James Forrester - Sacred Treason - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755356034
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2011

Sacred Treason

By James Forrester

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gripping historical thriller full of compelling detail and narrative twists in the vein of C. J. Sansom

A brilliant and enthralling debut historical thriller in the vein of C.J. Sansom. London, 1563. England is a troubled nation. Catholic plots against the young Queen Elizabeth spring up all over the country. The herald William Harley - known to everyone as Clarenceux - receives a book from his friend and fellow Catholic, Henry Machyn. But Machyn is in fear of his life... What secret can the book hold? And then Clarenceux is visited by the State in the form of Francis Walsingham and his ruthless enforcers, who will stop at nothing to gain possession of it. If Clarenceux and his family are to survive the terror of the state, he must solve the clues contained in the book to unlock its dangerous secrets before it's too late. And when he does, he realises that it's not only his life and the lives of those most dear to him that are at stake...

Biographical Notes

James Forrester is a pen name for historian Dr Ian Mortimer. Dr Mortimer is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the author of four highly acclaimed medieval biographies. He is also the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England which was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller and The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series. He lives with his wife and three children on the edge of Dartmoor. For more information, visit www.jamesforrester.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755358595
  • Publication date: 08 May 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Backstreet Child

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Salmon Lane is a quiet Bermondsey backstreet lined with modest brick houses and paved with cobbles. For Carrie Tanner it's home. She's worked hard to build her own business and has earned the grudging respect of her business rivals - even the Galloways, both father and son. Personal feuds, though, are overshadowed by the outbreak of the Second World War, which brings the terrors of the Blitz to the neighbourhood. This close-knit community is forced to draw on all their reserves of courage and humour to survive the difficulties of poverty, rationing and nightly air raids. And even as the men are called up, go missing in action or are killed, and homes are bombed, their extraordinary Cockney spirit shines through ...

Headline Review

The Raven's Head

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

The Knights Templar Collection

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries. The Knights Templar Collection brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much-loved Knights Templar series by Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell.The Mad Monk of Gidleigh (Book 14): As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again.The Templar's Penance (Book 15): It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin's past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself...The Outlaws of Ennor (Book 16): On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island's hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre? What readers are saying about The Knights Templar mysteries: 'Michael Jecks is one of the best medieval writers of our times. His two main characters come alive in the imagination when you're reading them''The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times''Good introduction to the series'

Headline

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

The Vanishing Witch

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

Spare Brides

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Shadow of Night

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Tainted Throne

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **The brutal battle for power continues in the fourth book in the epic Empire of the Moghul series.Agra, India, 1606. Jahangir, the triumphant Moghul Emperor and ruler of most of the Indian subcontinent, is doomed. No amount of wealth and ruthlessness can protect him from his sons' desire for power. The glorious Moghul throne is worth any amount of bloodshed and betrayal; once Jahangir raised troops against his own father; now he faces a bloody battle with Khurram, the ablest of his warring sons.Worse is to come. Just as the heirs of Timur the Great share intelligence, physical strength and utter ruthlessness, they also have a great weakness for wine and opium. Once Jahangir is tempted, his talented wife, Mehrunissa, is only too willing to take up the reins of empire. And with Khurram and his half-brothers each still determined to be their father's heir, the savage battle for the Moghul throne will be more ferocious than even Timur could have imagined...

Headline Review

The Final Sacrament

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester

From the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series, comes the next enthralling Elizabethan thriller.September 1566. William Harley, Clarenceux King of Arms, lives quietly with his family in London, with a document in his possession that could destroy the state. The aged Lady Percy, Countess of Northumberland, has not given up trying to find it. Nor has she forgotten how he betrayed her and the Catholic cause - she has spent the last two years planning her revenge. But then eloquent and adventurous courtier, John Greystoke suddenly seems most concerned for Clarenceux's safety. And why, on behalf of the government, does Francis Walsingham have spies watching Clarenceux's house day and night? When his wife and his daughter go missing, Clarenceux finds himself on the run with his other young daughter, hunted by Lady Percy's agents. He knows he must finally destroy the document, even if it should cost him his life - but how can he, until he has reunited his family?

Headline Review

Private Lives

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

Escape with Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry into an intoxicating world where games are played to mask the truth, where there is no one you can trust, and where being too good at your job can put your life in danger... Anna Kennedy loves her career. A young associate with a top media law firm, she's the lawyer to the stars, hiding their sins from the hungry media. When Anna fails to prevent a damaging story being printed about heart-throb movie star Sam Charles she finds herself fighting to save not only his reputation, but also her own. But Anna is about to uncover a scandal more explosive than even Sam's infidelities. A party girl is already dead and those responsible are prepared to silence anyone who stands in their way. Not least a pretty young lawyer who knows too much...

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Headline Review

The Roots of Betrayal

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester
Headline

A Discovery of Witches

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness
Headline

Beach Road

James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Authors:
James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Brothers at War

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **The second enthralling installment in Alex Rutherford's Empire of the Moghul series.1530, Agra, Northern India. Humayun, the newly-crowned second Moghul Emperor, is a fortunate man. His father, Babur, has bequeathed him wealth, glory and an empire which stretches a thousand miles south from the Khyber pass; he must now build on his legacy, and make the Moghuls worthy of their forebear, Tamburlaine. But, unbeknown to him, Humayun is already in grave danger. His half-brothers are plotting against him; they doubt that he has the strength, the will, the brutality needed to command the Moghul armies and lead them to still-greater glories. Perhaps they are right. Soon Humayun will be locked in a terrible battle: not only for his crown, not only for his life, but for the existence of the very empire itself.

Headline

Mr Monster

Dan Wells
Authors:
Dan Wells
Headline

The Brotherhood of Five

Clio Gray
Authors:
Clio Gray