Ann Granger - Keeping Bad Company - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Keeping Bad Company

By Ann Granger

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second compulsive Fran Varady crime novel in Ann Granger's stimulating series

Buying a coffee for down-and-out 'Alkie' Albie at Marylebone Station is Fran Varady's good deed for the day. But when the grateful Albie takes her into his confidence, Fran suddently finds herself launched on her second investigation. For Albie, though obviously fond of a drink and none too familiar with soup and water, is absolutely clear about one thing - he claims to be the only witness to the violent abduction of a young girl.

Although the police scornfully dismiss Albie's story as alcoholic hallucinations, Fran is determined to follow it up. And her suspicions seem to be spot on when she is warned off by her old sparring partner, Sergeant Parry, and then approached by a boyhood friend of her late father's, distraught over the kidnapping of his daughter. But this is only the beginning of Fran's investigation - days later, Alkie Albie is found dead ...

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747255765
  • Publication date: 05 Feb 1998
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Rooted In Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Rooted in Evil by Ann Granger is set in the Cotswold village of Weston Saint Ambrose and features Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in their fifth murder mystery.Carl Finch is a desperate man. Cut out of his stepfather's will, he is heavily in debt and unless he can persuade his stepsister Hattie to bail him out, he'll be in even more trouble. Hattie's husband Guy has never liked Carl and wants his wife's inheritance for his own use, so Hattie agrees to meet Carl in secret to discuss his predicament. Little does she realise that when she arrives at their meeting point in Crooked Man Wood she'll find Carl's dead body...

Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

DANGEROUS MINDS is a thrilling, adrenaline-fuelled adventure featuring unlikely sleuths Knight & Moon from Janet Evanovich, author of the New York Times bestseller CURIOUS MINDS, which introduced Knight and Moon, and beloved author of the No. 1 bestsellers in the Stephanie Plum series. A must-read for fans of Sue Grafton and J D Robb.Buddhist monk Wayan Bagus has lost his island of solitude and wants it back. The Pacific island had a mountain, beaches, a rainforest, and a volcano. And now it's gone. Poof! Vanished without a trace.Boyishly charming Emerson Knight likes nothing better than solving an unsolvable mystery. Finding a missing island is better than Christmas morning in the Knight household. When clues start leading to a dark and sinister secret, Emerson will need to assemble a crack team for help. Since a crack team isn't available, he enlists his cousin Vernon and Riley Moon. Riley Moon has a Harvard business degree and can shoot the eyes out of a grasshopper at fifty feet, but she can't figure out how to escape Emerson Knight's odd world. Vernon has been Emerson's loyal and enthusiastic partner in crime since childhood.Together, this mismatched trio will embark on a world-wide investigation that will expose a conspiracy one hundred years in the making.(P)2017 Random House Audio

Headline

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House. A crumbling Ottoman mansion, and once the home of a princess, it is a place associated with ill fortune. The princess's four children, now in old age, still live in separate apartments on different floors and are rumoured never to speak to each other. Then one of them is found dead, stabbed through the heart, and it is discovered that the other three siblings have met an identical fate. There is no sign of forced entry or burglary, and all evidence must be gained from letters and diaries, but as Inspector Ikmen digs into their past it becomes clear they have been harbouring a secret...Meanwhile a young couple are arrested for a series of seemingly random killings on the streets of Istanbul. They claim to have been squatting in the Devil's House. But this fiendish mystery is far from over and it will take Inspector Ikmen to the darkest and most devilish depths of this ancient city.

Headline

Before I Let You In

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

BEFORE I LET YOU IN is the brand new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 Kindle bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping'. If you don't know who is walking through the door, how do you know if you should let them in? Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Tracy Buchanan's NO TURNING BACK, Linda Green and B. A. Paris.Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .

Headline Review

Curious Minds

Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline Review

The Pursuit

Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Headline

Certain Signs That You Are Dead (Oslo Crime Files 4)

Torkil Damhaug
Authors:
Torkil Damhaug

CERTAIN SIGNS THAT YOU ARE DEAD is the fourth psychological thriller in Torkil Damhaug's Oslo Crime Files, a tense and dark quartet for fans of Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.Every killer leaves a trace.In Akershus University Hospital, a patient disappears into thin air.That evening, his body is found in a basement box-room, his throat cut.When retired forensic pathologist Jennifer Plåterud is called in to examine the dead man, she has no idea of just how closely she is involved in the murder herself.And in the merciless heat of summer, she will be forced to make connections she would have preferred to ignore... Praise for international bestseller Torkil Damhaug:'Delivered with maximum psychological intensity' Barry Forshaw, Independent'Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller' Evening Standard

Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

It is the wettest winter on record and as Christmas approaches the rivers burst their banks and the farmers' fields lie under several feet of water. In the village of Weston Saint Ambrose, a young girl's body is seen floating downstream and when it becomes stuck under the jetty at a reclusive writer's home, the author is alarmed to discover that he recognises the victim of a brutal murder...(P)2015 Headline 2015

Headline

A New York Christmas

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

New York, 1904. Jemima Pitt arrives in a city where new American money and old English aristocracy collide. She's here to chaperone her friend, Delphinia, who has crossed the ocean to marry one of New York's richest men, but Jemima discovers a secret that could destroy Phinnie's future. Drawn into the crisis, Jemima desperately wants to protect her friend. And she must use all her courage and wits to decide whom to trust, and how to thread her way through the snowy streets of this brash new city.A New York Christmas is the enthralling new festive tale from the master of Victorian mysteries.

Headline

Blood on the Water

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Commander William Monk: in search of justice, he will not stop until he has found the truth.It is a time of progress, with the Empire's interests expanding and the contentious new Suez Canal nearing completion. Many people stand to gain - and to lose - as the world rapidly changes.When a Thames pleasure boat is blown up with the loss of many lives, an Egyptian man is quickly sentenced to hang for the crime. But William Monk, head of the River Police, discovers the evidence was flawed. As he and his wife Hester investigate further, Monk begins to wonder if the wrong man was convicted. If justice itself has been tainted, exposing the true culprit will be far more dangerous...

Headline

As Serious As Death (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 5)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

The fifth thrilling mystery in Quintin Jardine's Primavera Blackstone series.Primavera Blackstone has finally found contentment by the Spanish sea. A fiercely protective single mother, she doesn't appreciate an offer of marriage. Nor does she welcome a blast from her murky Scottish past, retired cop Ricky Ross.Ricky now works for millionaire airline owner Jack Weighley - a powerful man to whom you don't say 'no'. Together Primavera and Ricky must investigate a series of assaults on Jack's aircraft. Are they acts of vandalism, or the sinister work of Catalan extremists? As Primavera and Ricky are drawn into events, and the body count rises, Primavera begins to understand the true meaning of 'till death us do part'...

Headline

The Testimony of the Hanged Man

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Hour Of Darkness (Bob Skinner series, Book 24)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Asking for Trouble

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

The ingenious and lively first novel in the wonderful Fran Varady crime series.Fran Varady is insolvent, unemployed and, though for the moment she's got the leaky roof of the squat she shares in Jubilee Street over her head, she'll very soon be homeless thanks to the council eviction department. Her dreams of becoming an actress, nurtured when her father and grandmother were still alive, seem a long way off. But Fran is a survivor ... which her former housemate, Terry, found hanging from the ceiling of her room, clearly is not.Terry, secretive and selfish, was far from popular with the rest of the household, but her death shakes the Jubilee Street Creative Artists' Commune, as the squat residents half jokingly call themselves. And, the more Fran discovers about the death of the young woman whose life briefly intersected with her own, the more she begins to see it was not all it first seemed.

Headline

Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Bricks and Mortality

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

BRICKS AND MORTALITY is the third Cotswold village mystery by Ann Granger, featuring Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter. It is sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders.In the cold light of dawn, a dead body is found entombed in the smouldering remains of a burnt-out Cotswold manor. Key House has stood empty for years, but its owner, Gervase Crown, is rumoured to have been seen in Weston St Ambrose prior to the blaze. Could he be responsible for the fire and the tragic death that followed, or was he in fact the intended target? As Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter begin their investigation it becomes clear that Gervase wasn't the most popular and his return reawakens old memories, not all of which are good.