Martina Cole - The Take - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

The Take

A gripping crime thriller of family lies and betrayal

By Martina Cole

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

THE TAKE: You may have seen the TV. That doesn't mean you know the full story.

In this family, if you want something, you take it.

THE TAKE by No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author Martina Cole won the British Book Award for best Crime Thriller of the Year and was adapted for television with an all-star cast including Tom Hardy, Brian Cox and Charlotte Riley.

'Martina tells it like it really is' - Sun.

Fresh out of prison, Freddie Jackson wants to rule the underworld. His wife Jackie wants her husband back and in her bed only. Jackie's sister Maggie wants to be with Jimmy, Freddie's cousin. And Jimmy has big gangland ambitions of his own.

Everyone in the Jackson family wants something. And there's no such thing as loyalty.

You might have seen THE TAKE and THE RUNAWAY on TV - but that certainly doesn't mean you know what happens in the books!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755350797
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2006
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

The Murderer's Apprentice

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

No Mercy

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

The brand new novel from Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller and 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) Martina Cole. The biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique and powerful novels have gripped their readers for twenty-five years, and include Dangerous Lady, The Take and Damaged.

Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

From the bestselling author of WATCH OVER ME, Daniela Sacerdoti's latest Seal Island novel is a romantic, moving and uplifting story of three different lives, connected by a thread.** Over 1 million copies sold of Daniela Sacerdoti's novels **Three separate lives. Three broken hearts.Haunted by his wife's death, Matt arrives on Seal Island determined to be alone and unable to escape his grief. In the island's hospital, a young woman named Rose lies in a coma, trapped by the memories of events leading up to her accident. Grace, the island's doctor, is at the heart of the community. Only she knows how much she regrets turning down the chance of love and a family years ago.For these three people hope seems gone. But life is about to offer an unexpected new beginning...Readers adore the captivating novels of Daniela Sacerdoti'A love story that will satisfy even the most hopeless romantics' Daily Express'Beautifully written and atmospheric' The Sun 'A great book' Lesley Pearse'Emotional. I couldn't put it down' Daily Mail'I fell in love with this book' Prima magazine

Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

AN UNFINISHED MURDER is the sixth Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries.Mitchell and Markby come out of retirement to crack a cold case...As young children, Josh Browning and his sister, Dilys, stumbled across a dead body while playing on the outskirts of their Cotswold village. Terrified by what they'd seen, neither of them told a soul. Now, twenty years later, Josh finds the dead woman's charm bracelet among his sister's possessions.Who better to tell than his trusted friend, the man he gardens for, retired Superintendent Alan Markby? As Markby listens to Josh's confession, alarm bells start to ring. The dates and details tie in with a missing person case that was never solved.Joining forces with Superintendent Ian Carter, who also investigated the original case, and Inspector Jess Campbell, from the region where the missing girl was last seen, Markby delves into the unsolved mystery. Together, they are determined to catch a clever killer who almost got away with murder...

Wildfire

No Time to Cry

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

'With the return of some of her best-loved characters and lashings of her usual grit, Cole fans will lap this up' HeatDamaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller and Betrayal. Iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows returns in a blistering thriller you won't be able to put down. This killer has only just begun...DCI Kate Burrows might be retired, but when the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up in Grantley, she's the first person DCI Annie Carr calls for help.Life for Kate and ex-gangster Patrick Kelly is thrown into chaos when his long lost son turns up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him. This new case could be just what Kate needs.But as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock.Without any clear leads, can they stop the killer before another schoolgirl dies?

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Betrayal

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Betrayal is the twenty-third novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, author of DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, GET EVEN and many more. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.Survival. It's all down to who you trust.Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was a kid, and he's going to keep it that way.Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible.But Jade's been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one's indestructible.And when you're at the top, that's when you've got to watch the hardest.Especially the ones closest to you . . .(P)2016 Headline Digital

Headline

Get Even

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

They got her man. Now she's going to get even...GET EVEN, by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole tells the hard-hitting tale of the fearless Sharon Conway as she finally gets her shot at revenge... Sharon Conway and Lenny Scott are childhood sweethearts. Everyone says they are too young, but nothing can keep them apart. Sharon doesn't question Lenny's business dealings and it isn't long before his reputation as a hard man destined for the top means they are living the good life with their sons.But one night Lenny doesn't come home. It isn't the first time he has gone AWOL. But it is his last. He is found murdered - beaten to death in an act of brutality that shocks even the police. And Sharon never knows why.Now, twenty years later, Sharon is about to find out the truth. Such a crime cannot go unpunished. Revenge is long overdue. The time has come to... GET EVEN.If you love powerful female characters, be sure to also read Martina Cole's GOODNIGHT LADY, THE KNOW and CLOSE. These ladies are strong, resilient and vengeful...

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD - A RICHARD AND JUDY PICK 2017A top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Breakdown (Alex Delaware series, Book 31)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

Criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware is pushed to his limit like never before in Breakdown by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will love this sabre-sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense. Dr. Alex Delaware first meets beautiful and emotionally fragile actress Zelda Chase when called upon to evaluate her five-year-old son. Years later, Alex is unexpectedly reunited with Zelda when she is involuntarily committed after a bizarre psychotic episode. But tragedy strikes and shortly after her release, Zelda is discovered dead in the grounds of a palatial L.A. estate. Having experienced more than enough of the city's dark side to recognise the scent of evil, Alex turns to his friend, LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis, for help in finding the perpetrator. Meanwhile, Alex is caught up in another quest: the search for Zelda's missing son. And when other victims vanish from the same upscale neighborhood, worry turns to terror.As Alex struggles to piece together the brief rise and steep fall of a gorgeous, talented actress, he and Milo unveil shattered dreams, the corruption of a family, and a grotesque betrayal of innocence. With each devastating revelation and damning clue, Alex's brilliant mind is challenged as never before - and his determination grows to see a killer caged and the truth set free.

Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Julia Keller
Authors:
Julia Keller
Headline

Accused (Rosato & DiNunzio 1)

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline
Headline

The Good Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Everything comes at a price... Hard-hitting and uncompromising, THE GOOD LIFE by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole is a chilling thriller about power and protection, and what life is really like on the inside. When Cain Moran is sentenced to life in prison, he rules the inside with the same determination as he did the London underworld. He must protect his family, at whatever cost.Jenny Riley has never wanted anyone but Cain, and she will do everything she can to keep their relationship alive.But plenty of people think Cain and Jenny have been living the good life for too long. And they're about to make them pay...For more compelling novels about life on the inside, be sure to read Martina Cole's FACELESS, TWO WOMEN and THE JUMP

Headline

Revenge

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

He thought he was invincible. He was wrong.REVENGE by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole is an unflinching novel that exposes a world that many would rather ignore...Michael Flynn is untouchable. He's the boss of a dangerous empire, the biggest the criminal world has ever seen. No one crosses him, no one gets in his way, and everyone does what he says - including the law.But you don't get to where Michael is without making enemies. Someone is out for revenge. And it's best served when least expected.For more novels that will take you deep into the dark and dangerous criminal underworld, check out Martina Cole's THE GRAFT, THE BUSINESS and THE LIFE

Headline

Someone Else's Skin (D.I. Marnie Rome 1): Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

The Knowledge: A free digital compendium

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

No Law in the Land (Knights Templar Mysteries 27)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks