Julie Highmore - Play it Again? - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351060
    • Publication date:12 Jun 2004

Play it Again?

By Julie Highmore

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

'A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life' Publishing News

In the wilds of Norfolk, Dylan is mending his broken heart by rebuilding his house. Next door, Ellie gazes longingly at him over the fence, while her mother Fliss contemplates a school reunion. Should she risk an encounter with her first crush?

Meanwhile Dylan's once-famous father Alex, arriving a little late in his son's life, is also recalling the perils of first love - but will Marie return Alex's renewed affection? Can an old rock star recapture the magic of his first hit?

Biographical Notes

Julie Highmore was born in Surrey. She has worked as a reader for OUP Children's Books, copy-edited academic work and taught English. She lives in Oxfordshire and has three grown-up children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755306091
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Compulsive reading — Express
'A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life' Publishing News — Publishing News
'A hilarious and honest look at everyday life' Sun — Sun
A hilarious and honest look at everyday life — Sun
'Compulsive reading' Express — Express
A real feel-good read, full of funny scenes and one-liners, [a] seductive story of love, music and family life — Publishing News
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill

In the vein of Hannah Kent's Burial Rites, THE WATCH HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the nineteenth century, with dramatic consequences for a young woman named Nuala.As the twentieth century dawns on the island of Rathlin, a place ravaged by storms and haunted by past tragedies, Nuala Byrne is faced with a difficult decision. Abandoned by her family for the new world, she receives a proposal from the island's aging tailor. For the price of a roof over her head, she accepts.Meanwhile the island is alive with gossip about the strangers who have arrived from the mainland, armed with mysterious equipment which can reportedly steal a person's words and transmit them through thin air. When Nuala is sent to cook for these men - engineers, who have been sent to Rathlin by Marconi to conduct experiments in the use of wireless telegraphy - she encounters an Italian named Gabriel, who offers her the chance to equip herself with new skills and knowledge. As her friendship with Gabriel opens up horizons beyond the rocky and treacherous cliffs of her island home, Nuala begins to realise that her deal with the tailor was a bargain she should never have struck.

Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

The Image of You

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

'Seductive and mysterious...the perfect novel to while away a summer's afternoon' Express on The House on Sunset Lake. The Hamptons is the beautiful, atmospheric setting for Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry's stunning new novel about a woman who becomes fascinated by the story of a female resident who recently died in mysterious circumstances. Fans of the TV show The Affair will love this novel.

Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's irresistible novel transports you straight to the mountains of Crete. A gorgeous, sun-filled new read from the author of THE OYSTER CATCHER, THE OLIVE BRANCH, and LATE SUMMER IN THE VINEYARD.We never forget the one who got away.Eighteen years ago Nell fell in love in the mountains of Crete and life changed for ever. Nell's daughter, Demi, has never met her dad. Nell never saw him again.When she gets the chance to return to the hilltop town of Vounoplagia - where everything began - Nell can't resist the urge to go back and find him.Working on a honey farm perched high up in the hills, there's plenty to keep her busy. And she will quickly realise the town harbours just as many secrets as she does.But if Nell's favourite romantic films are right, there's a happy ending in store for each of us. All she has to do is seek out the magic of the mountains...Jo Thomas takes you there.

Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

A classic novel, heartbreaking and emotional, from Sunday Times bestselling writer Josephine Cox, 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' Manchester Evening News. A Time For Us is perfect for fans of Lesley Pearse and Rosie Goodwin. Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.

Headline

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.'Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away' Paula HawkinsWhen her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden - thirty two years old and still living at home - immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime. Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie's unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie's uncle to take care of a problem.This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.

Headline

My Sister

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams

MY SISTER by Michelle Adams is an addictive, twisty, shocking debut thriller - an intimate tale of family secrets that will grip readers who devoured Clare Mackintosh's I LET YOU GO and S.K. Tremayne's THE ICE TWINS.My name is Irini. I was given away.My name is Elle. I was kept. All her life Irini thought she was given away because her family didn't want her. What if the truth is something worse?Two sisters. Two separate lives.One family bound by a harrowing secret.

Headline

Her Husband's Lover

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch

A woman has to stop her rival from ruining her life in HER HUSBAND'S LOVER, the stunning new novel from the acclaimed Julia Crouch. 'Psychological thrillers don't come much better than this' Clare Mackintosh She stole her husband. Now she wants to take her life.After the horrors of the past, Louisa Williams is desperate to make a clean start.Her husband Sam is dead. Her children, too, are gone, victims of the car accident in which he died. Sam said that she would never get away from him. That he would hound her to death if she tried to leave. Louisa never thought that he would want to harm their children though. But then she never thought that he would betray her with a woman like Sophie.And now Sophie is determined to take all that Louisa has left. She wants to destroy her reputation and to take what she thinks is owed her - the life she would have had if Sam had lived.Her husband's lover wants to take her life. The only question is will Louisa let her?

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and joyful new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...'Funny, bouncy, romantic and brilliantly written' 5 *s Heat

Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Rachael Leben's violently possessive ex-husband, Eric, hideously mangled in a freak accident, is dead. But his body has disappeared from the city morgue. Now someone, or something, is watching Rachael. Calling her. Stalking her. And though no one will believe her, she knows who it is; that his walking corpse is a grotesque mockery of life, and his brilliant, warped mind, once again 'alive', is seething with jealous rage, seeking an unspeakable revenge.