Jill Mansell - Take A Chance On Me - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755353392
    • Publication date:18 Feb 2010
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240156
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Take A Chance On Me

By Jill Mansell

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Cleo thinks she's found her Mr Right - but if that's the case, why can't she get old adversary Johnny LaVenture out of her mind? A delicious romance from an author who knows love inside out...

Jill Mansell's bestseller TAKE A CHANCE ON ME takes readers on an entirely unpredictable romantic journey... For readers of Carole Matthews and Lucy Diamond.


Cleo Quinn doesn't have a great track record when it comes to men, but now Will's come along she's optimistic. Handsome, attentive and an absolute gentleman when it comes to her questionable cooking skills, he could be her Mr Right. Things are definitely looking up for Cleo... apart from one small problem with a rather large ego. Johnny LaVenture, sculptor extraordinaire and her childhood adversary, is back in Channing's Hill and tormenting Cleo as if he'd never been away. But life never goes to plan, does it? Johnny isn't the only one stirring up trouble and, for Cleo's family and friends, all kinds of sparks are starting to fly. If you think you can put the past behind you, think again...

What readers are saying about Take a Chance on Me:

'The characters are incredible and the story is so sweet' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'I really enjoyed this light-hearted story, told with Jill Mansell's usual eye for detail and quirky sense of humour. This story drew me in from the first page' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'This book is a delight - the characters are diverse and wonderfully flawed, and Mansell's writing is witty and refreshing' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755328222
  • Publication date: 24 Jun 2010
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'This romantic read shows that love thrives in unusual places' — Company magazine
'Although our shelves are groaning with chick-lit, Jill Mansell is in a different league. And you'll fall in love with the characters in this lovely tale' — Sun
'This is a warm, witty and romantic read that you won't be able to put down' — Daily Mail
'her plots avoid the almost-clichéd chick-lit trope of how to have it all and instead tell hard-to-put-down tales of everyday life in an unpredictable way. The overall effec is a storytelling talent evident as ever in Mansell's latest work, Take A Chance On Me... Mansell's fiction is a happy leap away from the troubles of today' — Sunday Express
'There's fun and romance in this entertaining novel' — Woman's Day, Australia
'Jill Mansell's latest novel is as engaging as we've come to expect' — OK Hot Stars magazine
'Mansell, who creates wonderful characters and believable storylines that capture both your heart and imagination from the off' — Sun
Headline Review

Maybe This Time

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

The deliciously uplifting new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING and MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY. Not to be missed by readers of Lucy Diamond and Katie Fforde. When Mimi first visits her dad's new home in the Cotswolds, she falls in love with Goosebrook and the people who live there. (Well, maybe not snooty Henrietta, who lets Mimi walk miles in the rain rather than give her a lift.) There's Paddy, with his flashing eyes and seductive charm. Friendly and funny Lois makes Mimi laugh. And seriously gorgeous Cal is welcoming and charismatic. Though Mimi loves her city life and her career, she'd be very happy to return to Goosebrook if it means seeing more of him.Life is about to take some unexpected and shocking twists and turns. And Mimi's path and Cal's are set to cross again and again - but will it ever be the right time for both of them?The joy of Jill's novels:'The queen of witty, heart-warming, feel-good love stories' Red'A heartwarming treat from one of my favourite writers' Katie Fforde'Reading Jill is always such a joy!' Veronica Henry'Funny, bouncy, romantic and brilliantly written...A feel-good gem' ***** Heat'The sweetest love story of the year' Fabulous

Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

Kindred

Octavia E. Butler
Authors:
Octavia E. Butler
Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** HeatSheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. ThenWhen Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's new to Dublin and loving it. He's used to getting what he wants...and she can't resist him. Until one night he forces her to make an impossible choice.If she'd known then what she knows now, everything might have been different.NowLola's daughter Bey has inherited her mother's impulsive streak and it takes her down dangerous paths.Then one night she too finds herself in front of a man she loves, with impossible choices of her own to make.For both women, what happened that night changes everything. For better. For worse. For ever.

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

The Monarch of the Glen

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline

From the Corner of his Eye

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

You And Me, Always

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A touching romantic novel about a young woman whose time is running out - a Sunday Times bestseller. Not to be missed by readers of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Jill Mansell's enchanting new novel will drive readers to seize life with both hands and make the most of every minute...Hallie has a secret. She's in love. He's perfect for her in every way, but he's seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren't going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn't have long to live. Time is running out...Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won't be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends - let alone anything more.Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she's afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she's about to be given new lungs. But whose?What readers are saying about Three Amazing Things About You: 'I loved all the characters, and hated to leave their world. When a book can make you smile, cry and laugh, you know it's a winner' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'I adored every single page and every single feeling this story evoked in me. Beautifully researched, beautifully told and expressed and I want to read it again and again' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A wonderful tale of friendship, love, loss and the miracles of life. Such a rich tapestry of characters beautifully bought together' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Headline Review

Jill Mansell's A-Z Of Happiness (An e-short)

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

In this delightful ebook, Jill Mansell gives readers an exclusive glimpse of her life as a writer. Newly updated with exclusive extra material! Find out what's IN JILL'S HANDBAG, enjoy A DINNER DATE WITH JILL and get to know Jill in a QUICKFIRE Q & A.This updated ebook also includes a sneak peek at Jill's new novel for January 2017, MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY.And as in the original A-Z OF HAPPINESS, there's a bear (not a real one), lit up by fairy lights, with zillions of happy endings buzzing around, eating Chinese takeaway for breakfast, getting up late and tweeting A LOT. Oh, and there's been an explosion in the glitter factory!Recommended for all with withdrawal symptoms from YOU AND ME, ALWAYS, and anticipation disorder for MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY.NOT A NOVEL - but a little happiness fix.

Headline Review

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell's bestseller THE UNPREDICTABLE CONSEQUENCES OF LOVE is an unforgettable tale of sunny days on the beach, Cornwall in the summer and secrets about to be revealed. Perfect for readers of Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry. In the idyllic seaside town of St Carys, Sophie is putting the past firmly behind her. When Josh arrives in St Carys to run the family hotel, he can't understand why Sophie has zero interest in letting any man into her life. He also can't understand how he's been duped into employing Sophie's impulsive friend Tula, whose crush on him is decidedly unrequited.St Carys has more than its fair share of characters, including the charming but utterly feckless surfer Riley Bryant, who has a massive crush on Tula. Riley's aunt is superstar author Marguerite Marshall. And Marguerite has designs on Josh's grandfather...who in turn still adores his glamorous ex-wife, Dot...Just how many secrets can one seaside town keep?What readers are saying about The Unpredictable Consequences of Love: 'The way in which the various stories played out - with all their twists and turns, laughs and real sadness - against the vividly drawn Cornish setting made for quite engrossing reading' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Wonderfully witty, highly compelling and absolutely impossible to resist' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'So much love is flowing in this little seaside town and each of the characters are loveable and entertaining. The perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Headline Review

Don't Want To Miss A Thing

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline Review

A Walk In The Park

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

To The Moon And Back

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

No. 1 bestselling author Jill Mansell writes with sensitivity and optimism about love, loss and new beginnings in TO THE MOON AND BACK. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Veronica Henry. When Ellie Kendall tragically loses her husband she feels her life is over. But eventually she's ready for a new start - at work, that is. She doesn't need a new man when she has a certain secret visitor to keep her company... Moving to North London, Ellie meets neighbour Roo who has a secret of her own. Can the girls sort out their lives? Guilt is a powerful emotion, but a lot can happen in a year in Primrose Hill...What readers are saying about To The Moon and Back: 'There's pretty much everything you could want in this book... love, heartbreak, laughter, hope and a great cast of characters' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A feel-good slice of British humour wonderfully coloured by Mansell's tender romance about moving on and finding love after heartbreak' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'The characters are very well rounded, endearing, and realistic and their sense of humour is simply put, hilarious. I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good, light, fun and romantic read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Headline

The Family

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole