Wendy Holden - The Wives of Bath - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755352388
    • Publication date:10 Feb 2008

The Wives of Bath

By Wendy Holden

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A tale of yummy mummies with flat brown tummies in the mother of all romantic comedies

Another hilarious tale from the Sunday Times bestseller, WENDY HOLDEN, author of MARRYING UP and AZUR LIKE IT.

Four parents-to-be seem ante-natally sorted. Flash Hugo and Amanda have booked a chic private clinic and royal maternity nurse. Right-on Jake and Alice want an all-natural home birth with whale music and tree-hugging nappies.

But nothing goes quite to plan. Amanda finds motherhood less glam than the stars make it look and disappears back to her career. Which leaves Hugo with the child and without a clue what to do.

Alice has problems too. Bringing up baby to Jake's eco-fascist standards means home-made organic everything and a recycled cardboard cot.

Will nappiness bring happiness to anybody? Not before bedhopping spouses, beastly bosses and bitchy nursery mothers have all done their dreadful worst...

Biographical Notes

Number one bestselling author Wendy Holden has written ten consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers. A former journalist on the Sunday Times, Tatler and the Mail on Sunday, she contributes to a range of publications and is a TV and radio regular. She was a judge for the Costa 2013 Novel and Book of the Year Awards. Wendy lives with her husband and two children in Derbyshire.

Visit her on her website www.wendyholden.net, or follow her on Twitter @Wendy_Holden and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/wendyholdenauthor.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755326297
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2005
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'Holden's comic talents show no sign of downsizing' Literary Review, Feb 05 — Literary Review
'Pacey, witty chicory lit with a background of social commentary' Bournmouth Daily Echo, 22 Jan 05 — Bournmouth Daily Echo
'Holden's sparkling prose leaves her novels head and shoulders above the chit-lit wannabes, and she's on top form here' Western Daily Press, 29 Jan 05 — Western Daily Press
'A warm and amusing read' Heat, 15 Jan 05 — Heat
'A hilarious tale' Practical Parenting, Feb 2005 — Practical Parenting
'Wendy Holden's new comedy of manners is a satire on modern parenthood. Deliciously witty, and often touching, I think this is Wendy's best book to date' Isabel Wolf for the Daily Mail 30/5/05 — Isabel Wolf for the Daily Mail
'Irresistible rom-com meets devilish satire' In Style, February 2005 — In Style
'An outrageous novel that you'll want to devour in one sitting' Real magazine, 21 Jan 05 — Real magazine
'Holden's comic talents show no sign of downsizing' Literary Review, Feb 05 — Literary Review
'Delicious tale of anti-natal expectations versus the realities of parenthood that'll have you giggling into your beach towel' 13/8/05 Daily ExpressDaily Express
Headline Eternal

Temptation's Darling

Johanna Lindsey
Authors:
Johanna Lindsey
Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

What if you finally find the great love of your life... just as they're leaving for ever? From the bestselling author of WATCH OVER ME, Daniela Sacerdoti's latest novel is a sweeping, epic, romantic story set on the beautiful island of Seal. If you love the novels of Rosanna Ley and Tracy Rees, you will adore Daniela Sacerdoti.** Over 1 million copies sold of Daniela Sacerdoti's novels **Two different affairs begin. How will they both end?

Headline Review

Thirty

Christina Bradley
Authors:
Christina Bradley
Headline Review

Her Husband's Mistake

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure... The riveting new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for readers of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. Roxy's marriage has always been rock solid.After twenty years, and with two carefree kids, she and Dave are still the perfect couple.Until the day she comes home unexpectedly, and finds Dave in bed with their attractive, single neighbour.Suddenly Roxy isn't sure about anything - her past, the business she's taken over from her dad, or what her family's future might be. She's spent so long caring about everyone else that she's forgotten what she actually wants. But something has changed. And Roxy has a decision to make.Whether it's with Dave, or without him, it's time for Roxy to start living for herself . . .

Headline

Pirata: The Pirate Chief

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The fifth episode in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas, set across the oceans of the Roman Empire in AD 25, from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews.

Tinder Press

The Den

Abi Maxwell
Authors:
Abi Maxwell
Headline Eternal

Love You, Love You Not

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson
Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Headline

Pirata: The Gates of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The third in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas, set across the oceans of the Roman Empire in AD 25, from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews.

