Martina Cole - Dangerous Lady - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472247285
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472244772
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017

Dangerous Lady

By Martina Cole

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Martina's explosive first novel of corruption and violence

Martina Cole's extraordinary first novel DANGEROUS LADY introduced a totally original genre of thriller, paving the way for her multiple No. 1 bestsellers, including BETRAYAL and GET EVEN. 'Right from the start [Cole] has enjoyed unqualified approval for her distinctive and powerfully written fiction' [The Times], which will appeal to fans of Patricia Cornwell and Lynda La Plante.

No one thinks a seventeen-year-old girl can take on the hard men of London's gangland, but it's a mistake to underestimate Maura Ryan: she's tough, clever and beautiful - which makes her one very dangerous lady.

Together, she and her brother Michael are unbeatable but notoriety has its price. The police are determined to put Maura away once and for all - and not everyone in the family think that's such a bad idea. When it comes to the crunch, Maura has to face the pain of lost love in her past - and the dangerous lady discovers her heart is not make entirely of stone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755350704
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2008
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
No one writes about East End women and their vagaries like Martina Cole — Maxim Jakubowski, Murder One
'A powerful novel that pulls no punches... Cole has an ear for the vernacular of the East End, as well as an ability to portray the viciousness of life at the edge' the Guide — Guide
'Cole is brilliant at portraying the good among the bad, and vice versa, so until the very end we never quite know who to trust. This is the very stuff that makes her so compelling' — Daily Mirror
'Right from the start [Cole] has enjoyed unqualified approval for her distinctive and powerfully written fiction' — The Times
Intensely readable — Guardian
'Martina Cole explores the shady criminal underworld, a setting she is fast making her own' — Sunday Express
'Utterly compelling' — Mirror
'The story will grip you from the first pages' — Best
'Gritty novel from an author who knows intimately the world she writes about' — Express
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

The unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS.It begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things. And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael,who are inseparable. And the boys become men,and then Annie walks into their lives,and it changes nothing and everything.Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living.

Headline

Untitled: the new Martina Cole bestseller featuring Kate Burrows

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline

Monster In The Closet (The Baltimore Series Book 5)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's irresistible novel transports you straight to the mountains of Crete. A gorgeous, sun-filled new read from the author of THE OYSTER CATCHER, THE OLIVE BRANCH, and LATE SUMMER IN THE VINEYARD.We never forget the one who got away.Eighteen years ago Nell fell in love in the mountains of Crete and life changed for ever. Nell's daughter, Demi, has never met her dad. Nell never saw him again.When she gets the chance to return to the hilltop town of Vounoplagia - where everything began - Nell can't resist the urge to go back and find him.Working on a honey farm perched high up in the hills, there's plenty to keep her busy. And she will quickly realise the town harbours just as many secrets as she does.But if Nell's favourite romantic films are right, there's a happy ending in store for each of us. All she has to do is seek out the magic of the mountains...Jo Thomas takes you there.

Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). Love Me or Leave Me is a heartrending story of love and friendship and the obstacles that may come between. Perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Catherine Cookson.Beautiful Eva Bereton has just three close friends: Patsy, whom she looks upon as a sister; Bill, once her childhood sweetheart, now married and living in Canada; and her mother, to whom she is devoted. When a tragic accident turns Eva's world upside down, Patsy is the only one she can turn to.A hated figure from the past comes to reclaim the farm and business that Eva had always believed were her parents'. Not even Bill, still in love with Eva, can stop Eva being thrown out on the streets. Together with Patsy, Eva starts a new life far away.Luckily, they find work and lodgings wherever they settle. But when Eva arrives in Blackburn her past mistakes rise up to haunt her. Yet even when threatened from all sides Eva will never accept that her chances of happiness have been destroyed. Determined and optimistic, she fights on to change her life for the better.

Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told. They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.

Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .

Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.'Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away' Paula HawkinsWhen her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden - thirty two years old and still living at home - immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime. Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie's unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie's uncle to take care of a problem.This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.

Headline

Her Husband's Lover

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch

A woman has to stop her rival from ruining her life in HER HUSBAND'S LOVER, the stunning new novel from the acclaimed Julia Crouch. 'Psychological thrillers don't come much better than this' Clare Mackintosh She stole her husband. Now she wants to take her life.After the horrors of the past, Louisa Williams is desperate to make a clean start.Her husband Sam is dead. Her children, too, are gone, victims of the car accident in which he died. Sam said that she would never get away from him. That he would hound her to death if she tried to leave. Louisa never thought that he would want to harm their children though. But then she never thought that he would betray her with a woman like Sophie.And now Sophie is determined to take all that Louisa has left. She wants to destroy her reputation and to take what she thinks is owed her - the life she would have had if Sam had lived.Her husband's lover wants to take her life. The only question is will Louisa let her?

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

Betrayal

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Betrayal is the twenty-third novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, author of DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, GET EVEN and many more. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.Survival. It's all down to who you trust.Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was kid, and he's going to keep it that way.Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible.But Jade's been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one's indestructible.And when you're at the top, that's when you've got to watch the hardest.Especially the ones closest to you . . .

Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Rachael Leben's violently possessive ex-husband, Eric, hideously mangled in a freak accident, is dead. But his body has disappeared from the city morgue. Now someone, or something, is watching Rachael. Calling her. Stalking her. And though no one will believe her, she knows who it is; that his walking corpse is a grotesque mockery of life, and his brilliant, warped mind, once again 'alive', is seething with jealous rage, seeking an unspeakable revenge.