Pamela Evans - Lamplight on the Thames - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Lamplight on the Thames

By Pamela Evans

  • Paperback
  • £3.99

Bitter rivalries and forbidden love are at the heart of this powerful sage from Pamela Evans

The fog swirled around the crowd at the graveside; Bob Brown had been a popular man. But Bella's thoughts were dark - Frank Bennett had killed her father as surely as if he had taken a knife to him.

Since the end of the war, when Bob had taken over the car workshop in London, Frank Bennett had been trying to get his hands on it. An East Ender made good by his quick wits and unscrupulous business methods, Frank was determined to get the prime site - whatever the cost. For as long as she could remember, Bella had been drawn to the river, and to the ivy-covered house on the promenade where she first met Dezi Bennett, Frank's son. They became unlikely friends, though both families disapproved. Years later, their love blossomed, and it seemed that nothing, not even the feud between their fathers, could prevent their marriage. Until Bob's tragic death and his dying request to Bella .....

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747233350
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 1990
  • Page count: 0
Headline

Untitled Novel

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A moving and nostalgic saga from Pam Evans, set in London during wartime. Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Dilly Court.Readers love Pam Evans heartwarming family sagas:'A touching novel' Daily Express'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' Our Time'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' Bolton News'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' Lancashire Evening Post'This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely' North Wales Chronicle

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Star Quality

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A loving family. A deadly illness. A country on the brink of war. Pam Evans, much-loved author of In the Dark Streets Shining, brings us an enthralling and heart-wrenching saga about the enduring power of love, courage and friendship during the dark days of war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp. 'A superb and heartwarming read' - Irish IndependentIt's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all. What readers are saying about A Distant Dream: 'Where would the book world be without Pamela Evans books to brighten our day! I can't praise this book enough and am eagerly awaiting the next one from this author' 'Not just a wonderful story, but wonderful characters... you feel as though you have made new friends. I always thoroughly enjoy Pamela Evans books and think this one has to be one of her best'

Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A tale of temptation and tribulation set under the storm clouds of war and class. Pam Evans, much-loved author of In the Dark Streets Shining and Harvest Nights, weaves her magic yet again in this wartime saga, complete with romance, tragedy and a heart-breaking love triangle. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court.'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' - Our TimeThe Brightwells live in Moss Street in a shabby area of London's Shepherd's Bush. Maggie Brightwell's father was killed in the Blitz by a bomb that also injured her brother Tom. Yet Maggie is a lively, warm-hearted girl. She works as a typist in central London and becomes good friends with Chloe Anderson, the spoilt daughter of her rich boss. When her boss begins to take a more than paternal interest in Maggie, she is horrified and quickly changes jobs, becoming an assistant in a run-down flower shop in Moss Street. She soon falls for the happy-go-lucky owner Jack Radford and they marry. But their happiness is threatened by a developing relationship between Maggie and her best friend Chloe's new charismatic husband. Maggie is determined not to hurt those closest to her and provide a better life for her family, but can she resist temptation? What readers are saying about Maggie of Moss Street: 'A very readable book which I thoroughly recommend. 10/10!' 'This story had so many twists and turns which made it so exciting. I couldn't put it down'

Headline

Whispers in the Town

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline Review

The Last Summer

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn
Headline Review

Prophecy: Death of an Empire

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume

Merlin's epic quest continues as he journeys to Constantinople in search of his father.Myrddion Emrys of Segontium is the product of a brutal rape, but when King Vortigern hints at his father's identity, Myrddion embarks on a journey across France and Italy to Constantinople.  It is a voyage that is to turn the young healer into a man of great renown. Serving under General Flavius Aetius at the Battle of the Catalaunian Plains, Myrddion saves the lives of thousands of warriors and, on his arrival in Rome, he heals many more, including Cleoxenes, Envoy to Emperor Theodosius of the East, on his way to a delegation with Attila the Hun.  But a deadlier conflict between Emperor Valentinian of the West and Senator Petronius Maximus is still to come and Myrddion must use all his strength to carry out his work in a world that is evil.

Headline

Ice Force

Matt Lynn
Authors:
Matt Lynn

The fourth book in the brilliant Death Force series plunges the elite squad of hardened mercenaries into a deadly battle for survival in the frozen wastelands of the Arctic. A plane carrying a Russian oil billionaire has crashed mysteriously in the Arctic in the middle of a brutal winter. Nobody knows why, nor can they locate the aircraft's black box. With only days left before the signal switches itself off, the men from 'Death Force' are hired by a rival billionaire to make one last desperate bid to find the black box. But when they finally locate the plane, they also uncover a deadly secret. This was no ordinary crash. There's a reason why the black box went missing. And soon they find themselves on the run for their lives, battling an unseen enemy, across the world's most terrifying landscape. Caught up in a vast conspiracy to control the world's last great reserves of oil, the men from 'Death Force' must fight the most overwhelming odds they have ever faced just to stay alive.

Headline

No One Left To Tell

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

The thirteenth fantastic thriller from Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose. It may be unlucky for some...Will anyone live to tell the tale?If one more woman should accidentally fall, there'll be no more women and...Ramon Muñoz has spent five years in prison, convicted of a murder his family is convinced he did not commit. Unable to get the courts to take them seriously, they turn to private investigator Paige Holden for help.Paige cannot resist the family's pleas. But when Ramon's wife, having just handed her the evidence that will help prove his innocence, is brutally executed in front of her eyes, Paige is thrown headlong into a case which will place her life into jeopardy.As Paige risks everything to prove Ramon was set up, she comes to realise that there is more at stake if Ramon is freed than she could have ever guessed. Can Paige stay alive long enough to unmask an unstoppable killer who will not rest until there's no one left to tell?

Headline

Break of Dawn

Rita Bradshaw
Authors:
Rita Bradshaw
Headline

Always There

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Amidst the turmoil and disruption of 1950s Notting Hill, young mother Daisy Rivers has created a small pocket of tranquility in the bedsit she shares with her two daughters. Her life is by no means perfect but it is a far cry from the lonely years she spent in an orphanage as a child. Meanwhile in the plush surroundings of the Cliff Head Hotel in Torquay, June, the sister Daisy hasn't seen since they were separated by adoption, is close to despair. A life of wealth and privilege and a happy marriage aren't enough to erase the legacies of her past and a terrible secret, ignored for too long, forces her to seek out the sister she hasn't seen in almost twenty years...

Headline

The Carousel Keeps Turning

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans