Harry Bowling - When the Pedlar Called - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

When the Pedlar Called

By Harry Bowling

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780747258834
  • Publication date: 03 Jun 1999
  • Page count: 448
Headline

The Whispering Years

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

The Shadow Patrol

Alex Berenson
Authors:
Alex Berenson

A killer is on the loose . . .In 2009, the CIA officers in Afghanistan's Kabul Station received information from a reliable source regarding the whereabouts of Osama bin Laden. But when they followed the informant to bin Laden's apparent location, they discovered it was a deadly trap. The man blew himself up, taking the chief of station and several senior officers with him.Two years later, the station still hasn't recovered and the situation has deteriorated. Every initiative meets with failure. No one knows who to trust. In desperation, John Wells' old CIA bosses ask him to go over and investigate. Reluctantly, Wells agrees but what he finds when he gets there is more than a station in disarray. There is a full-blown military drug-smuggling operation underway, and worse, a traitor is leaking information to the Taliban. Americans are dying, and an American is responsible - and this is just the beginning. Only Wells stands in the traitor's way . . . for now.

Headline

That Summer in Eagle Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline Review

The Last Summer

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn

A sweepingly epic and gloriously intimate commercial debut - a beautiful and haunting story of lost innocence and a powerful, enduring love.Clarissa is almost seventeen when the spell of her childhood is broken. It is 1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer - and the end of an era. Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university and staying with his mother, the housekeeper, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa.As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and another story unfolds: they are not the only people in love. Soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked by a war that changes their lives for ever.

Headline Review

Prophecy: Death of an Empire

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume

Merlin's epic quest continues as he journeys to Constantinople in search of his father.Myrddion Emrys of Segontium is the product of a brutal rape, but when King Vortigern hints at his father's identity, Myrddion embarks on a journey across France and Italy to Constantinople.  It is a voyage that is to turn the young healer into a man of great renown. Serving under General Flavius Aetius at the Battle of the Catalaunian Plains, Myrddion saves the lives of thousands of warriors and, on his arrival in Rome, he heals many more, including Cleoxenes, Envoy to Emperor Theodosius of the East, on his way to a delegation with Attila the Hun.  But a deadlier conflict between Emperor Valentinian of the West and Senator Petronius Maximus is still to come and Myrddion must use all his strength to carry out his work in a world that is evil.

Headline

Ice Force

Matt Lynn
Authors:
Matt Lynn

The fourth book in the brilliant Death Force series plunges the elite squad of hardened mercenaries into a deadly battle for survival in the frozen wastelands of the Arctic. A plane carrying a Russian oil billionaire has crashed mysteriously in the Arctic in the middle of a brutal winter. Nobody knows why, nor can they locate the aircraft's black box. With only days left before the signal switches itself off, the men from 'Death Force' are hired by a rival billionaire to make one last desperate bid to find the black box. But when they finally locate the plane, they also uncover a deadly secret. This was no ordinary crash. There's a reason why the black box went missing. And soon they find themselves on the run for their lives, battling an unseen enemy, across the world's most terrifying landscape. Caught up in a vast conspiracy to control the world's last great reserves of oil, the men from 'Death Force' must fight the most overwhelming odds they have ever faced just to stay alive.

Headline

No One Left To Tell

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

The thirteenth fantastic thriller from Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose. It may be unlucky for some...Will anyone live to tell the tale?If one more woman should accidentally fall, there'll be no more women and...Ramon Muñoz has spent five years in prison, convicted of a murder his family is convinced he did not commit. Unable to get the courts to take them seriously, they turn to private investigator Paige Holden for help.Paige cannot resist the family's pleas. But when Ramon's wife, having just handed her the evidence that will help prove his innocence, is brutally executed in front of her eyes, Paige is thrown headlong into a case which will place her life into jeopardy.As Paige risks everything to prove Ramon was set up, she comes to realise that there is more at stake if Ramon is freed than she could have ever guessed. Can Paige stay alive long enough to unmask an unstoppable killer who will not rest until there's no one left to tell?

Headline

Break of Dawn

Rita Bradshaw
Authors:
Rita Bradshaw

Each day brings a new beginning...Her mother's death in childbirth leaves Sophy Hutton at the mercy of her cruel aunt and uncle, and her childhood is brutal. At sixteen, Sophy learns the shocking truth behind her birth and escapes to London to pursue a career as an actress, determined to put the past behind her.But life for women at the turn of the century is fraught with danger and Sophy soon discovers the darker side to London's glamorous theatres. Young and innocent, she doesn't recognise the man who really loves her when he appears; instead she is charmed into marrying handsome actor Toby Shawe, a flawed and amoral individual. Then the heartache really begins...

Headline

As Time Goes By

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Heart-breaking and compelling, this is the story of a community in its darkest, and yet finest, hour. As Time Goes By is a vivid portrayal of an East End community struggling to survive the horror of the Blitz, from much-loved author, Harry Bowling. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Cathy Sharp.Carter Lane is an ordinary backstreet in Bermondsey and, for Dolly and Mick Flynn, it is home. They've raised their family with not much money but lots of love. When World War Two breaks out, they know that nothing will be quite the same again. As the Blitz starts to take its toll and the close-knit community in Carter Lane endures the sorrows and partings which they had dreaded above all else, they find comfort in one another and solace in the knowledge that their wounds will eventually heal - as time goes by. What readers are saying about As Time Goes By: 'I have read all of Harry Bowling's books and have enjoyed every one. This book makes you feel like you know each one of the characters personally. I became so absorbed in their lives I was disappointed that it came to an end''Well done Harry! Yet another cracking book. All the characters are brought to life. You can actually imagine the way everyone lives. I have read all Harry Bowling's books and loved every one!''Could not put it down - read it in 48 hours'

Headline

One More for Saddler Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Whispers

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Sometimes the past really does come back to haunt you...The old manor house has stood empty for years, left to rot since the last master of the Fenton family died. Until Jess Beddows steps inside, and feels she has come home. Against her family's wishes, she buys the house, promising to bring it back to life. Upstairs, in an attic room left untouched for a century or more, she finds a journal. It holds the heartbreaking tale of Martha, and of the cruel, entangled lives of the house's servants and masters nearly two hundred years before. As Jess is drawn into their tragedy, the whispers begin. Before long, everything she loves will be threatened by violent emotion and long-kept secrets. Can she survive the echoes from the past?

Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline Review

666 Charing Cross Road

Paul Magrs
Authors:
Paul Magrs
Headline

Nine Inches

' Bateman
Authors:
' Bateman
Headline

Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute

Jonathan L. Howard
Authors:
Jonathan L. Howard
Headline

The Gods of Atlantis

David Gibbins
Authors:
David Gibbins

A thrilling standalone sequel to ATLANTIS, David Gibbins' international bestseller of high-action adventure, marine archaeology and the exploration of one of history's most fascinating and enduring mysteries. A lost Nazi bunker in a forest in Germany contains a dreadful secret. But is there a horrifying new dimension - another ingredient in the Nazi's rule of terror? Marine archaeologist Jack Howard returns to the lost island of Atlantis in the Black Sea to answer questions about the Atlantis priests that have plagued him. Then by tracking down the 1930s expeditions of Himmler's Ahnenerbe - the Nazi's Department of Cultural Heritage - and its link with Atlantis, Jack realises he is not just on the trail of the greatest lost relics from the past. Could there possibly be a terrifying new version of 'Atlantis', a priesthood of evil? Jack must uncover the truth before it is too late.

Headline

Waggoner's Way

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Waggoner's Way is a small back street in Bermondsey, home to a close-knit community of predominantly railway folk and their families. The Brennans and Kellys are among those who live there. They have been friends for years; Joe Brennan works as a train driver, Tom Kelly as a shunter; and Ada and Mary, their wives, patiently spend much of their time trying to entangle their children's tangled love lives. And, together, they help one another survive the worst of times.

Headline

The Glory and the Shame

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

The Farrans of Fellmonger Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Backstreet Child

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Salmon Lane is a quiet Bermondsey backstreet lined with modest brick houses and paved with cobbles. For Carrie Tanner it's home. She's worked hard to build her own business and has earned the grudging respect of her business rivals - even the Galloways, both father and son. Personal feuds, though, are overshadowed by the outbreak of the Second World War, which brings the terrors of the Blitz to the neighbourhood. This close-knit community is forced to draw on all their reserves of courage and humour to survive the difficulties of poverty, rationing and nightly air raids. And even as the men are called up, go missing in action or are killed, and homes are bombed, their extraordinary Cockney spirit shines through ...