Sarah Challis - Jumping to Conclusions - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755376513
    • Publication date:04 Mar 2010

Jumping to Conclusions

By Sarah Challis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Warmth, humour and characters you would want to gossip with yourself

Point-to-point jockey Jess Haddon has maintained a resolute silence about the identity of the father of her little daughter, Izzy. But that hasn't stopped the rumours swirling around their small Dorset village. Izzy's adoring grandmother Belinda is not the only one who believes Jess must have had a fling with charming Johnnie Bearsden before he moved to America with his family.



Belinda is certain Jess's secret cannot be kept for ever. And when she discovers Johnnie is back in the area, she knows everything is about to change. Sooner or later the story must break, and when it does, there will surely be terrible consequences.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Challis, whose father is the distinguished cinematographer, Christopher Challis, travelled widely with film units as a child. She has since lived in Scotland and California but is now happily settled in a Dorset village. She is married with four sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755321667
  • Publication date: 02 Jan 2006
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

The Shark Club: The perfect romantic summer beach read

Ann Kidd Taylor
Authors:
Ann Kidd Taylor

How do you choose between your first love and a sizzling new romance? A delicious beach read set on a beautiful Florida island, perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. 'A quintessential summer read' Marie ClaireOn a summer day in 1988, two extraordinary things happen to twelve-year-old Maeve Donnelly. First, she is kissed by Daniel, the boy of her dreams. Then, she is attacked by a shark.Eighteen years later, Maeve is a world-travelling biologist, swimming with the animals that once threatened her life. She is on the brink of a relationship with a fellow diver. Yet, as she returns to the idyllic island where she grew up, she is haunted by memories of Daniel, her first love, and what might have been. A meeting with a sweet six-year-old girl fascinated by sharks draws Maeve back into Daniel's life. Suddenly she's awash in old feelings. Will she forgive Daniel for the mistakes of their youth? Or will she open her heart to Nicholas, the handsome colleague who shares her passion for the ocean?

Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Christmas With You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker

Uncover the secrets of Edward Fairfax Rochester, the beloved, enigmatic hero of Jane Eyre, as he tells his story for the first time in Mr Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker's gorgeous retelling of one of the most romantic stories in literature.

Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's THE MISSING WIFE - the riveting story of a woman determined to escape, the man who wants to find her and the friends and family unaware of the dark truth. Set in the glorious, sunny south of France.Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her... Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

Headline

Meant To Be

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

A novella from Joy Chambers, the bestselling author of THE GREAT DECEPTION, NONE BUT THE BRAVE and FOR FREEDOM, written to mark the seventieth anniversary of V-E Day.It is 1935. The first shadows of war are creeping across Europe, but in Queensland, Australia, a young woman caught in a thunderstorm is about to meet the person who will change her life forever.Lexi Robinson is a long way from home. A recently qualified doctor about to take up a position in a Hong Kong hospital, she knows her own mind and refuses to fall for a man she will never see again.John Drayton Whitby is a soldier. Tall and fair, and quick to grin, he spends his last few days of leave preoccupied with thoughts of a girl whose name he does not know, but whose face he cannot forget...

Headline

Caroline's War: Vale Valhalla

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

Before Caroline can find peace, the world must go to war. The epic World War I saga from bestselling author Joy Chambers, for fans of Pam Jenoff and Margaret Leroy.One hundred years after the conflict, the men who fought in the Great War have all but faded away, and only the memory of their sacrifice will be preserved. Between 1914 and 1918 soldiers from all over the world converged on the trenches of Belgium and Northern France: from Australia and New Zealand, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, Wales and the far reaches of the British Empire they came to fight alongside the Belgians and the French.CAROLINE'S WAR: VALE VALHALLA is a compelling, epic novel that follows the lives of a group of Australians through the years prior to, and during, the First World War. At the heart, is the constant life-long hatred between two mortal enemies and the woman who loves one of these men with an abiding passion yet marries the other: Matthew Craken, flamboyant dilettante; John Conrad Fleet, the steadfast, honest soldier; and Caroline Dere the woman in both their lives. When Matthew is badly injured by John Conrad in a fight over the death of John Conrad's sister, Matthew takes retribution by ensuring he captures Caro for himself.Their story is played out against the searing background of the First World War where ultimately Matthew, John Conrad and Caro find that the power of forgiveness can bring peace.*Published in print as VALE VALHALLA

Headline

The Soldier's Choice

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline Review

The Lonely Desert

Sarah Challis
Authors:
Sarah Challis
Headline

The Great Deception

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

Winning Through

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Mayfield

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

In the grandest wedding the small western plains town of Bathurst has ever seen, Eve Herman, without position or money, is marrying John Stuart Wakeman, one of the richest, most influential men in the land. Before their wedding day is over Australia's most wanted man, the bushranger Alan Fletcher, will have held up their coach and altered all their lives... Alan Fletcher: aristocrat and Royal Naval Captain, wrongly convicted of murder and transported to New South Wales for life. Eve Herman: American orphan, abandoned in Sydney town and left to survive by her wits and courage. John Stuart Wakeman: the owner of fabled Mayfield, Australia's largest and most prosperous cattle property. Mayfield is their story: from the streets of Southampton to the vast bush country of New South Wales and across the world to the city of old Boston, USA.

Headline

My Zulu, Myself

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

From the moment John Lockley saves the Zulu boy, Darlengi, from drowning they almost believe they are true brothers; born on the same day, never knowing their mothers, they spend their formative years together sharing a deep and abiding love for their country of South Africa. But when loves intervenes in the young men's lives, tragedy appears, and all they hold dear is threatened as they fight to maintain a relationship across cultures and a deeply divided nation.

Headline

For Freedom

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

None But the Brave

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

'We belong to a special branch of the armed forces. We're interested in people who speak foreign languages and who are young and fit. Who could be trained in hand-to-hand combat, to jump out of aircraft, scale walls and who wouldn't mind doing things which come under the heading of dangerous.'John Baron Chard, orphaned as a baby and brought up in Australia, is unaware that the family he loves is not his own. When his life is thrown into turmoil, he leaves for England to join the RAF as war looms over Europe. Samantha Chard, young and headstrong, is a pioneer woman photographer. When she cannot have the man she loves, she marries Cashman Slade - a union with disasterous consequences. Cashman Slade, charismatic and arrogant, discovers an easy way to live in style when his father squanders the family's wealth. But nothing is free, and as Cash flees from his past he is forced to make his stand in the world's greatest conflict. None But the Brave sweeps these three courageous people into the battlefield as it travels from France to Great Britain to the Australian bush and back again in a gripping insight into a fascinating period of our past.

Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

George Lampeter certainly isn't looking for a wife but as soon as the forty-three-year-old submarine commander sets eyes on Thea, twenty years his junior, he's found his partner for life. Just about everyone knows of George's long-standing affair with Felicity Mainwaring, the intimidating wife of a naval colleague. Her husband's death the previous year had prompted many to speculate that George would end up marrying his formidable mistress. No one expected it more than Felicity herself and as her letters and calls to George go unanswered she becomes suspicious. He somehow manages to duck Felicity's attempts to contact him long enough to marry Thea, and the couple embark on a harmonious life together in the heart of rural Devon. Thea enjoys matrimony immensely and through the naval network, finds a soul mate in Polly, another youthful bride, but not with such an understanding husband. But everything changes for Thea and George when she mentions that an old friend of his had dropped in for a chat while he was in London - Felicity Mainwaring.

Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett