Martina Cole - The Take - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755350797
    • Publication date:05 Jun 2006
  • CD-Audio £15.98
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755374946
    • Publication date:15 Jan 2009

The Take

A gripping crime thriller of family lies and betrayal

By Martina Cole
Read by Nicola Duffett

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

An uncompromising and haunting story of betrayal and violence from the No. 1 bestselling Martina Cole

Freddie Jackson thinks he owns the underworld when he gets out of prison. He's done his time, made the right connections, and now he's ready to use them. His wife Jackie just wants her husband home, but she's forgotten the rows, the violence, and the girls Freddie can't leave alone. Bitter, resentful, and increasingly unstable, Jackie watches her life crumble while her little sister Maggie's star rises. In love with Freddie's cousin Jimmy, Maggie is determined not to end up like her sister.

Families should stick together, but behind closed doors, jealousy and betrayal can fester until everyone's life is infected. And for the Jacksons, loyalty cannot win out. Because in their world you can trust no one. In their world everyone is on the take.

(P)2005 Headline Digital

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755337859
  • Publication date: 25 Sep 2006
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Triple Jeopardy (Daniel Pitt Mystery 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Face Off

Brenda Novak
Authors:
Brenda Novak

New York Times bestseller Brenda Novak's third novel in the Evelyn Talbot series sees the return of psychiatrist Dr Evelyn Talbot in her purpose-built facility housing America's most terrifying psychopaths. This is SILENCE OF THE LAMBS meets Karen Rose...Over twenty years ago, Dr Evelyn Talbot was scarred for life when her teenage boyfriend Jasper Moore tortured her and left her for dead. And she fears one day he will return to finish what he started.Evelyn has tried to move forward and turned her trauma into her life's work. As a leading psychiatrist at Hanover House in remote Alaska, she is confronted with psychopaths and danger every day. She delves deep into their minds, despite the horrors that hide there, trying to figure out why they do what they do.When a woman goes missing from a nearby cabin, Evelyn immediately believes one of the Hanover House killers might be involved. But something about the case brings familiar and terrifying memories back to haunt her. She fears the truth may be closer, and darker, than she first imagined.

Headline

A Christmas Revelation (Christmas Novella 16)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A daring rescue reveals the true meaning of Christmas...The queen of Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the 16th novella in her festive crime series.Christmas is coming and the streets of London are full of festive cheer. As young Worm returns to his home at the Portpool Lane clinic, he encounters the most beautiful woman he has ever seen and, spellbound, he follows her until she is dragged away by two evil-looking men. Convinced that she is in grave danger, Worm begs Squeaky Robinson to help him track her down. But Elouise is embroiled with dangerous criminals who want information that only she can tell. They will stop at nothing to get what they want and, with Christmas day fast approaching, Worm and Squeaky must conjure up a daring plan to help Elouise before it is too late.Praise for Anne Perry's Christmas novellas: 'A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch' Daily Telegraph

Headline

Untitled

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

The brand new novel from Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller and 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) Martina Cole. The biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique and powerful novels have gripped their readers for twenty-five years, and include Dangerous Lady, The Take and Damaged.

Headline Review

Friend of the Family

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Emily Gunnis
Authors:
Emily Gunnis
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

'Hunted is a smart, fast-paced, brave and classy thriller' Gillian McAllisterHunted is the second novel in the highly acclaimed Voices series by G X Todd, following the spectacular debut Defender, highlighted by the Independent as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand'. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child'Hunted is a masterfully written, gripping read . . . A beautifully dark, twisted world that is rich in character and authenticity' Adam HamdyThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming.One man is driven by an inner voice that isn't his - this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose.To find the voice hiding in the girl. She has no one to defend her now. But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began.Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip.#HearTheVoices

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning
Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Jardine's compelling novels: 'A masterclass in how murder-mysteries ought to be written' Scots MagazineWhen millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status, and a long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive?The Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation and they have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming... 'Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn' Observer

Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. For fans of Sharon Bolton's DAISY IN CHAINS and Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE. Peter James calls her novels 'astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying'.When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

A serial killer is in town and the race is on for DCI Kate Burrows. Stop the killer before more innocent girls die...Damaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, and sees the return of her iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling includes Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller, Betrayal and many more.When the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up, former DCI Kate Burrows is dragged out of retirement.A new Grantley serial killer is in town and DCI Annie Carr turns to Kate for help. She welcomes the distraction from her home life with former gangster, Patrick Kelly, whose long lost son has turned up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him.It soon becomes clear the killer is on their doorstep and as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock. But they have no real leads ... and there's more to these murders than meets the eye. Can Kate take the killer down before another schoolgirl dies?

Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

Turbo Twenty-Three

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Available together for the first time, the complete DI Kate Burrows trilogy by the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author, Martina Cole. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.'The Queen of Crime' - Woman & Home on Hard GirlsThe deadly DI Kate Burrows trilogy: the only time Martina's written from the Old Bill's perspective. Kate is the hard-but-fair copper whose investigations - and heart - become dangerously entwined with London's most infamous gangster, Patrick Kelly. But when there's a killer on the loose, Kate Burrows is the only woman for the job. THE LADYKILLER. BROKEN. HARD GIRLS.

Headline

Faithful unto Death

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham