Jude Morgan - The Taste of Sorrow - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755385478
    • Publication date:03 Mar 2011

The Taste of Sorrow

By Jude Morgan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The ultimate family story, told by one of the most acclaimed historical novelists writing today

Charlotte. Emily. Anne. The Brontë sisters - the drama, the passion, and a story that lives for ever...

Once upon a time there were three sisters, bound by love and suffering, growing up in wild isolation in a lonely house on the moor. Their story will astonish you: their passionate, dangerous closeness; their struggle against the world; their determination to rise above the fates of their parents and their other lost sisters, to become more than the world ever thought they could be. You don't know their story, but you think they do. They were the Brontës.

Biographical Notes

Jude Morgan, whose previous novels include PASSION and THE TASTE OF SORROW, was born and brought up in Peterborough on the edge of the Fens, and was a student on the University of East Anglia MA Course in Creative Writing under Malcolm Bradbury and Angela Carter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755339006
  • Publication date: 29 Apr 2010
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Headline Review
[Morgan holds] nerve and reason where many a Brontë biographer fails...brilliant...moving...superb...A lovely book [which] deserves a wide readership — Guardian
Seemingly effortlessly, Jude Morgan breathes such life and vigour into their stories that you are totally drawn into their world...I cannot commend it enough — Daily Mail
Completely involving, absorbing. Full of insight and very accomplished... I loved reading it — Hilary Mantel
'Quite simply the best book about the Brontës I have ever read' — Juliet Barker, author of The Brontës: A Life in Letters
Headline Review

The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline Review

Untitled Book 2

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker
Headline Review

The Himalayan Summer

Louise Brown
Authors:
Louise Brown
Headline Review

Victoria

Daisy Goodwin
Authors:
Daisy Goodwin

You've seen her on the screen, now read her story...From the creator of the ITV Sunday night drama, VICTORIA, now in its second year, comes the novel by Daisy Goodwin, author of the bestselling MY LAST DUCHESS and THE FORTUNE HUNTER.In June 1837, the eighteen-year-old Victoria wakes up to find that she is Queen of the most powerful nation in the world. Can this tiny girl prevail against the men who believe that women are too hysterical to rule? And what are the secrets behind her famously passionate relationship with her husband, Albert?From one of our greatest historical writers comes a new take on one of our most beloved monarchs... Victoria as you've never seen her before.

Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

HEART AND HOME is a poignant saga of shop girls in 1930s Liverpool from Lyn Andrews, the Sunday Times bestselling author of FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE and THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.Cathie Kinrade is all too used to hardship. Growing up on the Isle of Man in the 1930s, she sees her da set sail daily on dangerous seas while her mam struggles to put food on the table. Cathie has little hope for her own future, until a chance encounter changes her fortunes for ever. Fiercely determined, Cathie leaves for Liverpool, a bustling modern city full of possibility. With a lively job as a shop girl in a grand department store, and a firm friend in kind-hearted Julia, Cathie has found her niche. But the discovery of an explosive secret could put everything at risk. And when love comes calling, Cathie's new friends fear that she may be set to trust the wrong man with her heart...

Tinder Press

The Unseeing

Anna Mazzola
Authors:
Anna Mazzola

Set in London in 1837, Anna Mazzola's THE UNSEEING is the story of Sarah Gale, a seamstress and mother, sentenced to hang for her role in the murder of Hannah Brown on the eve of her wedding. Perfect for any reader of Sarah Waters or Antonia Hodgson.'A twisting tale of family secrets and unacknowledged desires. Intricately plotted and extremely convincing in its evocation of the everyday realities of 1830s London, this is a fine first novel' - The Sunday Times After Sarah petitions for mercy, Edmund Fleetwood is appointed to investigate and consider whether justice has been done. Idealistic, but struggling with his own demons, Edmund is determined to seek out the truth. Yet Sarah refuses to help him, neither lying nor adding anything to the evidence gathered in court. Edmund knows she's hiding something, but needs to discover just why she's maintaining her silence. For how can it be that someone would willingly go to their own death?

Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine's side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' - Tracy BormanA Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen.Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers.She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother.She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection.KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story.Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir has based her enthralling account of Henry VIII's first wife on extensive research and new theories. She reveals a strong, spirited woman determined to fight for her rights and the rightful place of her daughter. A woman who believed that to be the wife of a King was her destiny. History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.

Headline Review

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller.But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambition, lies a cruel and ruthless man. And when dashing politician Gillis Sinclair comes to stay at Marsh Court, Juliet is drawn to his irresistible charm.So begins a passionate affair that will have consequences far beyond anything Juliet imagines. For Gillis Sinclair is hiding a dark secret and, as the next generation of Wintertons grows up, Juliet fears that they, too, will be tainted by the past...An epic tale of love and loss, passion and betrayal, that moves through the turbulence of war to 1960s' London.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

A new emperor, Aurangzeb, sits on India's glittering Peacock Throne - the throne he seized from his father while the old emperor still lived. He has paid for it with blood: during the brutal civil war he hunted down and killed his brothers. Now he must return the Moghul Empire to the true path and achieve new glory. But the exercise of great power is isolating. With enemies everywhere, who should he trust? Certainly not his sons. He must rely on himself and the knowledge that there are more ways to subdue a man than on the battlefield.But as the years pass memories haunt him - memories of a father who never loved him and a mother who lies in the Taj Mahal; of murdered brothers and of sons and daughters locked in sunless prisons. He tells himself that everything he has done has been necessary - moral, even. But how will his God judge him?

Headline

The Michael Jecks Compendium (A Free Sampler)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

The definitive digital guide to Michael Jecks's widely-praised Knights Templar series.Whether you're a long-standing fan of the medieval Knights Templar adventures, or yet to try this captivating historical series, this is the definitive guide you need.Meet Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, keeper of the kings peace, and his friend Simon Puttock, and discover this dazzling introduction to fifteen titles in the series.*Also contains an exclusive foreword from the author*

Headline Review

Theft of Life

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson
Headline Review

The Fortune Hunter

Daisy Goodwin
Authors:
Daisy Goodwin
Headline Review

The Outcasts

Kathleen Kent
Authors:
Kathleen Kent
Headline Review

Seven for a Secret

Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
Headline Review

The Spoils of Conquest

Seth Hunter
Authors:
Seth Hunter

The Mouth of the Nile, 9th August, 1798: Admiral Nelson has sent Captain Nathan Peake on a desperate journey across the Middle East to convey a grim warning to British India. Bonaparte's army is poised to deliver a fatal blow to the source of Britain's wealth and power by marching overland to India. Arriving in Bombay, Nathan takes command of the East India Company's naval wing - the Bombay Marine - an under-armed and poorly crewed flotilla of sloops and gunboats.With these meagre resources he must stop the flow of French supplies to their Indian ally and protect the Company's trade from the pirates and privateers swarming in the Bay of Bengal. But when Nathan discovers the truth behind the East India Company's honourable facade he confronts some tough personal choices - and a crisis of conscience even more threatening than the enemy.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

The new Moghul Emperor Shah Jahan reigns over a colossally wealthy empire of 100 million souls. Yet to gain his throne he has followed the savage 'throne or coffin' traditions of his ancestors - descendants of Genghis Khan and Tamburlaine. Ever since the Moghuls took India, brother has fought brother and sons their fathers for the prize and Shah Jahan has been no exception.As his reign dawns, now is the time for Shah Jahan to secure his throne by crushing his enemies. Instead, devastated by the death of his beautiful wife Mumtaz, he becomes obsessed with building an epic monument to their perfect love - the Taj Mahal. His overwhelming grief isolates him from his sons and he does not see the rivalries, indeed hatreds, building between them. When he falls ill, civil war breaks out - ruthless, murderous and uncontrollable - and the foundations of the empire itself begin to shake.

Headline Review

The Paris Winter

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson
Headline Review

The Last Dance and Other Stories

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

Three of these stories were previously published in Victoria Hislop's ebook collection, One Cretan Evening. In ten powerful stories, Victoria Hislop takes us through the streets of Athens and into the tree-lined squares of Greek villages. As she evokes their distinct atmosphere, she brings vividly to life a host of unforgettable characters, from a lonesome priest to battling brothers, and from an unwanted stranger to a groom troubled by music and memory. These bittersweet tales of love and loyalty, of separation and reconciliation, captured in Victoria Hislop's unique voice, will stay with you long after you reach the end.