Wendy Holden - Beautiful People - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755342563
    • Publication date:06 Aug 2009

Beautiful People

By Wendy Holden

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A hilarious tale from Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author WENDY HOLDEN. For fans of MARRYING UP and BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE.

Fame, love and happiness. Can anyone have it all? Darcy's a struggling English-rose actress when The Call comes from LA. An Oscar-tastic director. A movie to make her famous. The hunkiest co-star in Hollywood. So why doesn't she want to go? Belle's a size-zero film star but she's in big, fat trouble. Hotter than the earth's core a year ago, she's now Tinseltown toast after her last film bombed. Can she get back to the big time? When the two women lock horns over men, movies and megadiets, there's more drama than even Hollywood can handle. And after a celebrity nanny, reluctant supermodel and passionate star chef enter the mix, things get seriously hot and spicy.

Biographical Notes

Wendy Holden, a former journalist, is the author of ten acclaimed bestsellers. She is a regular on TV and radio and writes for a wide range of publications. She is married, lives in the country and has two small children. Visit her on her website www.wendyholden.net, or follow her on Twitter @Wendy_Holden

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755352418
  • Publication date: 22 Jan 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Praise for Wendy Holden: Thank God for Wendy Holden. Beautiful People is exactly what a girl needs — Daily Mail
An indulgent and entertaining break from real life — Candis
Fun and irrepressible, Holden claims Jilly Cooper's crown — Woman & Home
As exciting and explosive as her previous offering — Heat
Up there with the best of Jilly Cooper — The Times
With clever dialogue and a great spectrum of personalities, Holden's big book of celebrity obsession and the price of beauty is fast-paced, realistic, and hugely entertaining — Booklist
There are ringside moments that nail the wispy nature of celebrity and the futility of chasing it — Publishers Weekly
A modern day Jilly Cooper — Glamour
The always witty Wendy Holden is back with a fun yet touching tale about class and privilege — Good Housekeeping
Super-sharp... This hugely entertaining novel is chick lit at its best! — Closer
Headline Review

Honeymoon Suite

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Wendy Holden, the number one bestselling queen of romantic comedy, returns with a warm tale that is sure to charm her many fans and delight those who can't get enough of Kathy Lette and Jane Green.'An author guaranteed to lift your spirits' GraziaWhen Nell is marooned at the altar, her feisty best friend Rachel says she'll come with her on honeymoon instead. Why waste a week in a posh country hotel?So the duo, plus Rachel's Agatha Christie-obsessed small daughter Juno, head for the hills and idyllic Edenville, on the edge of the beautiful Pemberton estate. Awaiting them is a cast of colourful characters from Jason the harassed hotel manager to the ruthless Angela, Director of HR. Not to mention the handsome Dylan, a bestselling writer on the run from his past. Nell doesn't want to go back to London, so when a job on the estate comes up, she's happy to stay. Even if it is arranging weddings in the Big House! As she becomes entangled in the lives of the locals - and they weave their way into her heart - she realises there might be a way to reach the rainbow's end after all.

Headline Review

Wild and Free

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Wild and Free by Sunday Times bestselling author Wendy Holden sees the author of Bad Heir Day and The Wives of Bath at the top of her game. Fun for fans of Jane Costello and Carole Matthews.'Super-sharp ... This hugely entertaining novel is chick lit at its best!' CloserWild & Free is the festival du jour. Everyone piles through its gates - and Cupid lies in wait to sprinkle a little midsummer madness on them all.Teacher Ginnie is desperate to forget her crush on headmaster Mark, and hopes glamping might do the trick. But Mark is also heading for Wild & Free to reform his college band ... desperate not to be seen by anyone he knows. Mark's bandmate James dreams of a festival blow-out with his son, Guy ... until his wife Victoria's ambition kills the dream. Now she and Guy are en route to Wild & Free instead but when Guy meets Shanna-Mae and falls for her earthy charms, Victoria is determined to snap Cupid's arrow.Will the magic of the festival send them wild? Or set them free to find peace and love?

Headline Review

Gifted and Talented

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

It's the new university term among the dreaming spires. The start of a whole new life.Meet Isabel, beautiful, clever, shy - and leaving home for the first time.Meet Olly, recently graduated, idealistic and a little hopeless, a man whose heart leads his brain and for whom opportunity just hasn't come knocking - yet.Meet Amber, the It girl who is soon partying with the fast set - and no-one is faster than Jasper de Borchy, glamorous leader of the notorious Bullinger club.Meet the grown-ups: Diana, recently divorced mother-of-one, newly arrived in town to take up a post as college gardener - and Richard, the new college head, a widower, a scientist, and as lonely as some of the specimens he captures in his science lab. The rich, the poor, the shy, the extrovert, the givers, the takers. Meet the Gifted and Talented.

