Caroline Graham - Death of a Hollow Man - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472243669
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240507
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2016

Death of a Hollow Man

A Midsomer Murders Mystery 2

By Caroline Graham

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second stunning novel in the series on which Midsomer Murders is based is packed with drama

Backstage at the Causton Amateur Dramatic Society's production of Amadeus, nerves are fraying. On top of the fractious cast hierarchy imposed by Harold Winstanley, director and would-be impresario, cast member Esslyn Carmichael suspects his wife is having an affair with the leading man. And where better to settle scores than the stage?

On opening night, Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby attends, purely as a member of the audience. But when someone turns Esslyn's final grand gesture into a very gruesome coup de theatre, Barnaby suddeny finds himself centre stage...

Biographical Notes

Caroline Graham, the creator of Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby, was born in Warwickshire and educated at Nuneaton High School for Girls, and later the Open University. She was awarded an MA in Theatre Studies at Birmingham University, and has written several plays for both radio and theatre. She has been dubbed by The Sunday Times as, 'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie'.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755342167
  • Publication date: 20 Sep 2007
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline
A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel — The Times
Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues — Mail on Sunday
Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery — Sunday Telegraph
A witty, well-plotted, absolute joy of a book — Yorkshire Post
A treat . . . haunting stuff — Woman's Realm
Wickedly acid, yet sympathetic — Publishers Weekly
Swift, tense and highly alarming — TLS
Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing — Independent
Hard to praise highly enough — The Sunday Times
Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right — Julie Burchill
Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters — Birmingham Post
Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny — Scotsman
The mystery is intriguing, the wit shafts through like sunlight . . . do not miss this book — Family Circle
One to savour — Val McDermid
Headline

Come and Find Me (DI Marnie Rome Book 5)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

State Secrets

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine's twenty-eighth Bob Skinner mystery sees the Edinburgh sleuth plunged into a gripping new case. Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner is long out of the police force but trouble has a habit of following him around. So it is that he finds himself in the Palace of Westminster as a shocking act befalls the nation. Hours before the Prime Minster is due to make a controversial statement, she is discovered in her office with a letter opener driven through her skull. Is the act political? Personal? Or even one of terror?Skinner is swiftly enlisted by the Security Service to lead the investigation. Reunited with Met Police Commander Neil McIlhenney, he has forty-eight hours to crack the case - before the press unleash their wrath.There are many in the tangled web of government with cause to act. But the outcome will be one that not even Skinner himself could predict...

Headline

Rooted In Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Strange Highways

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

In the stunning title story 'Strange Highways', a failed author returns to his hometown after many years to attend his father's funeral, only to find himself suddenly and inexplicably thrust back through time to relive a traumatic event from his past. One rain-swept Sunday night when he was twenty years old, on his way back to college after a weekend with his family, Joey Shannon took the wrong highway - and from that moment, nothing ever went right for him again. Now, exactly twenty years later, on another rain-swept night, Joey finds himself at the same crossroads, looking down the road never taken. Which is odd. Because that road no longer exists. A superhighway replaced it nearly twenty years ago, and the old state route - which had crossed a web of perpetually burning, abandoned coal mines - was condemned as too dangerous and was torn up. But now the highway is exactly as it was on that long-ago night, and when Joey turns on to it, he begins an eerie, terrifying journey toward a truth so dark and stunning that it will change everything he believes about himself, his past, and the nature of life.

Headline Review

Curious Minds

Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

The Golem of Paris

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Last Ragged Breath (Bell Elkins 4)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline Review

Wicked Charms

Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton

Reasons to read Janet Evanovich's bestselling novels: 'Hilarious' (Mail on Sunday); 'The funniest, sassiest crime writer going' (Good Book Guide); 'A laugh-out-loud page turner' (Heat)Never trust a charmer...Lizzy Tucker is happy to work quietly at Dazzle's Bakery, preparing delicious treats for the locals. But her partner Diesel is all about the hunt. Right now he's tracking down a famous pirate's treasure, hidden somewhere along the coast of New England. This bounty contains much, much more than gold and jewels: it's also the hiding place of the powerful Stone of Avarice. Lizzy and Diesel aren't the only ones searching for the Stone. Some greed-driven seekers are willing to kill for it, or even make a deal with the devil. And one of those dangerous seekers looks a lot like Diesel's deceptively charming cousin, Wulf - who also happens to desire Lizzy herself...

Headline

Ghost Roll (A Bell Elkins Short Story)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller

Bell Elkins, prosecuting attorney and small-town heroine of Pulitzer Prize winner Julia Keller's A Killing in the Hills, Bitter River and Summer of the Dead, faces one of her most challenging days in this exclusive digital short story. Featuring an exclusive extract from her new full-length novel LAST RAGGED BREATH. For Bell Elkins no day is ever the same. But on this day, for the third day running, Bell has woken up from the same dream. A dream about a boy needing her help, reaching out to her. Bell, always unable to help. Already unsettled she becomes embroiled, in her role as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, in an investigation into a couple running a local day-care centre, and Bell suspects that her day is only going to get worse. A suspicion that is compounded when she's forced to confront a friend's treachery and a ghost from her past. No day is ever the same, but will Bell be forever changed by this one?

Headline

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Westminster is struck by a deadly killer... In Anne Perry's tenth Victorian mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, a murderer strikes at Members of Parliament crossing Westminster Bridge. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. '[Anne] Perry once again demonstrates her true and lively passion... Her finely drawn characters couldn't be more comfortable within the customs and sensibility of their historical period' - New York Times Book Review In the few minutes it takes to cross Westminster Bridge, Sir Lockwood Hamilton has his throat slit and is tied to a lamppost with his evening scarf. The killer vanishes without being seen. Inspector Thomas Pitt thinks the motive might have been personal... or political. When a second Member of Parliament is murdered in the same way, politics seems certain to be the reason. Soon the suspect list includes anarchists and suffragettes. Public outrage mounts and fear grips London and Parliament after a third lamppost murder. Deep in his own investigation, Pitt must rely on his wife, Charlotte, and Great-aunt Vespasia to explore the drawing rooms of the upper class for clues to the mystery. With burning social issues swirling around them, the three of them must solve the case before another MP falls victim to the Westminster cutthroat. What readers are saying about Bethlehem Road: 'These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero''I could not put it down. One of her best works''Gripping read'

Headline

A Ghost in the Machine

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

The Killings at Badger's Drift

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

Badger's Drift - a tranquil English village, home to Miss Emily Simpson, a kindly, well-liked spinster. But when poor Miss Simpson takes a gentle stroll in the woods near her home one day and sees something among the trees that she was never meant to see, her peaceful existence is brought to an abrupt end. To most, Miss Simpson's death looks natural enough, but her old friend Miss Lucy Bellringer is unconvinced and calls on Chief Inspector Barnaby for help. Sure enough, as he investigates, a previously unseen seamy side to Badger's Drift is revealed - one where old rivalries, old loves and new scandals are rife. And then there's a second, horrifically gruesome killing...