Richard Laymon - The Stake - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755391844
    • Publication date:10 May 2012

The Stake

A corpse holds deadly secrets…

By Richard Laymon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A spine-chilling tale of horror for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. 'Laymon uses a typewriter ribbon soaked in cold blood' Burt Hirschfeld, author of Fire Island

'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King

In an abandoned hotel in a Californian ghost town, horror writer Larry Dunbar and his friends make a chilling discovery. By chance they stumble on a coffin hidden under the stairs. Within lies the corpse of a naked female - with a stake through its heart. Was she the innocent victim of a gruesome murder? Or was she a vampire? There's only one way for Larry to solve the mystery - he must pull out the stake...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747235484
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 1991
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Feature
Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe

The electrifying sequel to THE FREEDOM BROKER, featuring Thea Paris, a kidnap and ransom specialist. For Thea, kidnap is always personal - her brother's life was nearly ruined when he was taken as a child. Lisa Gardner says THE FREEDOM BROKER is 'clever and gritty' and Peter James calls it 'spellbinding'. If you like David Baldacci's King and Maxwell series, you will love this.When Thea Paris's flight is hijacked over the Libyan Desert, her first priority is the two former child soldiers she is escorting to a new life in London. As an international kidnap specialist, Thea Paris negotiates for hostage release as part of her job. She knows one wrong move could lead to deadly consequences. After she is forcibly separated from the boys and the other passengers, Thea and her tactical team quickly regroup. And in their desperate search for the hostages that follows, unearth a conspiracy involving the CIA, the Vatican and the Sicilian Mafia, and a plot far more sinister than Thea could ever have imagined.

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD - A RICHARD AND JUDY PICK 2017A top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner's next thriller following her runaway New York Times bestseller Find Her takes her wildly popular brand of suspense to new heights.Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives.Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified as the killer. Telly Ray Nash is on the hunt for Sharlah and as the death count rises it becomes clear that nothing and no-one, including Pierce and Rainie, will stop him getting to her.Now, Sharlah has one chance to take control. She can run for her life... or turn and face the danger right behind her.

Headline Review

The Letter

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline Review

Notorious Nineteen

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Dark Mountain

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

Alone (Detective D.D. Warren 1)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

The Third Victim (FBI Profiler 2)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

Amara

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

The Woods are Dark

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

Flesh

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

There's no escape... In Flesh, Richard Laymon writes a chilling tale of danger, infestation and death. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Joe Hill.'Fast-paced, weird, gruesome fun in the unique Laymon style' - Dean KoontzSomething deadly has come to town - a slimy, slithering... thing like nothing anyone has seen before. With its dull eyes and its hideous mouth, it's always hunting for a new host to burrow into, and humans are the perfect pray. But the truly shocking part is not what it does to you when it invades your body - but what it makes you do to others. What readers are saying about Flesh: 'Brilliant, addictive and very difficult to put down''A master of gore and shock-horror''Laymon's books are either brilliantly original, or twisted journeys to a very dark place...or perhaps both....'

Headline

Savage

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

Quake

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
Headline

Body Rides

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

A chance encounter throws Neal into a world of violence, danger and the supernatural... Body Rides is a bold and brilliant horror from the master of the macabre, Richard Laymon. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Joe Hill.Ever since the LA riots Neal has carried a pistol in his car - and tonight he needs it. He shoots a man assaulting a woman tied naked to a tree by the freeway. As a reward, Elise gives Neal a magic bracelet that enables him to step inside other people, to see through their eyes and experience their feelings. To take 'body rides'.Neal returns to check on the man he shot. But the man is not dead - he's alive and breathing vengeance. First he's going to finish the job on Elise, then he's going to butcher Neal. But this time, with the help of the bracelet, Neal can look inside his would-be killer's skull... What readers are saying about Body Rides: 'A wonderful book that at times was gruesome, at times laugh out loud''Having read all of Richard Laymon's books this is certainly one of the best, full of his normal twists, turns and crazy characters''Ridiculous? Yes. Fun? Always'

Headline

Come Out Tonight

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

The night promises more than one encounter for Sherry... In Come Out Tonight, Richard Laymon writes a chilling horror story full of suspense, dark humour and a deadly killer. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.'A grisly cocktail of horror, murder and mayhem laced with Laymon's distinct blend of black humour. Great stuff' - Yorkshire Evening PressSherry's getting nervous. When Duane left for the 24-hour Speed-D-Mart, he said he'd be back in ten minutes. But that was twenty minutes ago, and that store isn't someplace you'd generally want to go at this time of night. Then Sherry hears a noise from up the street. It could have been a car door slamming. Or a backfire. But it sounded like a gunshot. Sherry tells herself she has nothing to worry about. Still, she puts on her clothes and heads out into the night. She's afraid of what she'll find, but she has no idea of what's really in store for her. If she did, she would never have left the safety of her home. And she never would have met a madman named Toby Bones... What readers are saying about Come Out Tonight: 'It will have you gripped from start to finish and you won't want to put it down. The excitement and tension is out of this world' 'Sheer brilliance. The way the story keeps twisting and turning kept me turning the pages so fast I left scorch marks''Five stars'

Headline

The Lake

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

Don't go down to the lake, where the past and the present threaten to collide... In Richard Laymon's riveting horror The Lake, a mother and daughter are united in a nightmare of danger and terror. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.'White-hot pacing (with) rivers of blood... memorable evocation of the fathomless mystery of the moonlit hours' - Publishers WeeklyLeigh is young, rebellious and beautiful - and she yearns for a summer of excitement by the lake. Maybe she'll find it in the arms of the handsome boy who rows her out to the abandoned beach house. Or maybe she'll stumble into a legacy of terror which will shatter her life...Eighteen years on, Deana has no knowledge of her mother's troubled past and not that much interest. She just wants to make out somewhere cool with her boyfriend - to let her hair down and live a little. If only living were that simple. But that summer at the lake casts a long shadow. And when the horrors of the past meet the perils of the present, both mother and daughter are plunged into a nightmare of blood and terror from which there is no escape. What readers are saying about The Lake: 'This is a great book... [Laymon] is an excellent writer, and knows just how to keep you on tenterhooks''Engrossing from start to finish -I couldn't wait to see what was coming next...''Five stars'

Headline

No Sanctuary

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

Rick would do anything for his girlfriend Bert. He'd even spend his vacation in the wilderness, walking the trails around Fern Lake. After what happened last time, it's the one place in the world he'd prefer not to go. But Bert is a woman with a passion for the outdoors - and a passion for other things too. Rick would follow her to hell and back - which is what he's about to do. Gillian is off on vacation too, only her idea of a holiday is a little weird. She likes breaking into people's homes while they are away and living there. Pity that this time she chances on the home of a serial-killer. The kind of guy who likes to take his female victims out into the wilderness for his fun. Rick and Bert are not the only ones heading to Fern Lake...

Headline

Island

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King.When eight people are shipwrecked on a deserted island they take solace in the fact that at least they have fresh water, food and firewood. Now all they have to do is sit tight until they're rescued. There's just one problem - they're not alone. In the jungle behind the beach, there's a maniac on the loose and he's plotting to kill them all, one by one...

Feature

In the Dark

Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon

'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King Nothing much happens in Donnerville. Then librarian Jane Kerry receives an envelope containing a fifty-dollar bill and a note from 'MOG' (Master of Games) instructing her to 'Look homeward, angel'. Jane pulls Thomas Wolfe's novel of that title off the shelf and finds a second envelope with more money and another clue...This 'game' soon pushes Jane into crazy and immoral actions, but when she ties to quit, 'MOG' has other ideas.