Sarah Challis - Jumping to Conclusions - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755376513
    • Publication date:04 Mar 2010

Jumping to Conclusions

By Sarah Challis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Warmth, humour and characters you would want to gossip with yourself

Point-to-point jockey Jess Haddon has maintained a resolute silence about the identity of the father of her little daughter, Izzy. But that hasn't stopped the rumours swirling around their small Dorset village. Izzy's adoring grandmother Belinda is not the only one who believes Jess must have had a fling with charming Johnnie Bearsden before he moved to America with his family.



Belinda is certain Jess's secret cannot be kept for ever. And when she discovers Johnnie is back in the area, she knows everything is about to change. Sooner or later the story must break, and when it does, there will surely be terrible consequences.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Challis, whose father is the distinguished cinematographer, Christopher Challis, travelled widely with film units as a child. She has since lived in Scotland and California but is now happily settled in a Dorset village. She is married with four sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755321667
  • Publication date: 02 Jan 2006
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

Summer of Secrets

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

SUMMER OF SECRETS is Nikola Scott's heart-breaking and unforgettable new novel about two women born decades apart caught up in dark secrets. Not to be missed by readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.August 1939. At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives...Today. Chloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband's devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she's drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything...

Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale that is 'like the best kind of holiday' (Lucy Diamond).It's time for Beti Winter to dance to her own beat. After three failed engagements Beti is in desperate need of a fresh start. What better place than the sun-drenched hills of southern Spain?But it's not all sangria and siestas. Beti finds work on an old Andalucian cherry farm where there are cherries to be picked, trees to be watered and her fiery boss, Antonio, to win over. As the sun toasts her skin, Beti finds herself warming to the Spanish way of life. Embracing the art of flamenco, she discovers there is much to learn from the dance of passion. She just has to let loose and listen to the rhythm of her heart. Jo Thomas takes you there.

Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Shark Club: The perfect romantic summer beach read

Ann Kidd Taylor
Authors:
Ann Kidd Taylor

How do you choose between your first love and a sizzling new romance? A delicious beach read set on a beautiful Florida island, perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. 'A quintessential summer read' Marie ClaireOn a summer day in 1988, two extraordinary things happen to twelve-year-old Maeve Donnelly. First, she is kissed by Daniel, the boy of her dreams. Then, she is attacked by a shark.Eighteen years later, Maeve is a world-travelling biologist, swimming with the animals that once threatened her life. She is on the brink of a relationship with a fellow diver. Yet, as she returns to the idyllic island where she grew up, she is haunted by memories of Daniel, her first love, and what might have been. A meeting with a sweet six-year-old girl fascinated by sharks draws Maeve back into Daniel's life. Suddenly she's awash in old feelings. Will she forgive Daniel for the mistakes of their youth? Or will she open her heart to Nicholas, the handsome colleague who shares her passion for the ocean?

Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker
Headline Review

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

An epic tale of passion and betrayal, that moves through the turbulence of war to 1960s' London and is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller.But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambition, lies a cruel and ruthless man. And when dashing politician Gillis Sinclair comes to stay at Marsh Court, Juliet is drawn to his irresistible charm.So begins a passionate affair that will have consequences far beyond anything Juliet imagines. For Gillis Sinclair is hiding a dark secret and, as the next generation of Wintertons grows up, Juliet fears that they, too, will be tainted by the past...

Headline Review

Late Summer in the Vineyard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

'Love this book ... makes me want to live on a vineyard in the South of France!' Lisa Zupan, Producer of P.S. I Love You Escape to France with LATE SUMMER IN THE VINEYARD - Jo Thomas's irresistible follow-up to THE OYSTER CATCHER and THE OLIVE BRANCH. 'A fabulous French feast of fun' Milly JohnsonEmmy Bridges has always looked out for others. Now it's time to put down roots of her own.Working for a wine-maker in France is the opportunity of a lifetime for Emmy. Even if she doesn't know a thing about wine - beyond what's on offer at the local supermarket.There's plenty to get to grips with in the rustic town of Petit Frère. Emmy's new work friends need more than a little winning over. Then there's her infuriatingly brash tutor, Isaac, and the enigmatic Madame Beaumont, tucked away in her vineyard of secrets.But Emmy will soon realise that in life - just as in wine-making - the best things happen when you let go and trust your instincts. Particularly when there's romance in the air... Readers love Jo Thomas's feel-good fiction: 'Sheer romcom brilliance!' Heat'A heart-warming tale... Perfect escapism' Marie Claire'This book is scrumptious! I couldn't stop reading' Katie Fforde'A full-bodied tale with hints of humour and romance which can be enjoyed at any time of year' Sun'What a gorgeous book! Reading it felt like the best kind of holiday' Lucy Diamond'A warm-hearted, sparkling gem... I loved it!' Miranda Dickinson'Sunny and funny...as warm as a south-facing vineyard. It made me want to rush to France tout suite!' Veronica Henry'Captures the essence of France from the vineyards and chateaux to the glorious sunshine and of course, the wine' Cathy Bramley** Jo Thomas's magical new novel THE HONEY FARM ON THE HILL is out now!**

Headline Review

My Mother's Secret

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The Guest Cottage

Nancy Thayer
Authors:
Nancy Thayer
Headline Review

The Lonely Desert

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

The Garden Party

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

The perfect family celebration requires the perfect family... Alice Dunlop knows the best things in life are free. But the approach of her 40 th wedding anniversary and 60 th birthday surely warrants a proper celebration. With visions of a glorious family gathering complete with a marquee, champagne and beautiful sunshine, Alice has big plans for the big day. Her husband David isn't so enthused. He seems to have lost his lust for life since retiring from his job. And he's not the only one who isn't in the mood to celebrate. Each of Alice and David's four grown-up children has their own problems to contend with and things aren't going as smoothly as any of them had hoped. As Alice focuses on preparations for the party, her family begins to unravel around her. Even her husband's sudden rise from apathy isn't as great a blessing as it first appears. It's only a matter of time before Alice 's special day is at risk of disaster...

Headline Review

Turning for Home

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

Blackthorn Winter

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Headline Review

On Dancing Hill

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline Review

Footprints in the Sand

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Headline Review

That Summer Affair

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Headline Review

Love and Other Secrets

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline Review

Killing Helen

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis

Starting an affair with Robert is easy. Bored with the awkward, boorish single men of her own age and flattered by the confident attentions of a handsome stranger, Harriet is excited by the idea of a lustful friendship, as Robert chooses to describe it. A commitment-free fling is ideal, and the existence of a wife is a minor inconvenience. But then Harriet finds out about his other mistress...

Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett