Simon Scarrow - Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755353439
    • Publication date:08 Jan 2009
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472237149
    • Publication date:15 May 2017
Books in this series

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

By Simon Scarrow

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The third novel in Simon Scarrow's epic quartet of novels about Wellington and Napoleon, chronicling the campaigns and politics that would lead them both to the Battle of Waterloo. A Sunday Times bestseller.

The bestselling third book in Simon Scarrow's Wellington and Napoleon quartet focusing on two giants of European history, Wellington and Napoleon.

In the early years of the nineteenth century, Arthur Wellesley (elevated to Viscount Wellington in the course of the novel) and Napoleon Bonaparte are well established as men of military genius. Wellesley has returned from India, where his skill and bravery made a remarkable impression on his superiors. He faces trials and tribulations on the political scene before becoming embroiled militarily in Copenhagen, then Portugal and finally Spain. Napoleon, established as Emperor, is cementing his control on Europe, intending finally to crush his hated foe across the Channel: Great Britain. The time is fast approaching when Wellington and Napoleon will come face to face in confrontation - and only one man can emerge victorious...

Biographical Notes

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently INVICTUS, BRITANNIA, BROTHERS IN BLOOD and PRAETORIAN, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the novels ARENA and INVADER.

Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755324385
  • Publication date: 11 Jun 2009
  • Page count: 672
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'One of history's most fascinating adversarial pairings is that of Napoleon and Wellington, and Simon Scarrow's quartet of books, of which this is the third, offer a vivid description of the two lives in tandem... The last book in the quartet cannot come quickly enough' — Daily Mail
'The last book in the quartet cannot come quickly enough' — Daily Mail
'Scarrow provides a thrilling tale that makes the journey well worthwhile' — Good Reading, Australia
'A splendidly informative, vivid and absorbing historical novel' — The Witness, Australia
Headline

Between the Lies

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams
Wildfire

No Time to Cry

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald

From one of the UK's biggest crime writers - the man brought you the bestselling Inspector McLean novels - comes a phenomenal new series guaranteed to have your heart in your mouth. Undercover ops are always dangerous, but DC Constance Fairchild never expected things to go this wrong. Returning to their base of operations, an anonymous office in a shabby neighbourhood, she finds the bloodied body of her boss, and friend, DI Pete Copperthwaite. He's been executed - a single shot to the head. In the aftermath, it seems someone in the Met is determined to make sure that blame for the wrecked operation falls squarely on Con's shoulders. She is cut loose and cast out, angry and alone with her grief... right until the moment someone also tries to put a bullet through her head.There's no place to hide, and no time to cry.

Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

After Anna

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline

Internationally bestselling author Lisa Scottoline returns with this gripping, twisting thriller that will keep fans of Jenny Blackhurst's THE FOSTER CHILD and Shari Lapena's THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR guessing until the very end.Everyone deserves a second chance at happiness.Dr Noah Alderman, a widower and single father, is finally content after marrying the wonderful Maggie. And they're both thrilled when Maggie gets an unexpected chance to be a mother to Anna, the daughter she once thought she'd lost forever. But when seventeen-year-old Anna arrives everything changes - and the darkest turn of events will shatter their lives in ways no one could have imagined.What if your perfect family becomes your worst nightmare?Praise for Lisa Scottoline:'Scottoline is a powerhouse' David Baldacci 'One of the very best writers at work today' Michael ConnellyScottoline writes riveting thrillers that keep me up all night, with plots that twist and turn.' Harlan Coben

Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe
Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS. THE MUST-READ THRILLER OF 2018... Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Some readers find her...'Obsessed and delusional' 'Like Glenn Close in Fatal Attraction... on steroids!' 'Single white female... from the other side''Truly the most psychotic girlfriend' 'Completely unhinged ... but you just can't help rooting for her'-----------------Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him. They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...------------------'Brilliant and terrifying' Fiona Cummins, author of RATTLE'So addictive it should come with a warning' Alice Feeney, author of SOMETIMES I LIE'One of the best twisted narrators I've ever read' C.J. Tudor, author of THE CHALK MAN'Thrillingly different and totally gripping. I loved it!' Laura Marshall, author of FRIEND REQUEST

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

Watch Me Disappear

Janelle Brown
Authors:
Janelle Brown
Headline

The Fear Within

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline

Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Foster Child: 'a sleep-with-the-lights-on thriller'

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Headline

Playing With Death: the terrifying new thriller from the number one bestselling author

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis

'This fast, furious, twisty thriller kept me on the edge of my seat' Chris Ryan'If Stephen King had collaborated with Michael Crichton on a thriller, it might have been as good as this' Peterborough Evening TelegraphA UNEXPLAINED DEATHThe discovery of a horribly mutilated corpse launches FBI Agent Rose Blake into a puzzling investigation. The victim was alone at home with no signs of forced entry. Who - or what - burnt him to death?THE GAME BEGINSStrips of rubber melted to the body emerge as evidence that the victim was wearing The Skin, an innovation that takes users deep into a virtual world.ESCAPE OR DIE...When a body with identical wounds is discovered, Rose realises that in the darkest corners of the Dark Web, a brutal killer is playing a deadly game. A game with no rules - and no mercy. To stop it, Rose must play too...What readers are saying about Playing with Death: 'An edgy, pacy, futuristic and oh so very polished cyber thriller...intelligent, perceptive...exciting' trevtwinem.booklikes.com'[A] fast-paced thriller of the highest quality...The pace of the story is relentless...Would highly recommend' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Grips you from the beginning and races to a most exciting and enigmatic ending. It was one of those books that call you back every time you are dragged away. I absolutely loved it' www.crimesquad.com, 5 stars'A leading-edge thriller...My skin crawled quite a bit whilst reading this...A great novel that explores some brilliant concepts' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Addictive...thought provoking...Definitely recommended' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars'Makes you lie in bed and go over every possible theory in your head...I can't recommend this book enough. If you're a fan of Simon Scarrow or just love a good crime thriller then do not hesitate to read this book' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A terrific thriller' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

Headline

My Sister

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams

'SO fantastic; twisty and exciting yet original and beautifully written. I'm in awe!' - Gillian McAllister, Anything You Do Say'Kept me gripped to the stunning finale' - Amanda Reynolds, Close to MeOne was kept. One was sent away. Who is hiding the truth?An addictive psychological thriller full of shocking twists, MY SISTER is a gripping read perfect for fans of Laura Marshall's FRIEND REQUEST and Jenny Blackhurst's THE FOSTER CHILD.A successful doctor, with a loving boyfriend, Irini Harringford is finally happy. But when Elle tracks her down everything starts to unravel.Irini knows only too well what her sister is capable of. However, her desperate need for answers drags her back to a shocking past. She always thought her family didn't want her. What if the truth is even worse?'I loved this dark and disturbing thriller' - C. J. Tudor, The Chalk Man'Chilling and tragic in equal measure' - Nuala Ellwood, My Sister's BonesWhat readers are saying about MY SISTER:'Couldn't put this one down.. absolutely gripping' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'I couldn't get enough of this twisted psychological thriller! I wanted to skip work and hide myself away until I could devour the whole book.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'I read the entire book in a day!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'I absolutely loved this book, never quite knowing how it was going to end' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Headline

Invictus (Eagles of the Empire 15)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The Sunday Times bestseller. INVICTUS is a gripping, authentic and exciting novel of the Roman army from bestselling author Simon Scarrow. Not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.It is AD 54. The soldiers of the Roman army patrol a growing Empire, from the Mediterranean to the North Sea, from the Atlantic to the banks of the Nile. Rome brutally enforces its rule, and its legions are the most efficient and aggressive fighting force in the world. Two battle-scarred veterans of this army, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro, have survived years of campaigning in Britannia and have been recalled to Rome. Their time in the teeming, dangerously political city is short, and soon they are travelling with the Praetorian Guard to Spain, a restless colony where simmering tension in the face of Roman rule is aggravated by bitter rivalry amongst the natives. The challenges that face two old friends and their comrades in arms are unlike any they have seen before - in a land that declares itself unconquerable...

Headline Review

The Generals (Wellington and Napoleon 2)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

Young Bloods (Wellington and Napoleon 1)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow