Veronica Stallwood - Oxford Exit - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Oxford Exit

By Veronica Stallwood

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second gripping novel in the highly acclaimed Oxford series.

When novelist Kate Ivory is offered a special assignment by her friend at Oxford's famous Bodleian Library, she decides to accept. For the University's libraries have a serious problem: valuable books have been disappearing from their closely guarded collections. And Kate has to find out how. Then she begins to hear stories of an even more alarming disappearance of the year before - that of a young librarian subsequently found murdered. Could there be a connection?

Biographical Notes

Veronica Stallwood was born in London, educated abroad and now lives near Oxford. In the past she has worked at the Bodleian Library and more recently in New College library.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747248088
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 1994
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

A Knife to the Heart (Ikmen Mystery 21)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A body is found in the ruined Constantinople hippodrome: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the historic but now squalid areas of Istanbul that her enemy, property developer Ahmet Oden, seeks to destroy and rebuild. As Ikmen searches for the lost child and the truth behind her death, the people of Istanbul rise up in protest against their government in Gezi Park, and the city lurches into chaos and anger. Against this background, Ikmen will unravel a tale of ancient hostility and modern desires, where the truth is concealed within the secret history of this antique city.(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

Rooted in Evil (Campbell & Carter Mystery 5)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Broken

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Dead of Night (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 14)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Inner city murder crosses two continents.Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman from Istanbul are sent to a policing conference in Detroit, but little can prepare them for the corruption that lies at its heart. When Ezekial Goins, an elderly man of Turkish descent approaches them to crack the long-unsolved murder of his son, a quiet trip takes a far more sinister turn. As they delve deeper into the case, the pair find themselves immersed in a terrifying world of inter-gang drug war and racial prejudice that puts them in mortal danger, and forces Ikmen to confront some demons of his own...(P)2016 Headline Digital

Headline

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...On the Bone is the eighteenth novel in the brilliant Istanbul crime thriller series starring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Lindsey Davis. 'Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction' - Mail on Sunday On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?What readers are saying about On the Bone:'Combines beautifully honed storytelling and fascinating insights into life in Istanbul''One of her best yet''Fascinating in its depiction of the changed Turkish political landscape, and how that change affects the people of Istanbul from all walks of life, from the rich to the poor, the transsexuals to the young married couples, the police departments to the military'

Headline

Dead In The Water (Campbell & Carter Mystery 4)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

It is the wettest winter on record and as Christmas approaches the rivers burst their banks and the farmers' fields lie under several feet of water. In the village of Weston Saint Ambrose, a young girl's body is seen floating downstream and when it becomes stuck under the jetty at a reclusive writer's home, the author is alarmed to discover that he recognises the victim of a brutal murder...(P)2015 Headline 2015

Headline

Dead Souls

Elsebeth Egholm
Authors:
Elsebeth Egholm

On All Hallows' Eve, ex-convict Peter Boutrup is visiting his best friend's grave when her estranged mother appears. Her son, Magnus, has disappeared, and she begs Peter to look for him.The next day a young nun is pulled out of the moat at the convent in Djursland. She has been garrotted and Peter, who works there as a carpenter, was the last person to see her alive. Meanwhile, diver Kir Røjel finds an old box resting on the seabed. Inside are human bones. They are sixty years old, but the victim had also been garrotted.While Peter is looking for Magnus, Detective Mark Bille Hansen is assigned to the case. He is determined to link the bones in the box with the girl in the moat - but the hunt for the truth leads both he and Peter down a path so dark, they fear they may never return.

Headline

No Other Darkness (D.I. Marnie Rome 2)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary, winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN returns with the phenomenal follow-up to the critically acclaimed Richard and Judy pick. David Mark says that NO OTHER DARKNESS is 'truly mesmerising', with Eva Dolan calling it 'utterly gripping'. D.I. Marnie Rome is back with her most complex case to date.Two young boys.Trapped underground in a bunker.Unable to understand why they are there.Desperate for someone to find them.Slowly realising that no-one will...Five years later, the boys' bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome's career begins. Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them.For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this...Praise for SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN:'A stunning debut' Mark Billingham'A slick, stylish debut. And one that certainly got under my skin' Sharon Bolton'A truly engrossing read from an exceptional new talent. Hilary writes with a beguiling immediacy that pulls you straight into her world on the first page and leaves you bereft when you finish. Intelligent, emotional and totally unexpected in terms of where it goes. I truly loved this book' Alex Marwood

Headline

The Dead Pass

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

Hired to find the missing son of retired political activist Moira Doherty, Dan Starkey knows his new case is going to be challenging. Billy 'the Bear' Doherty isn't an easy man to find - a criminal with a nasty drug habit, his mum is convinced he's been murdered.But when Moira herself is killed, her body found floating in the waters under Londonderry's Peace Bridge, Dan finds himself in the middle of a deadly game of cat and mouse. Already in unfamiliar territory, Starkey is quickly embroiled in the city's porn and drug fuelled underworld, where a new generation of gangster terrorist is intent on creating mayhem their predecessors could only dream of ...

Headline

Someone Else's Skin (D.I. Marnie Rome 1): Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

Someone Else's Skin (D.I. Marnie Rome 1): Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

Body Count (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 16)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Death walks the streets of Istanbul...Follow Inspector Ikmen into the dangerous streets of Istanbul in the thrilling crime novel from Silver Dagger Award-winning writer Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Mario Giordano. 'Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant' - Literary Review Any bloody death will lead Inspectors Çetin Ikmen and Mehmet Süleyman out onto the dark streets of Istanbul. On 21 January, a half-decapitated corpse in the poor multicultural district of Tarlabasi poses a particularly frustrating and gruesome mystery. But as the months pass and the violence increases, it turns into a hunt for that rare phenomenon in the golden city on the Bosphorus: a serial killer.Desperate to uncover the killer's twisted logic as the body count rises, Ikmen and Süleyman find only more questions. How are the victims connected? What is the significance of the number 21? And how many Istanbullus must die before they find the answers?What readers are saying about Body Count:'Barbara Nadel has written another fascinating story in her addictive series of Cetin Ikmen''One of the best in this excellent and unusual crime series''If you like intrigue and mystery this book is for you'

Headline

Mohammed Maguire

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

When the Marines destroy a terrorist training camp in the Libyan desert, they also kill both the parents of a ten-year-old boy, Mohammed Maguire.Brought back to Ireland, the land of his mother's birth, young Mohammed is treated as a public relations commodity by both sides of an argument that he doesn't understand - but which he can see with the clear eyes of a child.Wickedly funny and wonderfully abrasive, MOHAMMED MAGUIRE is Bateman at his very best.

Headline

Fire and Brimstone

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Headline

Wild About Harry

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Headline

Cycle of Violence

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman