Harry Bowling - When the Pedlar Called - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

When the Pedlar Called

By Harry Bowling

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747258834
  • Publication date: 03 Jun 1999
  • Page count: 448
Headline

The Farrans of Fellmonger Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

The Whispering Years

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Susan Parry is twenty-one and impatiently awaiting the return of her fiancé, Alan Woodley, from the army. Although her father has been dead for many years, Susan's memories of her parents' marriage are happy ones and she looks forward to the day when she and Alan can share in that happiness. But the discovery of some old letters soon forces her to face some bitter truths about her parents - and even the nature of love itself...

Headline

The Shadow Patrol

Alex Berenson
Authors:
Alex Berenson

A killer is on the loose . . .In 2009, the CIA officers in Afghanistan's Kabul Station received information from a reliable source regarding the whereabouts of Osama bin Laden. But when they followed the informant to bin Laden's apparent location, they discovered it was a deadly trap. The man blew himself up, taking the chief of station and several senior officers with him.Two years later, the station still hasn't recovered and the situation has deteriorated. Every initiative meets with failure. No one knows who to trust. In desperation, John Wells' old CIA bosses ask him to go over and investigate. Reluctantly, Wells agrees but what he finds when he gets there is more than a station in disarray. There is a full-blown military drug-smuggling operation underway, and worse, a traitor is leaking information to the Taliban. Americans are dying, and an American is responsible - and this is just the beginning. Only Wells stands in the traitor's way . . . for now.

Headline Review

The Last Summer

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn

A sweepingly epic and gloriously intimate commercial debut - a beautiful and haunting story of lost innocence and a powerful, enduring love.Clarissa is almost seventeen when the spell of her childhood is broken. It is 1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer - and the end of an era. Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university and staying with his mother, the housekeeper, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa.As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and another story unfolds: they are not the only people in love. Soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked by a war that changes their lives for ever.

Headline Review

Prophecy: Death of an Empire

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume

Merlin's epic quest continues as he journeys to Constantinople in search of his father.Myrddion Emrys of Segontium is the product of a brutal rape, but when King Vortigern hints at his father's identity, Myrddion embarks on a journey across France and Italy to Constantinople.  It is a voyage that is to turn the young healer into a man of great renown. Serving under General Flavius Aetius at the Battle of the Catalaunian Plains, Myrddion saves the lives of thousands of warriors and, on his arrival in Rome, he heals many more, including Cleoxenes, Envoy to Emperor Theodosius of the East, on his way to a delegation with Attila the Hun.  But a deadlier conflict between Emperor Valentinian of the West and Senator Petronius Maximus is still to come and Myrddion must use all his strength to carry out his work in a world that is evil.

Headline

Ice Force

Matt Lynn
Authors:
Matt Lynn
Headline

No One Left To Tell

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

Break of Dawn

Rita Bradshaw
Authors:
Rita Bradshaw

Each day brings a new beginning...Her mother's death in childbirth leaves Sophy Hutton at the mercy of her cruel aunt and uncle, and her childhood is brutal. At sixteen, Sophy learns the shocking truth behind her birth and escapes to London to pursue a career as an actress, determined to put the past behind her.But life for women at the turn of the century is fraught with danger and Sophy soon discovers the darker side to London's glamorous theatres. Young and innocent, she doesn't recognise the man who really loves her when he appears; instead she is charmed into marrying handsome actor Toby Shawe, a flawed and amoral individual. Then the heartache really begins...

Headline

One More for Saddler Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

For the families in Saddler Street, drama is always just around the corner. Harry Bowling's post-war saga, One More For Saddler Street, is a tale of the families that inhabit one East End London street, and the dramas and events that make up their lives. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly Court. Saddler Street is like many of the other little backstreets of Bermondsey, with its row of two-up, two-down terraced houses standing in the shadow of Allen's Wharf.Number 5 is home to the Johnson family, but the atmosphere inside the four walls is not always as happy as the neighbours may think. Lana Johnson - young, intelligent and strikingly attractive - is getting serious with the local small-time villain, Ben Ferris. And everyone except Lana herself is sure that the match will end in tears.Next door to the Johnsons lives Lottie Curtis, a kind-hearted widow they have taken under their wing. For decades Lottie has been foster mother to children from broken homes. Only Jimmy Bailey has ever demonstrated in a practical way the debt he owed to Lottie - until the war intervened and he was called up. But it's 1946 and Lottie is facing her eightieth birthday alone. When Jimmy, now demobbed, teams up with Lana to organise a reunion of all the old lady's children as a birthday treat, there's more than one surprise in store... What readers are saying about One More For Saddler Street: 'I am hooked on Harry Bowling books! Fantastic storytelling puts you right into the action''Once again I find myself engrossed in the Bermondsey back streets as the folk go about their daily lives'

Headline

Whispers

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Sometimes the past really does come back to haunt you...The old manor house has stood empty for years, left to rot since the last master of the Fenton family died. Until Jess Beddows steps inside, and feels she has come home. Against her family's wishes, she buys the house, promising to bring it back to life. Upstairs, in an attic room left untouched for a century or more, she finds a journal. It holds the heartbreaking tale of Martha, and of the cruel, entangled lives of the house's servants and masters nearly two hundred years before. As Jess is drawn into their tragedy, the whispers begin. Before long, everything she loves will be threatened by violent emotion and long-kept secrets. Can she survive the echoes from the past?

Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

The enthralling novel from Victoria Hislop, the million-copy bestselling author of THE ISLAND and THE RETURN.Thessaloniki, 1917. As Dimitri Komninos is born, a devastating fire sweeps through the thriving Greek city where Christians, Jews and Muslims live side by side. Five years later, Katerina Sarafoglou's home in Asia Minor is destroyed by the Turkish army. Losing her mother in the chaos, she flees across the sea to an unknown destination in Greece. Soon her life will become entwined with Dimitri's, and with the story of the city itself, as war, fear and persecution begin to divide its people.Thessaloniki, 2007. A young Anglo-Greek hears his grandparents' life story for the first time and realises he has a decision to make. For many decades, they have looked after the memories and treasures of the people who were forced to leave. Should he become their next custodian and make this city his home?

Headline Review

666 Charing Cross Road

Paul Magrs
Authors:
Paul Magrs
Headline

Nine Inches

' Bateman
Authors:
' Bateman

Dan Starkey, the ducking and diving hapless investigator, takes centre stage again in this brilliant new novel by the master of comic crime.Radio shock-jock and self-styled people's champion Jack Caramac is used to courting controversy - but when his four-year-old son is kidnapped for just one hour, and then sent back with a warning note, he knows he may have finally gone too far. Jack has no choice but to turn to Dan Starkey for help. Recently chucked by his long-suffering wife Patricia, Dan has finally given up on journalism and is now providing a boutique, bespoke service for important people with difficult problems. Dan resolves to catch whoever kidnapped Jack's son - and very soon finds himself in the middle of a violent feud between rival drug gangs, pursued by jealous husbands, unscrupulous property developers and vicious killers as the case spirals ever more out of his control...

Headline

Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute

Jonathan L. Howard
Authors:
Jonathan L. Howard
Headline

The Gods of Atlantis

David Gibbins
Authors:
David Gibbins
Headline

Waggoner's Way

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Waggoner's Way is a small back street in Bermondsey, home to a close-knit community of predominantly railway folk and their families. The Brennans and Kellys are among those who live there. They have been friends for years; Joe Brennan works as a train driver, Tom Kelly as a shunter; and Ada and Mary, their wives, patiently spend much of their time trying to entangle their children's tangled love lives. And, together, they help one another survive the worst of times.

Headline

That Summer in Eagle Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

As Time Goes By

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

AS TIME GOES BY by is a vivid portrayal of an East End community struggling to survive the horror of the Blitz. Carter Lane is an ordinary backstreet in Bermondsey and, for Dolly and Mick Flynn, it is home. They've raised their family with not much money but lots of love. When World War Two breaks out they know that nothing will be quite the same again. As the Blitz starts to take its toll and the close-knit community in Carter Lane endures the sorrows and partings which they had dreaded above all else, they find comfort in one another and solace in the knowledge that their wounds will eventually heal - as time goes by. AS TIME GOES BY by is a vivid portrayal of an East End community struggling to survive the horror of the Blitz.

Headline

The Glory and the Shame

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Backstreet Child

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling