Richard Laymon - The Stake - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755391844
    • Publication date:10 May 2012

The Stake

A corpse holds deadly secrets…

By Richard Laymon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A spine-chilling tale of horror for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. 'Laymon uses a typewriter ribbon soaked in cold blood' Burt Hirschfeld, author of Fire Island

'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King

In an abandoned hotel in a Californian ghost town, horror writer Larry Dunbar and his friends make a chilling discovery. By chance they stumble on a coffin hidden under the stairs. Within lies the corpse of a naked female - with a stake through its heart. Was she the innocent victim of a gruesome murder? Or was she a vampire? There's only one way for Larry to solve the mystery - he must pull out the stake...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747235484
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 1991
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Feature
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Karen Rose returns with the break-neck follow-up to MONSTER IN THE CLOSET, and the sixth book in the heart-pounding Baltimore Series. Has Thomas Thorne met his match in bloodthirsty gang boss Cesar Tavilla? Or, perhaps, in his beautiful best friend, Gwyn Weaver...?Intense, complex and unforgettable - James PattersonFast and furious - SunA high-octane thrill ride - Lisa Jackson

Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Night Moves (Alex Delaware series, Book 33)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

The new novel from Jonathan Kellerman, 'MASTER OF THE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER', perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and David Baldacci. ALEX DELAWARE RETURNS . . .A brilliant criminal psychologist, Alex works with the police to help solve the most complex of crimes in Los Angeles, city of illusions, glamour and infamy.An affluent family returns home from Sunday dinner only to find the murdered and brutalized corpse of a total stranger in their house. This baffling, twisted tale tests Alex and Milo to their intellectual and emotional limits.PRAISE FOR JONATHAN KELLERMAN: 'A thriller which gives your wits a work-out. Endlessly intriguing; as good as they come' Literary Review'Sophisticated, cleverly plotted and satisfying psychodrama' Sunday Telegraph'Kellerman's psychology skills and dark imagination are a potent literary mix' Los Angeles TimesFORTY BESTSELLERS. HUNDREDS OF CASES SOLVED.

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 1: Monstrous Creatures

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

The new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, sees the return of her iconic detective heroine DI Kate Burrows. If you liked THE LADYKILLER, you'll love DAMAGED. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling includes DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, BETRAYAL and many more.When the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up, former DCI Kate Burrows is dragged out of retirement.A new Grantley serial killer is in town and DCI Annie Carr turns to Kate for help. She welcomes the distraction from her home life with former gangster, Patrick Kelly, whose long lost son has turned up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him.It soon becomes clear the killer is on their doorstep and as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock. But they have no real leads ... and there's more to these murders than meets the eye. Can Kate take the killer down before another schoolgirl dies?

Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Travelling Vampire Show & The Stake

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

If vampires stalked the earth... Delve into the terrifying world of Richard Laymon, in two classic horror novels from the master of the macabre. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.The Travelling Vampire Show (Winner of the 2000 Bram Stoker Award for Best Horror Novel)The Travelling Vampire Show: Grandville holds few excitements for teenagers Dwight, Rusty and Slim ... until The Travelling Vampire Show comes to town. They might be too young to get in but what's to stop them going to Janks Field and watching the crew set up for the show? Maybe they will catch a glimpse of Valeria, 'the only known vampire in captivity'. No harm can come of that, right?The Stake: In an abandoned hotel in a Californian ghost town, horror writer Larry Dunbar and his friends make a chilling discovery. By chance they stumble on a coffin hidden under the stairs. Within lies the corpse of a naked female - with a stake through its heart. Was she the innocent victim of a gruesome murder? Or was she a vampire? There's only one way for Larry to solve the mystery - he must pull out the stake... What readers are saying about Richard Laymon novels: 'Just when you think that you have the storyline figured out, it twists and hurtles into a surprise ending''Expertly written, great dialogue, keeps you engrossed to the end''Richard Laymon is the king of horror'

Headline

The Complete Beast House Chronicles

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

Horrific events have made the Beast House infamous. Do you dare to enter? For the first time in one edition, read all four of Richard Laymon's terrifying, gruesome and acclaimed Beast House horror novels.The deeper you go into the Beast House, the darker the nightmares become. If you have nerves of steel and are looking for excitement and adventure, why not take the tour?But don't even think about going into the cellar... What readers are saying about The Beast House Chronicles: 'Dark, disturbing and completely unforgiving. Just how horror should be''A tale of bizarre, almost comic book like, tongue-in-cheek horror''The best book I have read in such a long time'

Headline

The Glory Bus

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

Betrayal at Lisson Grove (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 26)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Acceptable Loss (William Monk Mystery, Book 17)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Dark Assassin (William Monk Mystery, Book 15)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Execution Dock (William Monk Mystery, Book 16)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Has Monk met his most dangerous and elusive opponent yet? The death of a young boy leads Monk into one of his most dangerous cases yet in the sixteenth book in Anne Perry's brilliant William Monk series Execution Dock. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.'Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers' - Publishers Weekly It's 1864, and after a game of cat and mouse, Monk has captured Jericho Phillips, the man he suspects of brutally killing a young mudlark and running an evil child prostitution ring. In bringing Phillips to justice, Monk hopes to close down the ring and avenge the memory of Durban, his old commander, who was determined to capture Philips. However, at trial justice does not prevail. Oliver Rathbone, Monk's friend, is hired anonymously to represent the accused and when he proves that vital evidence is missing, Phillips is freed. As Monk begins the investigation again, venturing deeper into London's murky underworld, he realises that Durban may have had his own reasons for pursuing Phillips, and shockingly, that secret support for Phillips may reach further into civilised society than anyone could ever have imagined... What readers are saying about Execution Dock: 'Ms Perry's books inform, entertain, and make me think...what more can a reader ask for?''[A] compelling, assiduously plotted story''Well written with a gripping story line... You really feel the dirt and squalor of Victorian London'

Headline

Long Spoon Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Not even the police force is free from corruption... Anne Perry's bestselling Inspector Pitt novels entice readers into a literary world almost as real as the original, and are perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger. In Long Spoon Lane, flower sellers, costermongers, shopkeepers, and hansom drivers ply their trades, while the London police watch over all. Or so people believe... 'The period setting allows both some thoughtful debate on a difficult problem and a solution more reassuring than anything you'll find in tomorrow's papers' - Kirkus ReviewsEarly one morning, two bombs explode in an East London street. Forewarned of the attack, Thomas Pitt of the Special Branch, arrives in time to chase the bombers to a tenement in Long Spoon Lane. There, two men are arrested and one shot dead; but who and where and is the killer? As Pitt investigates, he uncovers truths more disturbing than the acts of a few misguided idealists. There's a web of corruption within the police force, and all the clues point to Inspector Wetron of Bow Street as its mastermind. But as head of the sinister Inner Circle, Wetron has powerful allies in every sphere. What readers are saying about Long Spoon Lane: '[Anne Perry] is quite exceptional in her ability to craft a complex plot with wholesome characters in a fascinating period/location. I can barely wait for Pitt's next adventure''Totally captivating, I could not put it down' 'Five stars'

Headline

Buckingham Palace Gardens (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 25)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

A Funeral in Blue (William Monk Mystery, Book 12)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When her brother arrives on her doorstep, Hester Monk is shocked - as much by the unexpectedness of the visit as by the reason for it. For since her marriage to Monk, Charles and his elegant wife, Imogen, have kept their distance. But now Charles needs Hester's help. He believes Imogen is having an affair - there can be no other explanation for her recent strange behaviour. However, before Hester is able to investigate, a tragedy occurs. In a nearby artist's studio two women have been brutally killed. Having left the police force with extreme ill feeling between himself and his superior, the last thing Monk wants to do is face the demons of his past. But, in the course of his work, Monk is left with no choice but to visit his old adversary, Runcorn, and involve himself with the sensational murder case.

Headline

Icebound

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Headline

The Servants of Twilight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz