger... Three stories. One truth. Brace yourself for The Fall. What people are saying about Claire McGowan:'A knockout new talent' Lee Child'Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying' Peter James'Compelling and flawless' Sharon Bolton'A keeps-you-guessing mystery' Alex Marwood 'Clever and entertaining' Jane Casey 'Original and compelling' Mark Edwards'Terrifically assured and pulse pounding' Stav Sherez'Taut plotting and assured writing' Good Housekeeping'A cool and twisted debut' Daily Mirror'She knows how to tell a cracking story' Daily Mail'Page turning' Guardian'Chills you to the bone' Daily Telegraph