James Forrester - Sacred Treason - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755356034
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2011

Sacred Treason

By James Forrester

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gripping historical thriller full of compelling detail and narrative twists in the vein of C. J. Sansom

A brilliant and enthralling debut historical thriller in the vein of C.J. Sansom. London, 1563. England is a troubled nation. Catholic plots against the young Queen Elizabeth spring up all over the country. The herald William Harley - known to everyone as Clarenceux - receives a book from his friend and fellow Catholic, Henry Machyn. But Machyn is in fear of his life... What secret can the book hold? And then Clarenceux is visited by the State in the form of Francis Walsingham and his ruthless enforcers, who will stop at nothing to gain possession of it. If Clarenceux and his family are to survive the terror of the state, he must solve the clues contained in the book to unlock its dangerous secrets before it's too late. And when he does, he realises that it's not only his life and the lives of those most dear to him that are at stake...

Biographical Notes

James Forrester is a pen name for historian Dr Ian Mortimer. Dr Mortimer is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the author of four highly acclaimed medieval biographies. He is also the author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England which was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller and The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, now a major BBC 2 TV series. He lives with his wife and three children on the edge of Dartmoor. For more information, visit www.jamesforrester.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755358595
  • Publication date: 08 May 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

The Crimson Ribbon

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

Based on the real figure of the fascinating Elizabeth Poole, The Crimson Ribbon is the mesmerising story of two women's obsession, superstition and hope.May Day 1646: Ruth Flowers finds herself suddenly, brutally, alone. Forced to flee the household of Oliver Cromwell, the only home she has ever known, Ruth takes the road to London, and there is given refuge by Lizzie Poole. Beautiful and charismatic, Lizzie enthrals the vulnerable Ruth, who binds herself inextricably to her world. But Ruth is still haunted by fears of her past catching up with her. And as Lizzie's radical ideas escalate, Ruth finds herself carried to the heart of the country's conflict, to the trial of a king.

Tinder Press

A Sixpenny Song

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

Girl in Hyacinth Blue

Susan Vreeland
Authors:
Susan Vreeland
Headline

The Great Deception

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

In the aftermath of the war, will the truth stay buried?Joy Chambers' The Great Deception is filled with tension, excitement and romance, looking at the experiences of Australians in World War II. The perfect read for fans of Pam Jenoff and Margaret Leroy. 'A great rollercoaster of a novel' ­- Historical Novels Review New South Wales, 1947...When Shelly Wareing's husband Cole vanishes into the night, leaving only a note to say that he will come back no matter how long it takes, Shelly is bewildered. What could be the reason for his sudden disappearance? Searching for clues, Shelly discovers a box containing Nazi medals, an SS ring and a photo of a radiantly beautiful woman signed for her husband. Determined to uncover the truth, she sets out to track down Laetitia de Witt, the woman pictured in the photograph. Meanwhile, halfway across the world, Cole is on his own mission for the truth - while his enemies, who believe him to be a traitor, are in close pursuit...What people are saying about The Great Deception:'Fantastic book! Great storyline which had me enthralled from start to finish''A brilliant read for anyone who loves WWII stories and war mysteries''An excellent read from beginning to end'

Headline Review

The Final Sacrament

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester

September 1566. William Harley, Clarenceux King of Arms, lives quietly with his family in London, with a document in his possession that could destroy the state. The aged Lady Percy, Countess of Northumberland, has not given up trying to find it. Nor has she forgotten how he betrayed her and the Catholic cause - she has spent the last two years planning her revenge. But then eloquent and adventurous courtier, John Greystoke suddenly seems most concerned for Clarenceux's safety. And why, on behalf of the government, does Francis Walsingham have spies watching Clarenceux's house day and night? When his wife and his daughter go missing, Clarenceux finds himself on the run with his other young daughter, hunted by Lady Percy's agents. He knows he must finally destroy the document, even if it should cost him his life - but how can he, until he has reunited his family?

Headline Review

The Time of Terror

Seth Hunter
Authors:
Seth Hunter

Friends turn against friends, patriots are betrayed, and lovers must pay the ultimate price . . .The first gripping naval thriller in Seth Hunter's historical adventure series is sure to enthral fans of Julian Stockwin and Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin novels.'Rousing . . . a complex plot, written with wit, suspense, intrigue, and action' Publishers Weekly 1793: The French have killed their king and are about to embark on the violent period of bloodletting known as the Terror. Brig-sloop Commander Nathan Peake is on smuggler patrol off the Sussex coast and desperate for some real action. As revolutionary France declares war on England, he seizes his chance. Peake is given a vital mission; to destroy the French economy by smuggling millions of French banknotes across the Channel and into the heart of Paris. His operation leads him from perilous seas to the Empire of the Dead - a labyrinth of catacombs under the French capital where bodies are buried, secrets hidden and plots hatched. But as opposition to the Terror mounts, Peake is forced to leave Paris and join the storm-tossed British squadrons in the Atlantic in the first thunderous battle between the rival navies.What readers are saying about THE TIME OF TERROR:'Flowing prose, matching action-packed adventures both on land and at sea''A must-read for fans of naval historical fiction. Well researched and plotted with characters who really come alive''Full of humour and history and lust. A gripping tale, masterfully written'

Tinder Press

The Pillow Book of the Flower Samurai

Barbara Lazar
Authors:
Barbara Lazar

I am Kozaisho: Fifth daughter, Woman-For-Play, teller of stories, lover, wife and Flower Samurai. In the rich, dazzling, brutal world of twelfth century Japan, one young girl begins her epic journey, from the warmth of family to the Village of Outcasts. Marked out by an auspicious omen, she is trained in the ancient warrior arts of the samurai. But it is through the power of storytelling that she learns to fight her fate, twisting her life onto a path even she could not have imagined...

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Tainted Throne

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

The brutal battle for power continues in the fourth book in the epic Empire of the Moghul series.Agra, India, 1606. Jahangir, the triumphant Moghul Emperor and ruler of most of the Indian subcontinent, is doomed. No amount of wealth and ruthlessness can protect him from his sons' desire for power. The glorious Moghul throne is worth any amount of bloodshed and betrayal; once Jahangir raised troops against his own father; now he faces a bloody battle with Khurram, the ablest of his warring sons.Worse is to come. Just as the heirs of Timur the Great share intelligence, physical strength and utter ruthlessness, they also have a great weakness for wine and opium. Once Jahangir is tempted, his talented wife, Mehrunissa, is only too willing to take up the reins of empire. And with Khurram and his half-brothers each still determined to be their father's heir, the savage battle for the Moghul throne will be more ferocious than even Timur could have imagined...

Headline Review

Circle of Shadows

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson
Headline Review

The Roots of Betrayal

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester
Headline Review

The King's Touch

Jude Morgan
Authors:
Jude Morgan

Restored to the British throne in 1660 after years of exile, Charles II began a reign famous for dramatic events (the Plague, the Great Fire, the Dutch Wars), the flowering of science and the arts, and for notorious sexual liaisons. With a bevy of mistresses and flamboyantly addicted to high living, the Merry Monarch successfully presided over 'Merry Olde England' in an age of intrigue and religious dissent. When his tolerance extended to acknowledging his illegitimate son at court, James's life changed out of all recognition. This is the story of a remarkable man, and the spectacular upheavals and reverses of the time, told through the eyes of his illegitimate son, James, Duke of Monmouth.

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Headline

A Christmas Odyssey (Christmas Novella 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Moonlit Cage

Linda Holeman
Authors:
Linda Holeman
Headline Review

In a Far Country

Linda Holeman
Authors:
Linda Holeman

Pree Fincastle, daughter of impoverished British missionaries in India, is left alone and destitute when tragedy strikes. She embarks on a journey in search of Kai, the son of her mother's ayah, and the only person she can trust. But Kai is not the man Pree thought he was, and the secrets he holds will unlock the door to another world, another time - and, shockingly, another life. From the whispering Ravi River to the hidden heart of the Peshawar, this is a story of penury and prostitution, tragedy and bloodshed, secrets and love. But ultimately it is a story of hope; a story that, once read, will never be forgotten...

Headline Review

The Saffron Gate

Linda Holeman
Authors:
Linda Holeman
Headline

Anatomy of Murder

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson

'Makes you want to read every word...the plot is serpentine and satisfying, with enough false trails and distractions to create a genuine mystery'. Telegraph. The streets of London see the with rumour and conspiracy as the King's navy battles the French at sea. And while the banks of the Thames swarm with life, a body is dragged from its murky waters. In another part of town, where the air seems sweeter, the privileged enjoy a brighter world of complacent wealth and intoxicating celebrity. But as society revels in its pleasures, a darker plot is played out. Yet some are willing to look below the surface to the unsavoury depths. Mrs Harriet Westerman believes passionately in justice. Reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther is fascinated by the bones beneath the skin. Invited to seek the true nature of the dead man, they risk censure for an unnatural interest in murder. But when the safety of a nation is at stake, personal reputation must give way to the pursuit of reason and truth.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline

You've Been Warned

James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Authors:
James Patterson, Howard Roughan