Simon Scarrow - The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

By Simon Scarrow

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The fourth and final novel in Simon Scarrow's epic quartet of novels about Wellington and Napoleon, bringing their armies together in the brutal confronation that was the Battle of Waterloo. A No. 1 Sunday Times hardback bestseller.

The fourth and final novel in bestselling author Simon Scarrow's Wellington and Napoleon quartet focusing on two giants of European history, Wellington and Napoleon.

It is 1810, and both Viscount Wellington and Emperor Napoleon have made great names for themselves as outstanding military commanders. Wellington expands his achievements in Spain but knows his most challenging test will be to face Napoleon's mighty army. But when Wellington invades France in 1814 he gains a swift victory. He indulges in a spell of self-congratulation at Vienna - until news comes of Napoleon's triumphant return. Napoleon, ambitious as ever, embarks on a Russian campaign which ends in disaster and is then defeated at Leipzig in the biggest battle ever fought in Europe. With Napoleon's power waning at long last, Wellington must seize the opportunity to crush the tyrant once and for all - and so the two giants face each other for the final time, at Waterloo...

Biographical Notes

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently INVICTUS, BRITANNIA, BROTHERS IN BLOOD and PRAETORIAN, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the novels ARENA and INVADER.

Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755324408
  • Publication date: 11 Nov 2010
  • Page count: 704
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'in the hands of this author the whole lot is brought thrillingly to life' — The Bookseller
'Tremendous' — Daily Express
Headline

Say You're Sorry (The Sacramento Series Book 1)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Headline

The Blood of Rome

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The gripping new Cato and Macro adventure in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series, not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 54. As trouble brews on the eastern fringes of the Roman Empire, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro must prepare for war... The wily Parthian Empire has invaded Roman-ruled Armenia, ousting King Rhadamistus. The King is ambitious and ruthless, but he is loyal to Rome. General Corbulo must restore him to power, while also readying the troops for war with the powerful Parthian Empire. Corbulo welcomes new arrivals Cato and Macro, experienced soldiers who know how to knock into shape an undermanned unit of men ill-equipped for conflict.It's a dangerous game to restore a deposed king. Rhadamistus's brutality towards those who ousted him is the spark for an uprising which will test the bravery and skill of the Roman army the limit. While a sinister enemy watches from over the border...Praise for Scarrow's bestselling novels: 'Blood, gore, political intrigue...A historical fiction thriller that'll have you reaching for your gladius' Daily Sport

Headline

Face Off

Brenda Novak
Authors:
Brenda Novak
Wildfire

And So It Begins

Rachel Abbott
Authors:
Rachel Abbott
Headline Review

Friend of the Family

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

Grist Mill Road

Christopher J. Yates
Authors:
Christopher J. Yates
Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Paul Fraser Collard's roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley' - returns once more, switching sides to join the ranks of the Confederate Army. This latest adventure will see Jack journey through the Southern states as the American Civil War continues in earnest, and is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Enthralling' The Times on the Jack Lark series Fighting for the Union gave Jack Lark purpose. But America is tearing itself apart and no one will be left in peace.Virginia, 1861. With his comrades defeated, Jack turns his back on the battlefield. At heart he's still a soldier, but this wholly uncivil war has left him wanting something - and someone - more. Lost in the woods with the Confederate army closing in, Jack will stop at nothing to protect Rose and the future they might share. Then one bullet changes everything and Jack wakes up in a military hospital - alone. Broken but determined, he sets out on an epic journey across the Confederacy disguised in the grey coat of his one-time enemy. He will find the man who destroyed his life. Jack Lark is out for revenge.

Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke

YOU DON'T FIND HIM... HE FINDS YOU.'THE MUST-READ SUMMER CHILLER' - Daily Express'IF YOU READ JUST ONE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THIS YEAR - MAKE IT THE TALL MAN' - CultureFlyThe Tall Man is an ADDICTIVE and UNFORGETTABLE blend of psychological suspense and spine-tingling chills that will be perfect for fans of Stephen King, Ruth Ware, Sarah Pinborough's BEHIND HER EYES. If you love STRANGER THINGS, prepare to be haunted by THE TALL MAN.A SENSELESS MURDER. A TERRIFYING LEGEND. A FAMILY HAUNTED.1990: In the darkest woods, three girls devote themselves to a sinister figure. 2000: A young mother disappears, leaving behind her husband and baby daughter. 2018: A teenage girl is charged with murder, and her trial will shock the world.Three chilling events, connected by the shadow he casts. He is the Tall Man. He can make you special...

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

'Hunted is a smart, fast-paced, brave and classy thriller' Gillian McAllisterHunted is the second novel in the highly acclaimed Voices series by G X Todd, following the spectacular debut Defender, highlighted by the Independent as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand'. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child'Hunted is a masterfully written, gripping read . . . A beautifully dark, twisted world that is rich in character and authenticity' Adam HamdyThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming.One man is driven by an inner voice that isn't his - this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose.To find the voice hiding in the girl. She has no one to defend her now. But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began.Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip.#HearTheVoices

Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe
Headline

Day of the Caesars (Eagles of the Empire 16)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo
Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

A Summer To Die ForTo Jem Chapman, it's the chance of a lifetime. An invitation to join a group in an exclusive Hamptons house-share, who could say no? But when she discovers what happened last summer, Jem can't help but feel a chill.A young woman was found drowned in the house's pool. The housemates said Alice was troubled. She'd been drinking. She couldn't swim...A Secret To Kill ForAs Jem gets to know her glamorous new housemates, she realises each has something to hide. What really happened last summer? And who would go to any lengths to keep a person quiet?This dark, twisting novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Tasmina Perry will keep you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for everyone who's been gripped by the TV series RIVIERA or THE AFFAIR, or J. P. Delaney's THE GIRL BEFORE. 'Gripping... Great pace and brilliantly written. I loved it' Daily Mail on The House on Sunset Lake

Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Headline

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

The Seventh Commandment

Tom Fox
Authors:
Tom Fox