Penny Vincenzi - An Outrageous Affair - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351466
    • Publication date:04 Sep 2008

An Outrageous Affair

By Penny Vincenzi

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A gripping tale of long-buried secrets set against the glamour of 1950s Hollywood and New York from Sunday Times Number One bestselling author Penny Vincenzi.

From rural England and Hollywood's glory days, to London's theatreland and New York's adland, Penny Vincenzi's An Outrageous Affair explores the many forms love takes, and how it can change us all. A glorious novel for any reader of Jilly Cooper, Elizabeth Buchan or Harriet Evans' A BUTTERFLY SUMMER.

'I defy any reader, once they've taken the smallest nibble, not to gobble it all down' Sunday Express

In wartime Suffolk, Caroline Hunterton fell in love. Now, decades on, that love becomes the only connection between a tragic Hollywood accident in the 1950s, and a terrible suicide twenty years later.
Caroline has spent years trying to keep those secrets from her two daughters, Chloe and Fleur, who have been separated by the Atlantic and have grown up hating one another. But soon, their shared past may be all that can save the family...

From rural England and Hollywood's glory days, to London's theatreland and New York's adland, An Outrageous Affair explores the many forms love takes, and how it can change us all.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755332373
  • Publication date: 11 Sep 2006
  • Page count: 832
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'Penny Vincenzi is a supreme stylist and clever writer. Reading her is an addictive experience' — Elizabeth Buchan
'A super read that will keep you guessing right until the end' — Company
'The literary equivalent of a huge box of beautiful hand-made chocolate truffles - a total indulgence' — Ideal Home
Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

From the bestselling author of WATCH OVER ME, Daniela Sacerdoti's latest Seal Island novel is a romantic, moving and uplifting story of three different lives, connected by a thread.** Over 1 million copies sold of Daniela Sacerdoti's novels **Three separate lives. Three broken hearts.Haunted by his wife's death, Matt arrives on Seal Island determined to be alone and unable to escape his grief. In the island's hospital, a young woman named Rose lies in a coma, trapped by the memories of events leading up to her accident. Grace, the island's doctor, is at the heart of the community. Only she knows how much she regrets turning down the chance of love and a family years ago.For these three people hope seems gone. But life is about to offer an unexpected new beginning...Readers adore the captivating novels of Daniela Sacerdoti'A love story that will satisfy even the most hopeless romantics' Daily Express'Beautifully written and atmospheric' The Sun 'A great book' Lesley Pearse'Emotional. I couldn't put it down' Daily Mail'I fell in love with this book' Prima magazine

Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

An entertaining, warm and quirky novel of families, secrets and the truth of love - 'A powerful and moving novel' Independent on Sunday'Engrossing . . . Gale is a charmingly idiosyncratic writer who could not write a cliché if he tried' Daily TelegraphJudith shares her life with her partner Joanna on the lonely wilds of Bodmin Moor, far from the memories and trauma of her childhood. But when Judith's sister, Deborah, is tragically widowed, the women agree to meet. And what is intended to be a harmonious reunion turns into an entanglement of resentment, jealousy and desire, as aspects of the past force themselves into an uneasy present, with some surprising results.

Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The gripping new Cato and Macro adventure in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series, not to be missed by readers of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 55. As trouble brews on the eastern fringes of the Roman Empire, Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro must prepare for war . . . The wily Parthian Empire has invaded Armenia, a frontier territory claimed by Rome, ousting King Rhadamistus. The king is ambitious and ruthless, but he is vital to Rome's strategic interests. General Corbulo must restore him to power, while also readying the troops for war with the powerful Parthian Empire. Corbulo orders new arrivals Cato and Macro, and their elite cohort of Praetorian Guards, to carry out the task.Marching into unmapped and unfamiliar terrain to restore an unpopular king is a perilous mission. Allies cannot be trusted and foes lurk on all sides. The bravery and skill of the Roman army will be tested to the limit . . . Praise for Scarrow's bestselling novels: 'Blood, gore, political intrigue...A historical fiction thriller that'll have you reaching for your gladius' Daily Sport

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

A Perfectly Good Man

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline

Neverwhere

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

A Year of Marvellous Ways

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

A Perfect Heritage

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The stunning new novel from Costa-Novel-Award-winning novelist Maggie O'Farrell: a portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976.It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each wih different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.Maggie O'Farrell's sixth book is the work of an outstanding novelist at the height of her powers.

Headline Review

The Memory of Lost Senses

Judith Kinghorn
Authors:
Judith Kinghorn

1911. A country house. A long, hot summer. A story of love...From the author of The Snow Globe, comes an absorbing, evocative and rich period drama of buried secrets and lost love in an Edwardian summer. The Memory of Lost Senses is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. 'Witty, clever and compelling, with a beautiful love story at its heart' - Jane HarrisWhen a mysterious countess arrives late in life to live at a large, deserted house on the edge of a sleepy Hampshire village, the local tongues start wagging. No one is more intrigued than Cecily Chadwick, idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 with nothing much to do. Cecily is fascinated by the exotic elderly lady and, as she gets to know her, is riveted by her tales of expatriate life on the continent, and of whom she once knew. But the countess is troubled: by her memories, her name, and by anonymous threats to reveal a ruinous secret... It is, she has decided, up to her close friend, a successful novelist who has come to stay for the summer, to put the record straight. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue and pull of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, his unanswered questions about his grandmother's past and his desire to know the truth, that draw Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's life, and the place known as Temple Hill.What readers are saying about The Memory of Lost Senses:'Oh, how I loved these characters when the story was lifted from the pages to me, crafted in Judith's clear narrative voice''A story of love, passion and memories - often unreliable - beautifully told with an effortless languorous feel as the history and drama unfolds' 'A well-structured novel that has been so beautifully written it is well worthy of five stars'

Headline Review

Love In The Afternoon and Other Delights

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

From the No 1 Bestselling author PENNY VINCENZI - LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON AND OTHER DELIGHTS brings together searing journalism, ten short stories and other work in a single edition for the first time. 'A charming miscellany... brought to life with touching, Nora Ephron-like honesty' Daily MailAs well as ten stunning short stories, Penny also shares some of her thoughts on a huge range of subjects from love and relationships to work and families, and gives us a peek at the tantalising first chapter of her new novel, A KIND OF PROMISE - making LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON AND OTHER DELIGHTS a must-have for any Vincenzi fan.

Headline

Shadow of Night

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness
Headline Review

Stranded

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

'A real page-turner with a plot twist worthy of Lost' - Cosmopolitan Bruised from the breakdown of her marriage, Esther Lomax needs to get away, and Malaysia's unspoilt shores seem the perfect place. But a day's boat trip takes a desperate turn when Esther and six other holidaymakers are taken to a desert island and their guide does not return. The group have no way of getting back to the mainland and know nothing about each other. As the days pass, tensions erupt, secrets emerge and time increasingly runs out, and Esther must ask herself the ultimate question: will she leave the island alive?What readers are saying about Stranded:'A brilliant book - Emily Barr at her best' 'I lost a good night's sleep as I really had to keep reading''A superb novel with a sinister twist'

Headline Review

Happy Families

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

The Book of Summers

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Tinder Press

The Snow Child

Eowyn Ivey
Authors:
Eowyn Ivey

A bewitching tale of heartbreak and hope set in 1920s Alaska, Eowyn Ivey's THE SNOW CHILD was a top ten bestseller in hardback and paperback, and went on to be a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?Written with the clarity and vividness of the Russian fairy tale from which it takes its inspiration, The Snow Child is an instant classic.

Headline

No Law in the Land (Knights Templar Mysteries 27)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

The new riveting novel from the West Country's medieval crime master Michael Jecks.King Edward II is furious when he learns that his wife Queen Isabella has defied him and remains in France with their son. As the unfortunate messengers of this unhappy news, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and his friend, bailiff Simon Puttock, are instantly dismissed from court. Returning to their homes in Devon, the pair are shocked to find that outlaws now hold sway in the land and the chaos escalates as the bodies of two clerics are found among a party of travellers...