Joan Jonker - The Girl From Number 22 - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390380
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2012

The Girl From Number 22

A heart-warming saga of friendship, love and community

By Joan Jonker

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A warm-hearted and ebullient story of neighbours and relationships

It's the end of an era for Ada Fenwick and Hetty Watson when their neighbour Eliza Porter decides to leave her home after nigh on sixty years. The new family who moves into Eliza's old house seems quiet and respectable at first. Ada and Hetty welcome them as friends, while Ada's son Danny can't help but notice the pretty girl from Number 22.

But all is not what it seems. For Tom Phillips is a bullying drunkard and his wife and children live in fear of his violent attaks. When Ada and Hetty find out, they rally the neighbours to help protect the family. Then fate steps in and life for the Phillips family changes for ever.

Biographical Notes

Joan Jonker was born and bred in Liverpool. She led a rich and varied life and was devoted to her family. Before writing novels, she worked tirelessly for the charity-run organisation Victims of Violence which she founded in 1976. Sadly, Joan died in 2006, but she is remembered fondly by her family and friends and her multitude of fans.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755321230
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2005
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Tuppenny Child

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young

From the author of Belle of the Back Streets, a dramatically powerful saga of secrets, friendship, motherhood, love and betrayal, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.'She's not worth more than tuppence, that child!' Those are the words that haunt Sadie Linthorpe. She is the talk of Ryhope when she arrives there, aged seventeen, alone, seeking work and a home in the pit village. But Sadie is keeping a secret - she is searching for her baby girl who was taken from her at birth a year ago and cruelly sold by the child's grandmother. All that Sadie knows about the family who took her daughter is that they live in Ryhope. And the only thing she knows about her daughter is that when the baby was born, she had a birthmark on one shoulder that resembled a tiny ladybird. But as Sadie's quest begins, a visitor from her past appears - one who could jeopardise the life she's beginning to build and ruin her chances of finding her beloved child for ever...

Tinder Press

The Den

Abi Maxwell
Authors:
Abi Maxwell
Headline

Pirata: The Pirate Chief

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The fifth episode in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews. AD 25. Mighty Rome is reclaiming control of the pirate-haunted seas, endangering the livelihoods of the pirate crews. Despite their hard-won fighting skills, the pirates are losing. Until one man, a black flag captain like no others, steps in to challenge the Roman enemy ...A vast fleet of pirate ships has gathered, black pennants fluttering in the breeze. On board are men who would slit each other's throats rather than work together. They have sailed from all directions, reluctant and suspicious, at the request of the notorious pirate Telemachus, the new captain of the Poseidon's Trident. They come in honour of the fallen Bulla, Telemachus's predecessor, not for the young upstart. But Telemachus has a message they can't ignore. The Ravenna fleet, under the command of the ruthless Prefect Canis, has destroyed their trade and devastated many of their hideouts. Once the prevailing sea power, the brotherhood of pirates now live in fear. Telemachus has a bold plan: rather than flee or hide, attack. Fighting is in the pirates' blood. If they can entice the warships out of Ravenna, the pirate force will outnumber the remaining Romans. Then, anything is possible. For every pirate present, there's a glimpse of a future ruling the waves again. And for Telemachus, the chance to save his brother Nereus, languishing in a Roman cell. Do or die, with nothing to lose ...Episode five in the PIRATA ebook novella series.

Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline

Hope for the Best

Jodi Taylor
Authors:
Jodi Taylor

The tenth book in the bestselling Chronicles of St Mary's series which follows a group of tea-soaked disaster magnets as they hurtle their way around History. If you love Jasper Fforde or Ben Aaronovitch, you won't be able to resist Jodi Taylor.You can't change History. History doesn't like it. There are always consequences.Max is no stranger to taking matters into her own hands. Especially when she's had A Brilliant Idea. Yes, it will mean breaking a few rules, but - as Max always says - they're not her rules.Seconded to the Time Police to join in the hunt for the renegade Clive Ronan, Max is a long way from St Mary's. But life in the future does have its plus points - although not for long.A problem with the Time Map reveals chaos in the 16th century and the wrong Tudor queen on the throne. History has gone rogue, there's a St Mary's team right in the firing line and Max must step up.You know what they say. Hope for the best. But plan for the worst. Readers love Jodi Taylor: 'Once in a while, I discover an author who changes everything... Jodi Taylor and her protagonista Madeleine "Max" Maxwell have seduced me''A great mix of British proper-ness and humour with a large dollop of historical fun''Addictive. I wish St Mary's was real and I was a part of it''Jodi Taylor has an imagination that gets me completely hooked''A tour de force'

Headline

Pirata: Sea of Blood

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

Pirata: Hunters of the Sea

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Pirata: The Gates of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Pirata: The Black Flag

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

Filled with characters you'll fall in love with, VICTORY GIRLS is Helen Carey's new World War Two saga about the resilient residents of a south London street. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening StandardAugust 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over.Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever.Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old.Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road.What readers are saying about VICTORY GIRLS:'I laughed, cried and once again I found I just couldn't stop reading. Wonderful characters, a gripping storyline and great wartime detail' 'The girls' lives are embedded in fascinating historical detail and I almost felt I was a Lavender Road resident watching events unfold. The storyline is gripping right up to the final pages''The characters are finely drawn, and it was interesting to follow them on their various journeys. Excellent'

Headline

The Sister's Secret

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline Review

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Emily Gunnis
Authors:
Emily Gunnis
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline

Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The Sunday Times bestsellerAD 54. Claudius is dead. Rome is in turmoil. And two brave heroes of the Roman army face the challenge of their lives. Simon Scarrow's DAY OF THE CAESARS is not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. 'A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy' The TimesThe Emperor Claudius is dead. Nero rules. His half-brother Britannicus has also laid claim to the throne. A bloody power struggle is underway. All Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro want is a simple army life, fighting with their brave and loyal men. But Cato has caught the eye of rival factions determined to get him on their side. To survive, Cato must play a cunning game, and enlist the help of the one man in the Empire he can trust: Macro.As the rebel force grows, legionaries and Praetorian Guards are moved like chess pieces by powerful and shadowy figures. A political game has created the ultimate military challenge. Can civil war be averted? The future of the Empire is in Cato's hands...IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

Headline

Night of the Lightbringer (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 28)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne
Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews