Marcia Willett - The Dipper - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390687
    • Publication date:10 Nov 2011

The Dipper

An uplifting novel of love, trust and friendship

By Marcia Willett

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A deeply moving novel that shows the strength of love and friendship in confronting the dark sorrows of life

In the depths of Dartmoor, Quentin and Clemmie Halliwell know that the onset of old age threatens their life together at The Grange. Phyllida Makepeace feels secure in her marriage to Alistair, but when a deep sorrow strikes them, she discovers that no one is untouched by human frailty. Claudia and Jeff Maynard seem the perfect couple. But they are hiding from the truth and Claudia is about to realise the shattering effects of denial. Turning to one another in their time of need, these friends and neighbours learn those vital lessons in how to love, forgive and, most importantly, how to trust again.

Biographical Notes

Marcia Willett was born in Somerset, the youngest of five girls. She now lives in Devon with her husband, Rodney.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747252023
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 1996
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Review

Untitled

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

1919: Sir Edward Horner, the most celebrated artist of his day, destroys his world-famous painting, The Little Birds, shortly before his death. But why?The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans is the unputdownable tale of a family torn apart and the house they lived in. Harriet writes the most delicious, epic stories from the heart since Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton.Millions around the world once queued up to see the painting that captured a perfect moment: Horner's two children, John and Eliza, playing in the garden of their magical, mysterious Nightingale House, the family home he and his wife created deep in the heart of the English countryside.But such moments cannot last for ever.Almost a century later, Horner's great-granddaughter Juliet inherits Nightingale House, now weighed down with unspoken secrets. Why would Ned Horner destroy The Little Birds - the thing he loved best? And can art historian Juliet untangle the web of passion and tragedy in his life and her own to discover the answer? Praise for Harriet Evans's novels:'She reels you in and then you're hooked, right to the last page' Patricia Scanlan'Atmospheric and altogether wonderful' Lesley Pearse'The immense feeling of place, the slow, irresistible sense of being drawn deep into the family and its story, and the strange hovering of menace somewhere in the idyll. Wonderful' Penny Vincenzi'Her characters are finely drawn . . . The result is that rare and lovely thing, an all-engaging and all-consuming drama' Daily Mail'Wonderful, engrossing . . . A triumph' Sophie Kinsella

Headline

Hey! Listen!

Steve McNeil
Authors:
Steve McNeil
Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Eternal

Playing For Keeps: Heartbreaker Bay Book 7

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Headline Eternal

Hot Winter Nights: Heartbreaker Bay Book 6

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Headline Review

Summer of Secrets

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

'I was completely enthralled' Kathryn HughesThe heart-breaking and unforgettable new novel from Nikola Scott about two women born decades apart caught up in dark secrets. Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.August 1939At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives...TodayChloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband's devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she's drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything...'The perfect summer read' Liz Trenow'I loved this touching exploration of love and its capacity for consolation and destruction... compelling and satisfying. It was beautifully written' Judith Lennox

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.

Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

HIDDEN LIVES is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, sure to appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for Judith Lennox: 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel' Daily MailA surprise inheritance reveals the hidden lives of two sisters, torn apart by tragedy...Following her grandmother's death, Rose Martineau inherits The Egg, an extraordinary house nestling in the Sussex countryside. She discovers that the mysterious house originally belonged to her grandmother's younger sister, Sadie, who Rose never knew existed. In her search to uncover why the sisters grew apart, Rose is drawn back into the glamorous and decadent world of the 1930s. Meanwhile, Rose's own life as a dutiful wife and mother is turned upside down by a sordid scandal that threatens to destroy her marriage. It is only once she has unravelled the secrets of Sadie's past that she is able to look to her own future...An epic tale of secrets, scandal, jealousy and passion spanning the twentieth century.

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Headline Review

You And Me, Always

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

The Olive Branch

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Can love bloom in the groves of Italy?Escape to Italy with The Olive Branch - the irresistible new novel from Jo Thomas, author of ebook bestseller The Oyster Catcher.'I loved it!' Katie Fforde You can buy almost anything online these days. For Ruthie Collins, it was an Italian farmhouse.Yet as she battles with a territorial goat and torrential rain just to get through the door of her new Italian home, the words of Ed, her ex, are ringing in her ears. She is daft, impetuous and irresponsible.But Ruthie is determined to turn things around and live the dream.First, though, she must win over her fiery neighbour, Marco Bellanouvo, and his family... Then there's the small matter of running an olive farm. As the seasons change and new roots are put down, olives and romance might just flourish in the warmth of the Mediterranean sun.What readers are saying about The Olive Branch:'Characters that come to life and each chapter comes with a smile. An uplifting and thoroughly enjoyable read providing a little escapism, a little romance and a lot of determination''A heart-warming book you will find hard to put down''A feel-good book. Great for a holiday read'

Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead... The Courtyard is a sensitive and compassionate story of an invaluable friendship that helps see two women through a time of crisis. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'She may not be as famous as Binchy or Pilcher but British writer Willett is just as gifted' - Booklist Nell Woodward and Gussie Merton make unlikely friends - one a young married woman and the other a lonely elderly lady. Nell's husband, John, is an estate agent fresh from the Navy, but he is ignorant of the outside world and, as others abandon the collapsing property market, he gets in deeper...It is at Nethercombe, the home of Gussie's nephew, Henry, that a refuge is found. Henry has developed and sold a cluster of cottages, known as The Courtyard, and the people who buy them form a bond of friendship that embraces Nell and Gussie. But it is going to take all their strength to withstand the crises ahead...What readers are saying about The Courtyard:'Her [Marcia Willett's] writing is crisp, fresh and very vivid and her characters are so ALIVE''Enjoyable and believable characters, simple storyline and wonderful description of the Devonshire countryside and surrounds''Engrossing'

Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Keep must remain in the family... Holding On is the stunning second novel in Marcia Willett's Chadwick Family chronicles set in Devonshire. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Fern Britton. Over the years, the magnificent Keep in Devon has provided a bolt hole for the Chadwick family. Now the five young cousins who grew up there have left home and their grandmother Freddy wonders anxiously whether she will live to see the arrival of the next generation. No matter what happens to them, she knows that The Keep must remain within the family, ready and waiting for their return.What readers are saying about Holding On:'The author is a genius at portraying characters and I felt I knew them personally very early on''The story of the Chadwick family is so compelling and I just couldn't put it down''Marcia Willett writes in such a way that you want to be part of this family'

Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Little Black Dress

Girl Racers

Janet Gover
Authors:
Janet Gover
Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

When recently-widowed Annie's god-daughter Pippa is abandoned by her husband, she insists that she comes to live with her. Frances and Stephen Ankerton are desperately worried about their son, Hugh, who wrongly blames himself for a fatal accident that took place nearly a year ago. While Frances turns to Annie for advice, Stephen finds a way to set Hugh's mind at rest... When Max Driver inherits some land on Dartmoor his dream becomes a reality. And a chance encounter with Frances leads to each and every one of them being touched by his warmth and enthusiasm. Soon he is an integral part of their lives and his determination to fulfil his own goal inspires the others to start over again.