Headline Review

Marrying Up

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

Gallery Girl

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

The Perfect Man

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Skinner's Mission (Bob Skinner series, Book 6)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline Review

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The bestselling third book in Simon Scarrow's Wellington and Napoleon quartet focusing on two giants of European history, Wellington and Napoleon.In the early years of the nineteenth century, Arthur Wellesley (elevated to Viscount Wellington in the course of the novel) and Napoleon Bonaparte are well established as men of military genius. Wellesley has returned from India, where his skill and bravery made a remarkable impression on his superiors. He faces trials and tribulations on the political scene before becoming embroiled militarily in Copenhagen, then Portugal and finally Spain. Napoleon, established as Emperor, is cementing his control on Europe, intending finally to crush his hated foe across the Channel: Great Britain. The time is fast approaching when Wellington and Napoleon will come face to face in confrontation - and only one man can emerge victorious...

Headline

It Should Have Been Me

Phillipa Ashley
Authors:
Phillipa Ashley
Headline

Just Say Yes

Phillipa Ashley
Authors:
Phillipa Ashley

Lucy Gibson needs to get away. When her good-looking, popular boyfriend Nick Laurentis, winner of reality TV show

Headline Review

Wicked Pleasures

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

Aftershock (Bob Skinner series, Book 18)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline Review

Small Island

Andrea Levy
Authors:
Andrea Levy
Headline

Skinner's Ghosts (Bob Skinner series, Book 7)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Thursday Legends (Bob Skinner series, Book 10)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

The Business

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

In this life, you fight dirty to survive. THE BUSINESS by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole is an unflinching novel that exposes a world that many would rather ignore...Imelda Dooley has made a big mistake. Pregnant, alone and scared, she starts down a trail of lies and destruction that will wreck the lives of all who try to love her.As Imelda brings her daughter Jordanna into the world, followed by her son Kenny, she takes them with her into the dark underworld of drugs, prostitution and violence.But all actions have consequences. The only question is, who will face them?For more novels that will take you deep into the dark and dangerous criminal underworld, check out Martina Cole's THE GRAFT, THE LIFE and REVENGE

Headline Review

Bad Heir Day

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Anna's boyfriend Seb is impossibly handsome, impossibly rich and generally just impossible. When eventually he dumps her, she vows to give up men and throw herself into her career. Which is how she ends up working for Cassandra. The social climber from hell, Cassandra has a huge house in Kensington, a philandering rock star husband and the spawn of Satan for a son. So when desperate-to-escape Anna meets dashing Jamie, charming heir to a castle in Scotland, she can't believe her luck. And she probably shouldn't...

Headline Review

A Kept Woman

Louise Bagshawe
Authors:
Louise Bagshawe

Diana's combination of beauty and class has bagged her marriage to publishing mogul Ernie Foxton, and with that comes a stunning New York apartment, a designer wardrobe and a manicurist, hairdresser and masseuse on tap. With little more to do with her days than shopping and socialising, this is the life for which she was born. But then, without warning, the bottom drops out of Diana's meticulously constructed world, and she finds herself without a home or a husband, and with barely a dime to her name. For the first time in her life, she might just have to look after herself. But, given how many people would love to see her fail, it's not going to be a walk in the park.

Headline Review

Azur Like It

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden

Kate, a journalist in a small northern town, is fed up with covering black pudding championships for the Slackmucklethwaite Mercury and living with Mum, Dad and Gran in a semi called Wits End. When evil tycoon Peter Hardstone takes over the paper, slashes budgets and sacks staff, Kate's career hits an all-time low. Gloom turns to glamour once Hardstone's sexy son arrives to work on the Mercury. And when Kate's sent with him to cover the glittering Cannes Film Festival, she can't believe her luck. But it's not all fun and games: behind the glitz and sunshine lies a dark mystery that is Kate's most challenging newspaper assignment yet.

Headline

Fallen Gods (Bob Skinner series, Book 13)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When a body is found after a flood, the secrets of a tempestuous life surface with it. Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner has kept the existence of his hated brother Michael hidden for years. As he relives their past conflict, other demons threaten his future. For not only are his professional enemies circling, but Sarah, his wife, seems set on a course for calamity. Can Skinner surmount the greatest challenges of his life... and if he does, will he ever be the same? Meanwhile, in an Edinburgh art gallery, his team confront a shocking and very public case of arson. Was it a political protest, or something much deeper?