Paul Doherty - The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755370351
    • Publication date:25 Sep 2012

The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 7)

Murder and intrigue from Ancient Egypt

By Paul Doherty

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The seventh novel in Paul Doherty's acclaimed ancient Egyptian series, featuring Amerotke, Chief Judge in the Hall of Two Truths.

In Paul Doherty's new novel, Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Hall of Two Truths, is once again summoned to the Imperial Palaceo: Tekreth, Guardian of the Door of Sobeck, has fallen to his death from the roof of his stately mansion. According to all evidence, it was an accident but Pharaoh Queen Hatusu is not convinced. Increasingly worried about reports of mysterious disappearances along the Sobeck Road, the imperial highway stretching south, she believes that Tekreth's death could be part of a far greater problem. Amerotke, aware of the reports from the Sobeck Road, has also heard rumours about the Shemai, a cult devoted to death, based along its borders. Before Amerotke can start to consider either of these matters though, a gruesome mass murder occurs at the Necropolis. The funeral party for revered scribe, Ptulimis, has been poisoned and Amerotke must immediately investigate the abomination. As Amerotke probes further, he suspects that all these events may be connected and that dangerous forces are at work in Pharaoh Hatusu's realm. Will Amerotke be able to uncover the truth before Egypt is overrun by its sinister and dangerous underworld?

Biographical Notes

Paul Doherty was born in Middlesbrough. He studied History at Liverpool and Oxford Universities and obtained a doctorate for his thesis on Edward II and Queen Isabella. He is now headmaster of a school in north-east London and lives with his family in Essex.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755338474
  • Publication date: 02 Apr 2009
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The King's Writ (Hugh Corbett Novella)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

With the stakes so high, can Sir Hugh prevent a jousting tournament turning deadly?An exclusive digital novella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, the medieval sleuth of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty's most popular series. Includes an exclusive extract from his next novel in the series, the follow up to Dark Serpent. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Michael Jecks.In the summer of 1311, a jousting tournament is about to commence in the Tower of London, supervised by Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal.Two powerful lords have come forward with writs from the late king, promising them both the inheritance of a lucrative estate. To settle the dispute, they are submitting their quarrel to the judicium Dei: the Judgement of God. But when a third claimant comes forward, Corbett suspects that something is awry.Corbett launches an investigation to uphold the reputation of the late king as treachery looks set to spread. But it soon becomes clear that more than one person in the Tower has secrets to keep...What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'A magical author''Paul Doherty has the rare talent of making you feel as though you are there, be it medieval England, or battling with Alexander. The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of his books''Doherty has a gift for bringing distant ages alive and for populating his books with endearing, believable characters'

Headline

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Tenebrae

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Roman soldier Manoletus must face some of the most formidable creatures of the underworld, yet his time is running out... Paul Doherty writes a gripping historical adventure in Tenebrae, a mystery of the Roman underworld. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.'Teems with colour, energy and spills' - Time Out Germany, A.D. 9. Highly-esteemed Roman soldier, Manoletus, finds himself trapped and immersed in Varus' camp surrounded by dead comrades, but manages to flee. Thinking himself safe, he encounters a more fearsome enemy than the German army: the Tenebrae and its Ataru. This deadly, cloaked, blood-sucking killer and keeper of the Underworld, capable of slaying villages of people, trains its gaze upon Manoletus.The Tenebrae are born from Cleopatra's death, and Manoletus' path becomes tied with the legend and is drawn to Egypt to delve deeper into the mystery of these immortal creatures. Still on the run, Manoletus meets a late comrade's daughter and vows to protect her. When the Tenebrae send her back to Rome, Manoletus is determined to make his way home to her. But will Manoletus find her before the Tenebrae find him?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment''A compelling tale of historical fiction that exudes accuracy and detail''The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

Headline

The Annals of Ancient Rome

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Of Love and War

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Loving Cup

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

An impossible love. A grisly murder. A hunt for justice.Paul Doherty's novel The Loving Cup, brings Restoration London to raucous life amid a compelling love story and murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy. Samuel Atkins is deeply in love with Maria Eleanora, a beautiful young woman from the court of Queen Catherine. But Atkins is a poor clerk, and Maria Eleanora a foreigner, so their love must remain a secret. When an important judge is found murdered, Samuel Pepys' followers are suspected, and Atkins is arrested. Suddenly, Maria Eleanora realises that to save her lover and discover the hideous truth behind the crime, she must thread her way through both the treacherous alleys of London and the murky and murderous politics of those seeking to destroy the king. Based on historical events, The Loving Cup not only probes one of the great murder mysteries of English history but also recounts a love story as passionate as it is secretive.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment''A compelling tale of historical fiction that exudes accuracy and detail''The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

Headline

A Time for the Death of a King (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

She was a passionate lover. But was she also a murderess?In the first of Paul Doherty's series featuring the time travelling scholar Nicholas Segalla, the reader is transported to the 16th century Scottish court. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and C. J. Sansom.Edinburgh, 1567. Beautiful Mary, Queen of Scots, leaves her ill husband's bedside to attend the wedding festivities of her maid of honour. Hours later, the calm night is shattered by a devastating explosion. The King's body is found in a field with a cloak, a chair, a slipper and a dagger by his lifeless corpse. When stolen letters cast suspicion on the queen herself, she is accused of murder. Was the fiery Mary the perpetrator of the King's bloody murder, or the object of a ruthless plot of betrayal, crafted by England's most masterful assassin, the Raven Master? Only the shadowy scholar Nicholas Segalla can uncover the truth.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'A cracker, full of twists and turns, with an overarching mystery of who exactly is Segalla''Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read''The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

Headline

The Prince Lost to Time (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Time of Murder at Mayerling (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

In Time of the Poisoned Queen (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Murder in Macedon (Alexander the Great Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Alexander must fight for his throne, his father... and his life.Paul Doherty transports his readers to Ancient Greece in A Murder in Macedon - a gripping mystery featuring Alexander the Great. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.'If you want to know whodunit in ancient times, Doherty is your man' - Good Book Guide In the summer of 336 BC, Philip of Macedon is to celebrate his glorious reign. He has waded through a sea of blood to become master of Greece, but he also has troubles at home. He has divorced and rejected his first wife, the witch queen Olympias, while her son Alexander is the subject of a whispering campaign that he is not Philip's true heir. Philip summons all of Greece to attend his great celebration in the old capital of Aegae, but the Macedonian court is plunged into chaos and bloodshed when he is murdered by Pausanias. Alexander must fight for his rights against intrigue and treachery at home and abroad. In order to prove his own innocence, he also has to find out who was really responsible for Philip's death and why. Was Pausanias a lone assassin or acting on behalf of others?What readers are saying about A Murder in Macedon:'A very enthralling story''An interesting twist''Paul Doherty - brilliant - nothing more to say'

Headline

The Great Crown Jewels Robbery of 1303

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Death of the Red King

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Eye of God (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Book of Shadows (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty