Sarah Challis - Jumping to Conclusions - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755376513
    • Publication date:04 Mar 2010

Jumping to Conclusions

By Sarah Challis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Warmth, humour and characters you would want to gossip with yourself

Point-to-point jockey Jess Haddon has maintained a resolute silence about the identity of the father of her little daughter, Izzy. But that hasn't stopped the rumours swirling around their small Dorset village. Izzy's adoring grandmother Belinda is not the only one who believes Jess must have had a fling with charming Johnnie Bearsden before he moved to America with his family.



Belinda is certain Jess's secret cannot be kept for ever. And when she discovers Johnnie is back in the area, she knows everything is about to change. Sooner or later the story must break, and when it does, there will surely be terrible consequences.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Challis, whose father is the distinguished cinematographer, Christopher Challis, travelled widely with film units as a child. She has since lived in Scotland and California but is now happily settled in a Dorset village. She is married with four sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755321667
  • Publication date: 02 Jan 2006
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

THE NO. 1 EBOOK BESTSELLER'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** Heat Sheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. ThenWhen Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's new to Dublin and loving it. He's used to getting what he wants...and she can't resist him. Until one night he forces her to make an impossible choice.If she'd known then what she knows now, everything might have been different.NowLola's daughter Bey has inherited her mother's impulsive streak and it takes her down dangerous paths.Then one night she too finds herself in front of a man she loves, with impossible choices of her own to make.For both women, what happened that night changes everything. For better. For worse. For ever.What readers are saying about What Happened That Night: 'Brilliant book from start to finish. Another smash from Sheila O'Flanagan' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'A great, warm, life-affirming read that is not your traditional 'romcom', but offers so much more' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'This is an exquisite book - everyone who loves a family story will love this book. Ready to change your life?' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Excellent book. I looked forward to reading it every day on my commute... On one occasion I was so engrossed I missed my stop' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

The deliciously funny SUNDAY TIMES bestseller: perfect for summerOne little mistake and nothing will ever be the same again!On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding...On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn't accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she wouldn't have moved into the attic flat on the square. She would never have met Conor. Or got to know Lucas...And she wouldn't have found herself falling in love with someone she really, really shouldn't fall in love with... 'One of my favourite writers' Katie Fforde'The queen of witty, heart-warming, feel-good love stories' Red 'Reading Jill is always such a joy!' Veronica Henry'Jill Mansell just gets better and better' Heat ***** 'A fab, feel-good read' Prima'A page-turner' Look

Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore. Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

Headline Review

The Lonely Desert

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Sometimes, the end of a journey is just the beginning...Emily and Clemmie's lives changed for ever when they took their great aunt's ashes to rest in a strange and exotic land. Clemmie stayed behind to begin a new life in the Mali desert, but now Emily fears for her cousin's safety. Returning to Africa with her new husband and two friends, she is determined to find out why Clemmie seems so desperately to need her help. Divinity is travelling to Mali to satisfy her curiosity about the land her father came from, and to source new materials for her design company. She doesn't expect the chaos and adventure she finds - nor the danger that seems to grow as her little group begin to make its way across the desert towards Clemmie...

Headline Review

The Butterfly Cabinet

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill

An unforgettable story of two women linked by their roles in a tragedy at the end of the Victorian era, THE BUTTERFLY CABINET by Bernie McGill will appeal to fans of THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX or THE SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICHER, and was singled out by Julian Fellowes as his Book of the Year in the Guardian.When Anna, the young woman she cared for as a child, announces her intention to visit the elderly Maddie, Maddie recognises her last chance to unburden herself of a story that has gnawed at her for sixty years. For Maddie, rather like the butterfly cabinet she keeps safely under lock and key, has for too long guarded a secret: that of the day a four-year-old girl died at the big house where she worked as a nanny. Finally, Maddie knows, Anna is ready to hear what happened. As Maddie's mind drifts back through the years, so too is revealed the story of Charlotte's mother, Harriet Ormond. A proud, uncompromising woman, Harriet's great passion is collecting butterflies and pinning them under glass; motherhood comes no easier to her than her role as mistress of her remote Irish estate. When her daughter dies, her community is quick to judge her, and Harriet will not stoop to defend herself. But her journals reveal a more complex truth.

Headline Review

The Garden Party

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

Love and Other Secrets

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

Killing Helen

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Headline Review

Blackthorn Winter

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Headline Review

That Summer Affair

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

Footprints in the Sand

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

On Dancing Hill

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Kate and Josh Hutchins have lived on Dancing Hill Farm in Dorset for thirty years. Here they have brought up three children, expected to grow old, and imagined they would pass the farm on to one of their boys, like generations of family before them. But things have not gone to plan. Neither of their sons wants the farm, their daughter is in love with a man with no real liking for the countryside, and Dancing Hill itself is no longer the profitable place it was once.And Kate is restless. Longing for some time to herself, dreaming of what she might have achieved had she not married so young. When her children give her a week's painting holiday in Provence she seizes it like a lifeline, hardly realising what a dangerous thing it is that she is doing.

Headline Review

Turning for Home

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Deirdre Purcell

Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.

Dylan Lawson

Dylan Lawson is a screenwriter whose credits include Twin Peaks and The X-Files. Dylan lives with his wife and dog in Montana.

Elinor Lipman

Elinor Lipman`s sharp, funny, life-enhancing fiction is loved by readers everywhere, and by writers as varied as Anita Shreve and Nigella Lawson, Maggie O`Farrell and Carol Shields. Her novels include The Inn at Lake Devine, Isabel`s Bed and The Way Men Act. Lipman`s novel Then She Found Me was the basis for a major film of the same name, released in 2008. She lives in New York.

Elisabeth Elo

Elisabeth Elo was born in Los Angeles but grew up near Boston, and has lived for much of her adult life close to the Atlantic. With three older siblings who became fanatical sailors and time spent at sea herself with fishermen friends, Elisabeth has a real understanding of the ocean and those who sail on it, which inspired NORTH OF BOSTON. Her essays and short stories have appeared in a variety of publications and her fiction has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She teaches writing at Boston College and lives with her family in Massachusetts.

Elizabeth L Silver

Elizabeth Silver qualified as an attorney and has practised in Texas and California. She has a particular interest in capital punishment and has visited death row, interviewing inmates and meeting with victim and inmate family members. She has studied Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia as well as in the US. THE EXECUTION OF NOA P SINGLETON is Elizabeth's first novel.

Elsebeth Egholm

Elsebeth Egholm is a Danish author and journalist who lives in Jutland, Denmark. She has written ten books and in 2011 published Three Dog Night which was the start of a new series introducing ex-convict Peter Boutrup and was an instant bestseller.