Julie Highmore - Play it Again? - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351060
    • Publication date:12 Jun 2004

Play it Again?

By Julie Highmore

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

'A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life' Publishing News

In the wilds of Norfolk, Dylan is mending his broken heart by rebuilding his house. Next door, Ellie gazes longingly at him over the fence, while her mother Fliss contemplates a school reunion. Should she risk an encounter with her first crush?

Meanwhile Dylan's once-famous father Alex, arriving a little late in his son's life, is also recalling the perils of first love - but will Marie return Alex's renewed affection? Can an old rock star recapture the magic of his first hit?

Biographical Notes

Julie Highmore was born in Surrey. She has worked as a reader for OUP Children's Books, copy-edited academic work and taught English. She lives in Oxfordshire and has three grown-up children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755306091
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Compulsive reading — Express
'A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life' Publishing News — Publishing News
'A hilarious and honest look at everyday life' Sun — Sun
A hilarious and honest look at everyday life — Sun
'Compulsive reading' Express — Express
A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life — Publishing News
Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Eternal

Love to Hate You

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Headline

A Christmas Return (Christmas Novella 15)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

TWENTY-ONE DAYS is the first in an exciting new generation of Pitt novels, featuring Daniel Pitt, by New York Times bestseller and queen of Victorian crime, Anne Perry.1910. Sir Thomas Pitt's son, Daniel, is in the middle of his first case as a barrister when he is summoned to the Old Bailey for an important trial. Renowned biographer Russell Graves is charged with the brutal murder of his wife and Daniel must assist in his defence.When the jury finds the accused guilty, Graves insists he has been framed. He is writing a shocking exposé of a powerful figure, revealing state secrets so damning that someone might well have wanted to silence him.With the reputations of those closest to him at stake, Daniel has twenty-one days to uncover the truth and ensure that an innocent man isn't sent to the gallows . . .'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction' New York Times

Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe: The most heartwarming, romantic winter read of 2017

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline Eternal

Finding You

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson
Headline Eternal

Almost a Bride

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson

'I couldn't stop laughing ... this was outstanding' Goodreads reviewer Newly single. Holiday of a lifetime. Bumping into 'the ex'. Jo Watson's ALMOST A BRIDE whisks you away to Mauritius in this riot of a rom-com. Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Lucy Vine's HOT MESS and Coleen Coleman's DON'T STOP ME NOW . That moment you catch your boyfriend in bed with another woman and then mistakenly get arrested. #awks Annie doesn't want to dwell on the fact that she walked in on her bf wearing nipple clamps on the day he was meant to propose to her. She just wants to move on - cue escaping to a tropical paradise.Life is dreamy on the beaches of Mauritius, until the nightmarish appearance of her ex and the 'other woman'. Faced with the enemy, Annie refuses to look like the sad, lonely single she actually is. She needs a decoy - and fast. Enter Chris, a sexy screenwriter who agrees to play her pretend boyfriend.But as a battle of the exes commences, the white sand, tropical heat and a pina colada (or five) might just be the cocktail for a real romance - and the adventure of a lifetime. For more laugh-out-loud, swoon-worthy hijinks from Jo Watson, don't miss FINDING YOU and BURNING MOON.

Headline Eternal

Burning Moon

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson

'I'm kicking myself for not reading this book sooner!' Goodreads reviewer We promise this romcom will make you laugh out loud! Again and again and again. Perfect for fans of Lucy Vine's HOT MESS, Jenny Oliver's THE SUMMER HOUSE BY THE SEA, Holly Martin's SUMMER AT BUTTERCUP BEACH and Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH. Chase your dreams. Dance under the stars. Fall in love at the festival of Burning Moon.WARNING: Being jilted at the altar in front of 500 wedding guests can lead to irrational behaviour, such as going on your honeymoon to Thailand alone.On the way to paradise, symptoms may include getting arrested, setting yourself on fire, turning up on a 'Missing Poster' and going viral.Side-effects may include desert island stranding, star gazing and jungle trekking.Recovery will lead to partying the night away at Burning Moon festival - and falling in love with the person you least expect...For more hilarious, romantic hijinks, look out for Jo's other unmissable rom-coms, Almost A Bride and Finding You.

Headline Review

Millie's Fling

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

To The Moon And Back

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

No. 1 bestselling author Jill Mansell writes with sensitivity and optimism about love, loss and new beginnings in TO THE MOON AND BACK. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Veronica Henry. When Ellie Kendall tragically loses her husband she feels her life is over. But eventually she's ready for a new start - at work, that is. She doesn't need a new man when she has a certain secret visitor to keep her company... Moving to North London, Ellie meets neighbour Roo who has a secret of her own. Can the girls sort out their lives? Guilt is a powerful emotion, but a lot can happen in a year in Primrose Hill...(P)2011 Isis Publishing

Headline Review

Head Over Heels

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

You And Me, Always

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

Between Gods

Alison Pick
Authors:
Alison Pick

From Alison Pick, the Man-Booker longlisted author of FAR TO GO, comes an unforgettable memoir about family secrets, depression, and the author's journey to reconnect with her Jewish identity.Shortlisted for the Jewish Quarterly Wingate Prize 2016Alison Pick was born in the 1970s and raised in a loving, supportive family, but as a teenager she made a discovery that changed her understanding of who she was for ever. She learned that her Pick grandparents, who had escaped from Czechoslovakia during WWII, were Jewish, and that most of this side of the family had died in concentration camps. At this stage she realised that her own father had kept this a secret from Alison and her sister. Engaged to be married to her longterm boyfriend but in the grip of a crippling depression, Alison began to uncover her Jewish heritage, a quest which challenged all her assumptions about her faith, her future, and what it meant to raise a family. An unusual and gripping story, told with all the nuance and drama of a novel, this is a memoir illuminated with heartbreaking insight into the very real lives of the dead, and hard-won hope for all those who carry on after.

Headline Review

My Mother's Secret

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's MY MOTHER'S SECRET is a thought-provoking and unputdownable novel about a family reeling from the news that nothing about their parents' marriage is what they believed it to be. A wonderful read perfect for fans of Veronica Henry and Lisa Jewell.When Steffie helps her two siblings organize a surprise wedding anniversary party for their parents her only worry is whether they'll be pleased. What she doesn't know is this is the day that her whole world will be turned upside down.Jenny wants to be able to celebrate her ruby anniversary with the man she loves, but for forty years she has kept a secret. A secret that she can't bear to hide any longer. But is it ever the right time to hurt the people closest to you?As the entire family gather to toast the happy couple, they're expecting a day to remember. The trouble is, it's not going to be for the reasons they imagined...(P)2015 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline Review

Things We Never Say

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's unputdownable bestseller THINGS WE NEVER SAY is a must-read for fans of Marian Keyes and Veronica Henry. The things we never say:A daughter doesn't say how she feels about the past...A husband is afraid to say that selling the house his wife loves is the only option...A woman hasn't said that even though they live thousands of miles apart, this man is always on her mind...If those things were said, the results could be life-changing. As Abbey - and a whole family she knew nothing of - are about to find out in this warm-hearted, thought-provoking and touching novel.What readers are saying about Things We Never Say: 'The pace was lively - I just flew through the book. Lots of drama, family skeletons to be dug up, relationship dynamics to be explored and all in a fun, breezy writing style' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A truly feel-good story with lots of twists and turns' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'What I enjoyed about this book was I never quite knew what was going to happen next. Families, greed, deception, secrets and a touch of romance - all I would ask for in a story' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Another brilliant book from Sheila O'Flanagan. I was drawn into the story right from the first chapter. Great characters and a great storyline' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Headline

Heart-shaped Bruise

Tanya Byrne
Authors:
Tanya Byrne
Headline Review

All For You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's No. 1 bestseller ALL FOR YOU is a wonderfully engaging read not to be missed by fans of Lisa Jewell and Jane Green. 'A good summer read' HeatWinner of the Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year AwardAs TV's favourite weather forecaster, Lainey is good at making predictions. But what she doesn't foresee is that her own life is about to hit a stormy patch. With a string of failed relationships behind her, surely history isn't about to repeat itself with her beloved Ken? To add fuel to the fire, her career-woman mother is returning to Dublin. Deanna has never approved of Lainey's decisions about men, and her mother's views are the last thing Lainey wants to hear now!Yet is there more to her mother than she knows? Uncovering some long-concealed family secrets, Lainey begins to reassess her life. Is the happy-ever-after she's always dreamed of really what she wants after all?What readers are saying about All For You: 'As usual, Sheila O'Flanagan never fails to entertain. I would recommend this highly' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'A brilliant read. Well written and researched and no idea how it would end - her best book by far' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Unputdownable - I loved this book!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars