Julie Highmore - Country Loving - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351046
    • Publication date:20 Jan 2003

Country Loving

By Julie Highmore

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

'She writes wonderfully well... fresh, crisp and delicious' Wendy Holden

Life slows down alarmingly from the moment Ruby Grant and Oliver move into Troy Cottage. Free at last from her two grown-up yet persistently dependent children, Ruby plans to start writing her novel - until her daughter, Poppy, turns up with boyfriend and dog in tow, announces she's pregnant and moves into Ruby's office. Then Josh needs somewhere to do his washing, and her father wants to stay...



Despite this, Ruby finds village life surprisingly seductive, especially when she meets Hamish, the handsome journalist who is eager to help with her investigations for the parish magazine. There's surely no harm in a little crush - but can Ruby avoid the hazards of country loving?

Biographical Notes

Julie Highmore was born in Surrey. She has worked as a reader for OUP Children's Books, copy-edited academic work and taught English. She lives in Oxfordshire and has three independent grown-up children. This is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755300709
  • Publication date: 20 Jan 2003
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline Review
It's lovely. It's delightful. It's funny and observant and truthful... I really, really liked it — Philip Pullman
'Fresh, pacy country comedy written in a short, sharp, almost diary, form, and highly addictive' Bookseller — Bookseller
'A funny and compulsive read' Choice Magazine — Choice Magazine
She writes wonderfully well. Her style is restrained and supremely confident , pruned of unnecessary detail and sparkling with mordant wit.... Pacy and witty, Highmore's take on the country comedy is as fresh, crisp and delicious as a new organic carrot. An extremely promising debut — Express
'Entertaining and full of sharp wit and comic characters' Dorset Echo — Dorset Echo
I have read COUNTRY LOVING and enjoyed it. I like her totally unsentimental angle on country living, and the eccentric and quirky characters... It will do well — Rosamunde Pilcher
Julie Highmore's warm-hearted novel COUNTRY LOVING, about moving to the country, revels in the hazards of the rural life as well as its seductive attractions — Publishing News
'Engaging... Lighthearted, spirited and gentle too' Bangor & Anglesey Mail — Bangor & Anglesey Mail
Funny, original and dazzlingly assured. I adored everything about this excellent book — Jill Mansell
So enjoyable... It's a lovely read — Catherine Alliott
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill

In the vein of Hannah Kent's Burial Rites, THE WATCH HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the nineteenth century, with dramatic consequences for a young woman named Nuala.As the twentieth century dawns on the island of Rathlin, a place ravaged by storms and haunted by past tragedies, Nuala Byrne is faced with a difficult decision. Abandoned by her family for the new world, she receives a proposal from the island's aging tailor. For the price of a roof over her head, she accepts.Meanwhile the island is alive with gossip about the strangers who have arrived from the mainland, armed with mysterious equipment which can reportedly steal a person's words and transmit them through thin air. When Nuala is sent to cook for these men - engineers, who have been sent to Rathlin by Marconi to conduct experiments in the use of wireless telegraphy - she encounters an Italian named Gabriel, who offers her the chance to equip herself with new skills and knowledge. As her friendship with Gabriel opens up horizons beyond the rocky and treacherous cliffs of her island home, Nuala begins to realise that her deal with the tailor was a bargain she should never have struck.

Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

The unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS.It begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things. And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael,who are inseparable. And the boys become men,and then Annie walks into their lives,and it changes nothing and everything.Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living.

Headline Review

The Image of You

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

A classic novel, heartbreaking and emotional, from Sunday Times bestselling writer Josephine Cox, 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' Manchester Evening News. A Time For Us is perfect for fans of Lesley Pearse and Rosie Goodwin. Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.

Headline

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told. They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.

Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's gripping new novel. Reviewers adore Sheila's books: 'Smart and twisty' ***** Heat; 'Fantastic' BellaLola Fitzpatrick is bright and ambitious but she's also headstrong and stubborn. When one evening, out of the blue, she has to make a life-changing choice, she decides quickly and rashly. And without a piece of vital information that might have changed everything.Lola's daughter Bey has inherited Lola's determined nature. Yet her impulsive reactions place her in danger, leading her to run away from what she wants most. And then, one night, she's standing in front of the man she loves, with her own choice to make...For both Lola and Bey, everything changes in a moment. But their biggest mistakes might also turn out to be their greatest opportunities...

Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .

Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt
Headline

My Sister

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams
Headline

Her Husband's Lover

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRETLaurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.This is how children change...and then change the world.This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and joyful new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...'Funny, bouncy, romantic and brilliantly written' 5 *s Heat

Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz