Victor Pemberton - Our Family - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Our Family

By Victor Pemberton

  • Paperback
  • £P.O.R.

Based on a series of Radio 4 plays, this is a moving saga of family life in wartime London

The minute Letty Edington becomes a munitionette in the Royal Woolwich Arsenal her life changes for ever. From the misery of her family home in well-to-do Islington, she finds herself a part of a world where girls wear make-up, boys whistle and Friday night means stewed eels and mash. And when Vi Hobbs, self-styled queen of the shell-filling shop, introduces her to her wounded brother Ollie, even the loss of Letty's own soldier-brother seems a little less hard to bear. Before long Letty and Ollie have fallen hopelessly for each other and, despite the fury of Letty's family, they marry. Before them lie years of happiness and struggle and through it all Letty's unswerving love drives them forward, through all the bitterness, hardship and heartfelt joy that make up family life in our changing times.

Biographical Notes

Victor Pemberton is a successful radio playwright and TV producer, and has worked with some of the great names of entertainment, including Benny Hill and Dodie Smith, had a longstanding correspondence with Stan Laurel and scripted and produced many of the BBC's 'Dr Who' series. In recent years he has worked as a producer for Jim Henson, and set up his own production company, whose first TV documentary won an Emmy Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747233831
  • Publication date: 27 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Headline
Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff
Headline Review

A Winter Beneath the Stars

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a compassionate, compelling new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. 'It's delicious, it's dear, it's heart-breaking and very funny' Rachel Joyce'An incredibly beautiful story told with compassion. Nothing is wasted. Each sentence is beautifully crafted' Joanna Cannon1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis

HOW WAS A MAN KILLED WHILE ALONE IN A LOCKED ROOM? IS IT THE PERFECT MURDER?It's a case for FBI Special Agent Rose Blake. Still raw after a notorious serial killer slipped through her net, Rose will do whatever it takes - including putting her own life at risk - to nail the perpetrator this time. When a second body with identical wounds is discovered, Rose realises that a twisted murderer is playing a deadly game. A murderer who's not going to stop any time soon. But what links the victims? And who's next? No one is safe, and the clock is ticking...What readers are saying about Playing with Death:'An edgy, pacy, futuristic and oh so very polished cyber thriller...intelligent, perceptive...exciting' trevtwinem.booklikes.com'[A] fast-paced thriller of the highest quality...The pace of the story is relentless...Would highly recommend' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Grips you from the beginning and races to a most exciting and enigmatic ending. It was one of those books that call you back every time you are dragged away. I absolutely loved it' www.crimesquad.com, 5 stars'A leading-edge thriller...My skin crawled quite a bit whilst reading this...A great novel that explores some brilliant concepts' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Addictive...thought provoking...Definitely recommended' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars'Makes you lie in bed and go over every possible theory in your head...I can't recommend this book enough. If you're a fan of Simon Scarrow or just love a good crime thriller then do not hesitate to read this book' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A terrific thriller' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline

Kindred

Octavia E. Butler
Authors:
Octavia E. Butler

**'The marker you should judge all other time-travelling narratives by' Guardian**Octavia E. Butler's masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò. '[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times 'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential' The Pool In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.What readers are saying about KINDRED:'It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year. Incredible. I couldn't put it down' 'The narrator is us - we see the abomination and humiliation of slavery not through a slave's eyes, but our modern-day eyes, and it makes it all the more powerful' 'A must-read for everyone''Emotionally and viscerally alive and challenging. I don't know how I missed it before now'

Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

THE NO. 1 EBOOK BESTSELLER'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** Heat Sheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. ThenWhen Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's new to Dublin and loving it. He's used to getting what he wants...and she can't resist him. Until one night he forces her to make an impossible choice.If she'd known then what she knows now, everything might have been different.NowLola's daughter Bey has inherited her mother's impulsive streak and it takes her down dangerous paths.Then one night she too finds herself in front of a man she loves, with impossible choices of her own to make.For both women, what happened that night changes everything. For better. For worse. For ever.What readers are saying about What Happened That Night: 'Brilliant book from start to finish. Another smash from Sheila O'Flanagan' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'A great, warm, life-affirming read that is not your traditional 'romcom', but offers so much more' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'This is an exquisite book - everyone who loves a family story will love this book. Ready to change your life?' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Excellent book. I looked forward to reading it every day on my commute... On one occasion I was so engrossed I missed my stop' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

The Monarch of the Glen

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline

From the Corner of his Eye

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

If you delight in the suspense of Stephen King and The Stranger by Harlan Coben chilled you to the bone (in the best possible way), you'll love From the Corner of His Eye - the classic thriller by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. 'Not just a master of our darkest dreams but also a literary juggler' - The Times.At thirteen, Bartholomew regains his sight. How he regains it, why he regains it, and what happens as his amazing life unfold and entwines with others results in a breathtaking journey of courage, heart-stopping suspense and high adventure.

Headline

Our Rose

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton
Headline

The Chandler's Daughter

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton
Headline

When the Swallows Come Again

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton
Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline

The Silent War

Victor Pemberton
Authors:
Victor Pemberton