Headline Review

The Garden of Lost and Found

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans will enchant her fans with this unputdownable and heart-breaking tale of a family ripped apart and the extraordinary house they called home. Harriet writes the most delicious, epic stories from the heart since Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton.Nightingale House, 1919. Liddy Horner discovers her husband, the world-famous artist Sir Edward Horner, burning his best-known painting The Garden of Lost and Found days before his sudden death. Nightingale House was the Horner family's beloved home - a gem of design created to inspire happiness - and it was here Ned painted TheGarden of Lost and Found, capturing his children on a perfect day, playing in the rambling Eden he and Liddy made for them.One magical moment. Before it all came tumbling down...When Ned and Liddy's great-granddaughter Juliet is sent the key to Nightingale House, she opens the door onto a forgotten world. The house holds its mysteries close but she is in search of answers. For who would choose to destroy what they love most? Whether Ned's masterpiece - or, in Juliet's case, her own children's happiness.Something shattered this corner of paradise. But what?Harriet Evans brings her readers home:'Heart-stopping and wonderful' Sophie Kinsella'Harriet Evans is my favourite author' Goodreads'Secrets and lies in a gorgeous idyllic setting' Prima'Reminiscent of Santa Montefiore with the emotional heart of Jojo Moyes. You'll frequently find yourself uttering the words: just one more page' CultureFlyThis brilliantly written portrait of a fascinating family in crisis is an emotionally intelligent, thoughtful and engaging read.' Daily Mail'Will make you gasp and move you to tears' Marie Claire'I was blissfully carried away by this intelligent (she's as good as the great Rosamunde Pilcher), classy and superbly executed family saga' Saga'She reels you in and then you're hooked, right to the last page' Patricia Scanlan

Headline

The Quite Nice and Fairly Accurate Good Omens Script Book

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

Pirata: Hunters of the Sea

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The third in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews.

Headline

The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The gripping new adventure in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series, not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 55. As trouble brews on the eastern fringes of the Roman Empire, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro must prepare for war... The wily Parthian Empire has invaded Roman-ruled Armenia, ousting King Rhadamistus. The King is ambitious and ruthless, but he is loyal to Rome. General Corbulo must restore him to power, while also readying the troops for war with Parthia. Corbulo welcomes new arrivals Cato and Macro, experienced soldiers who know how to knock into shape an undermanned unit of men ill-equipped for conflict.But Rhadamistus's brutality towards those who ousted him will spark an uprising which will test the bravery of the Roman army to the limit. While the enemy watches from over the border...Praise for Scarrow's bestselling novels: 'Blood, gore, political intrigue... A historical fiction thriller that'll have you reaching for your gladius' Daily Sport

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Headline

Pirata: The Black Flag

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Pirata: The Ship's Boy

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Eternal

Love to Hate You

Jo Watson
Authors:
Jo Watson

'I've laughed out loud far too many times, until my sides hurt. A definite must read for fans of a cute rom-com!!' Goodreads reviewer The new ebook bestseller from the author of Almost A Bride. This unmissable, irresistibly fun, romantic rom-com is perfect for fans of Joanna Bolouri, Cate Woods and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game.Sera is usually a good girl. (Except for one wild night in the backseat of a stranger's car!) But what happens when that bad boy turns out to be her new boss? And what happens when he wants more than one night...and he can be very persuasive...For more laugh-out-loud, swoon-worthy hijinks, don't miss Jo's other laugh-out-loud rom-coms, Burning Moon, Almost A Bride and Finding You.'I love a good original love story and Jo Watson managed to surprise me over and over again. Her snappy writing style is refreshing, her main characters are endearing and dazzling and her book sparkles from beginning to end. If you love funny romantic stories you really don't want to miss Love to Hate You' With Love For Books'The perfect choice for fans of romantic comedies' Gina's Bookshelf'It was amazing, it was hilarious' Rachel's Random Reads'A brilliant read from beginning to end' Hopeless Romantics'More than just a rom-com, besides the inevitable plenty of laughs it will have you wonder, sigh, hope, and dream' Darkest SinsPreorder Jo's new rom-com After the Rain now! Just search: 9781472257734

Headline Review

A Winter Beneath the Stars

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas