Paul Doherty - Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755350308
    • Publication date:30 Oct 2012

Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1)

A thrilling medieval mystery

By Paul Doherty

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Will Hugh Corbett be able to discover the truth before London is overrun by the sinister Pentangle in the stunning first novel of the Corbett series?

1284 and Edward I is battling a traitorous movement founded by the late Simon de Montfort, the rebel who lost his life at the Battle of Evesham in 1258. The Pentangle, the movement's underground society whose members are known to practice the black arts, is thought to be behind the apparent suicide of Lawrence Duket, one of the King's loyal subjects, in revenge for Duket's murder of one of their supporters. The King, deeply suspicious of the affair, orders his wily Chancellor, Burnell, to look into the matter. Burnell chooses a sharp and clever clerk from the Court of King's Bench, Hugh Corbett, to conduct the investigation. Corbett - together with his manservant, Ranulf, late of Newgate - is swiftly drawn into the tangled politics and dark and dangerous underworld of medieval London.

Biographical Notes

Paul Doherty was born in Middlesbrough. He studied History at Liverpool and Oxford Universities and obtained a doctorate for his thesis on Edward II and Queen Isabella. He is now headmaster of a school in north-east London and lives with his family in Essex.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747234920
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 1990
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The King's Writ (Hugh Corbett Novella)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

With the stakes so high, can Sir Hugh prevent a jousting tournament turning deadly?An exclusive digital novella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, the medieval sleuth of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty's most popular series. Includes an exclusive extract from his next novel in the series, the follow up to Dark Serpent. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Michael Jecks.In the summer of 1311, a jousting tournament is about to commence in the Tower of London, supervised by Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal.Two powerful lords have come forward with writs from the late king, promising them both the inheritance of a lucrative estate. To settle the dispute, they are submitting their quarrel to the judicium Dei: the Judgement of God. But when a third claimant comes forward, Corbett suspects that something is awry.Corbett launches an investigation to uphold the reputation of the late king as treachery looks set to spread. But it soon becomes clear that more than one person in the Tower has secrets to keep...What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'A magical author''Paul Doherty has the rare talent of making you feel as though you are there, be it medieval England, or battling with Alexander. The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of his books''Doherty has a gift for bringing distant ages alive and for populating his books with endearing, believable characters'

Headline

Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 18)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Tenebrae

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Annals of Ancient Rome

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Roseblood

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Of Love and War

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Loving Cup

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Time for the Death of a King (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Book of Shadows (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

A miracle... or murder?Paul Doherty writes a gripping novel in Saintly Murders, the fifth Kathryn Swinbrooke mystery. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Ellis Peters.In the late summer of 1472, medieval physician and apothecary Kathryn Swinbrooke is summoned to investigate yet another puzzling situation in Canterbury. She is appointed by the Archbishop as Advocatus Diaboli - the Devil's Advocate - to argue against the beatification of Roger Atworth, a friar in the Order of the Sack and confessor of King Edward's mother. Atworth has died under mysterious circumstances, and there are rumours afloat of miraculous happenings surrounding his body. When Kathryn begins asking questions at the friary about Atworth's death, she discovers that the logical explanation is murder, not a miracle. But Kathryn suspects a link between his death and that of an English spy outside the friary. With the murderer still on the loose, what began as a search for the town's ills becomes Kathryn's pursuit of a killer...What readers are saying about the Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries:'The sense of menace, depth of characterization and interesting cast of characters make this book, and the series, a brilliant read''A great romp through medieval England''Superb plot and characters. Kathryn is so interesting and insight into the history of the time is so well documented. You feel as if you were there and can even smell it!'

Headline

A Maze of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Feast of Poisons (Kathryn Swinbrooke 7)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Murder in Thebes (Alexander the Great Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Alexander the Great cannot be fooled...Paul Doherty writes an unputdownable Greek mystery of adventure and intrigue in A Murder in Thebes. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.Never try to fool Alexander the Great... or betray him. The Thebans tried, and he burned their great city to the ground. But he left the temple of Oedipus untouched, hoping to obtain the legendary crown inside. Politically, the sacred crown may give him divine status. Privately, it will boost his ego... even more. Practically, it can kill him. Unless, of course, he discovers the ancient secret of crossing the pits of fire and poisonous snakes surrounding it.But as Alexander calls in his clever Hebrew friends Miriam and Simeon to help, he faces another baffling puzzle. An old soldier, alone inside a locked room and guarded by a ferocious dog, has been murdered. But how? The clues point to a traitor among Alexander's men. Now, amid the agonies of war and the ashes of Thebes, Alexander needs answers, and fast, before his own life becomes just another Greek tragedy....What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Held me enthralled''Paul Doherty writes THE best historical mysteries''Five stars'

Headline

The House of Death (Telamon Triology, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

As Alexander the Great sits with his troops poised to attack, his guides are murdered. Can he uncover the spies in time?The House of Death is the first mystery in the magnificent Ancient Greece series featuring Alexander the Great and his physician Telamon, by master historian Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.'Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests' - The Times It is 334 BC and the young Alexander sits with his troops by the Hellespont, poised to attack the empire of the great King Darius III. To win the approval of the gods for his enterprise he makes many offerings, yet the smoke does not rise, the sacrificial animals are flawed. Worse, his guides are being brutally murdered, Persian spies are in the camp, and Alexander's generals have their own secrets. Into this turmoil comes Telamon, a physician and boyhood friend of Alexander. As the climax builds and Alexander throws off his nervous fears, winning a brilliant and bloody triumph over the Persians, Telamon must at last succeed in unmasking their enemies...What readers are saying about The House of Death:'A book to fall in love with''Paul Doherty at his very best! Very well researched - a joy to read''Found myself totally engrossed in the book; I could not put it down till I got to the very last page'

Headline

The Godless Man (Telamon Triology, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty