Alex Rutherford - Empire of the Moghul: Raiders From the North - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £0.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755356546
    • Publication date:07 Jan 2010
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755383252
    • Publication date:25 Nov 2010

Empire of the Moghul: Raiders From the North

By Alex Rutherford

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first book in the gripping and brilliant Empire of the Moghul series

The first book in the Empire of the Moghul series: chronicling the rise and fall of the Moghul rulers of India, beginning with Babur who swept in from Central Asia to found one of the most powerful dynasties in history.

1494, and the new ruler of Ferghana, twelve-year-old Babur, faces a seemingly impossible challenge. Babur is determined to equal his great ancestor, Tamburlaine, whose conquests stretched from Delhi to the Mediterranean, from wealthy Persia to the wild Volga. But he is dangerously young to inherit a crown and treasonous plots, tribal rivalries, rampaging armies and ruthlessly ambitious enemies will threaten his destiny, his kingdom, even his survival.

Biographical Notes

Alex Rutherford is Diana Preston and her husband Michael.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755347537
  • Publication date: 07 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Headline Review
A totally absorbing narrative filled with authentic historical characters and sweeping action set in an age of horrifying but magnificent savagery. The writing is as compelling as the events described and kept me eagerly leaping from one page to the next — Wilbur Smith
'Rutherford's glorious, broad-sweeping adventure in the wild lands of the Moghul sees the start of a wonderful series...In Babur, he has found a real-life hero, with all the flaws, mistakes and misadventures that spark true heroism... Breathtaking stuff' — Manda Scott
'Alex Rutherford has set the bar high for his sequels' — Daily Mail
'Alex Rutherford brings the period and the history of the region alive. The characters are dynamic, and the deadly regional politics of alliances and treaties are reflected by the internal tensions at court' — US Historical Novel Society
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

The Wolf of Midnight (Tintagel Book III)

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Last Legionnaire (Jack Lark, Book 5)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Judith Lennox Wartime Collection

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline

The Devil's Assassin (Jack Lark, Book 3)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline

The Lone Warrior (Jack Lark, Book 4)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

Jack Lark, once the Scarlet Thief, is back in The Lone Warrior by Paul Fraser Collard - and he's about to march right into the bubbling centre of the Indian Mutiny. This series is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell and 'evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling' (The Times)Jack Lark, once the Scarlet Thief, has fought hard for his freedom. But will he risk it all to do the right thing?Bombay, 1857. India is simmering with discontent, and Jack Lark, honourably discharged from the British Army, aims to take the first ship back to England. But before he leaves, he cannot resist the adventure of helping a young woman escape imprisonment in a gaming house. He promises to escort Aamira home, but they arrive in Delhi just as the Indian Mutiny explodes. As both sides commit horrific slaughter and the siege of Delhi begins, Jack realises that despite the danger he cannot stand by and watch. At heart, he is still a soldier...The Lone Warrior is a scintillating tale of battle and courage from the author of The Scarlet Thief.Praise for Paul Fraser Collard:'I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero' Anthony Riches'Sharpe fans will be delighted to welcome a swashbuckling new hero to follow... Marvellous fun' Peterborough Telegraph'A confident, rich and exciting novel that gave me all the ingredients I would want for a historical adventure of the highest order' For Winter Nights'It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive... The battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers' Parmenion Books

Headline Review

The Poisoned Throne (Tintagel Book II)

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume
Headline Review

The Blood of Kings (Tintagel Book I)

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume
Headline Review

The Ice King (Twilight of the Celts Book III)

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

A new emperor, Aurangzeb, sits on India's glittering Peacock Throne - the throne he seized from his father while the old emperor still lived. He has paid for it with blood: during the brutal civil war he hunted down and killed his brothers. Now he must return the Moghul Empire to the true path and achieve new glory. But the exercise of great power is isolating. With enemies everywhere, who should he trust? Certainly not his sons. He must rely on himself and the knowledge that there are more ways to subdue a man than on the battlefield.But as the years pass memories haunt him - memories of a father who never loved him and a mother who lies in the Taj Mahal; of murdered brothers and of sons and daughters locked in sunless prisons. He tells himself that everything he has done has been necessary - moral, even. But how will his God judge him?

Headline Review

Till the Day Goes Down

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

Turbulence and passion drive an unforgettable historical epic... 16th century Europe is the setting for Judith Lennox's thrillingly epic novel Till the Day Goes Down. Perfect for fans of Rosanna Ley and Kate Morton.As England prepares for the threat of invasion, Catholic forces in France, Scotland and Spain plan the 'Enterprise of England', weaving a cat's-cradle of intrigue around the imprisoned Mary, Queen of Scots, to bring her to the throne. In London, Sir Frances Walsingham, Elizabeth I's Secretary of State and master of espionage, pits his intellect against the forces that threaten England.The Anglo-Scots border, too, is a battleground, an anarchic land whose people acknowledge no allegiance but to their family name. But Luke Ridley, illegitimate son of a gypsy, has no allegiances: he must earn his living in whatever way he can. He is caught up in treacheries both of his own and of Sir Francis Walsingham's making.Into the dangerous melting-pot of Northumberland arrive Christie and Arbel Forster. Fragile, amoral Arbel is a catalyst for all the simmering tensions of the borders; Christie has her own obsession: to rediscover the family she lost years before in the terror of the French Wars of Religion. The blood-feud between the Forsters and the Ridleys has been in abeyance; now it begins to smoulder again, its embers rekindled by the passions and betrayals of the past. What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive''Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion''Five stars'

Headline Review

The Storm Lord (Twilight of the Celts Book II)

M. K. Hume
Authors:
M. K. Hume
Headline

The Maharajah's General (Jack Lark, Book 2)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

In The Maharajah's General by Paul Fraser Collard Jack Lark returns to the battlefield under a new name to face greater adventures in a brutal land. A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Collard ... evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling' The TimesJack Lark barely survived the Battle of the Alma. As the brutal fight raged, he discovered the true duty that came with the officer's commission he'd taken. In hospital, wounded, and with his stolen life left lying on the battlefield, he grasps a chance to prove himself a leader once more. Poor Captain Danbury is dead, but Jack will travel to his new regiment in India, under his name.Jack soon finds more enemies, but this time they're on his own side. Exposed as a fraud, he's rescued by the chaplain's beautiful daughter, who has her own reasons to escape. They seek desperate refuge with the Maharajah of Sawadh, the charismatic leader whom the British Army must subdue. He sees Jack as a curiosity, but recognises a fellow military mind. In return for his safety, Jack must train the very army the British may soon have to fight...(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline

The Last of Days

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Coming Home

Sue Gee
Authors:
Sue Gee
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe
Headline

A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 9)

Rosemary Rowe
Authors:
Rosemary Rowe

Libertus is in a race against time to solve his latest mystery...Rosemary Rowe's clever whodunits continue to delight fans of historical crime, with Libertus and Junio proving a formidable and popular detective team in the ninth novel of the Libertus series, A Coin for the Ferryman. Perfect for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis. 'A cracking tale with a fast-moving plot' - Conn Iggulden In Roman Britain, AD 189, every slave knows his lot in life depends solely on the morals - or lack of morals - of his master. Fortunately for one young Glevum slave, Junio, his owner, former slave turned pavement-maker Libertus, believes heartily in rewarding years of loyalty and service. Junio is to be granted his freedom in an elaborate ceremony at the Basilica Law Court. And what better moment than the manumission to announce the lad's engagement? But the young couple's happiness is threatened by a terrible omen: the gruesome discovery of a corpse, hastily concealed in a shallow grave. Who is it? And, more importantly, who will go to any lengths to cover up their heinous crime? Determined to solve the mystery before the impending nuptials, Junio joins his mentor Libertus in trying to piece together a truly masterful mosaic of murder...What readers are saying about A Coin for the Ferryman:'A very intriguing murder mystery of a great series''Rosemary Rowe is to be commended for writing a series which manages to be entertaining and lively whilst drip feeding information about the period directly into the subconscious''The red herrings are very well contrived and as usual, the information about Romano-British life is a fascination in itself'