Rosie Goodwin - Tilly Trotter's Legacy - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Tilly Trotter's Legacy

By Rosie Goodwin

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Catherine Cookson's classic heroine lives on in this stunning new saga by Rosie Goodwin

Rosie Goodwin's heartwarming addition to Catherine Cookson's series.

Tilly Trotter seems to have finally found lasting happiness in her engagement to Steve McGrath. But just as everything falls into place for Tilly it seems to be falling apart for her loved ones...

Whilst her son, Willy, is refusing to acknowledge the existence of his newborn illegitimate child, her adopted daughter Josefina has slipped into a deep depression after tracking down her real family in America. Tilly is determined that with Steve by her side she can find a way to get her children through their troubles. But she hasn't counted on the malicious ways of her oldest enemy - Steve's mother, Mrs McGrath. A bitter and twisted old woman, she will stop at nothing to destroy Tilly's happiness. And Tilly knows that finding a way for her family to be free to live their lives in peace is going to take all her strength and courage ...

Biographical Notes

Rosie Goodwin has worked in social services and as a foster carer for many years. She has three children, and lives in Nuneaton with her husband, Trevor, and their foster children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755334889
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2007
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

The Tuppenny Child

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline

The Stolen Child

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson
Headline Review

The Gown

Jennifer Robson
Authors:
Jennifer Robson

The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown.London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressDespite air raids and rationing in wartime London, sisters Liz and Dora Beck find time for fun and laughter at the local ice-rink. Then a handsome American serviceman catches their attention, and so begins heartache between the sisters. Dora is increasingly jealous of her sister's blossoming romance with Victor. But when Victor is killed in a bomb attack, Liz makes a shocking discovery that upsets her whole family. Forced out of her home, Liz finds support where she least expects it. And, with almost nothing left to lose, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

The Sister's Secret

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Sister's Secret is a powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.Can she hide the truth to protect those she loves?The Sykes family have lived at Fairley Terrace since their youngest daughter, Rowan, was born. Fiercely clever, Rowan finds it difficult to fit in with the other village children, so when her beloved older sister, Laurel, takes a new job and moves back home, Rowan is overjoyed. Laurel is happy to be with her family - even if she's keeping the real reason for her return to herself. It seems like she's destined to keep repeating the mistakes of her past when it comes to matters of the heart. The two sisters are each longing for excitement and a fresh start, and when familiar faces return to Fairley Terrace, along with an enigmatic new resident, it looks like they might get their wish. But their harmony is about to be shattered by a mysterious stranger who threatens to expose a long-kept secret - and is prepared to stop at nothing to wreak revenge on the family.Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, and Carina's story in The Widow's Promise.

Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin. Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone. Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

VICTORY GIRLS is the sixth poignant saga in Helen Carey's much-loved Lavender Road series, set in south London during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening StandardAugust 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over. Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever. Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old. Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road.

Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Love and a Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

A promise to the woman who saved her life holds Maddy back from following her heart... Lyn Andrews writes an unforgettable family saga in Love and a Promise, set in both Dublin and Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn. 'A page-turning and beautifully written novel. The loves and tragedies of the Kiernan siblings will keep you hooked until the very end' - Irish WorldMaddy Kiernan knows her situation is desperate. With her parents dead, her brother Thomas is left as guardian to Maddy and her sister Carmel. But Thomas has plans that don't include his sisters and his reckless ambition could put all their futures at risk. Sharp-witted and strong-willed, Maddy knows she must assume responsibility for the fragile young Carmel.When Thomas deserts Ireland for Liverpool, Maddy realises she has little option but to follow. Within days the girls are destitute, their precious savings gone. Even when Maddy finds a position with an elderly widow, Thomas's aspirations threaten their security. And then Maddy is faced with a terrible choice - between love and a promise... What readers are saying about Love and a Promise: '[This book] was excellent from cover to cover. I found myself staying up late at night just to finish it - you just cannot put it down! It has real life drama, romance and a wonderful ending''Once I start a Lyn Andrews book, I cannot stop reading it. I feel as if I have been transported back in time''Love and a Promise is a great and gripping story, I just had to continue until I'd finished the book. It is a great story of rags to riches and the heartbreak in between - just a lovely story'

Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET, Helen Carey's fifth Lavender Road novel, is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Kate Thompson, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry.It's 1944. London's citizens are weary of air raids and rationing. But there are rumours of an invasion of France. Is the tide of war turning?Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to find a new husband and when a handsome American officer arrives to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity. Her efforts are hampered, though, by her determination to help a ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson.On both sides of the street there are challenges to face. Jen Carter's relationship with Henry Keller is threatened when an old flame reappears in her life. Her mother Joyce's decision to take romance slowly threatens to become a dangerous mistake when the V1 rockets start hitting London.In this atmospheric novel, Helen Carey brings to vivid life the spirit of the war years with all their heartache, joy and drama.

Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Those Were The Days

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Headline

Jessica's Girl

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox