David Suchet - Poirot and Me - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755364220
    • Publication date:22 May 2014

Poirot and Me

By David Suchet

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

As he films the final episode, actor David Suchet recalls his experience of playing Agatha Christie's world-famous detective, Hercule Poirot, for almost a quarter of a century.

Fans of Murder on the Orient Express and all things Agatha Christie won't want to miss this charming memoir from David Suchet...

In the summer of 2013 David Suchet filmed his final scenes as Hercule Poirot. After 24 years in the role, he played the character in every story that Agatha Christie wrote about him (bar one, deemed unfilmable) and felt it time to bid adieu to a role and a character that changed his life.

In Poirot and Me, David Suchet tells the story of how he secured the part, with the blessing of Agatha Christie's daughter, and set himself the task of presenting the most authentic Poirot that had ever been filmed.

David Suchet is uniquely placed to write the ultimate companion to one of the world's longest running television series. Peppered with anecdotes about filming, including many tales of the guest stars who have appeared over the years, the book is essential reading for Poirot fans all over the world.

Biographical Notes

David Suchet trained at LAMDA and has had a long and successful career as a character actor, on television and on the stage. He is married with two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755364206
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The GC

Gemma Collins
Authors:
Gemma Collins
Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

James Acaster's Classic Scrapes - The Hilarious Sunday Times Bestseller

James Acaster
Authors:
James Acaster

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER and 2017 Humour Book of the Year pick'Laugh-out-loud hilarious' - Chortle'I don't think I've ever read a book that has made me cry with laughter as much as this one. It was very difficult reading it in public as I looked like a madman' - Richard Herring 'James Acaster has a brilliant comic mind, crackling with energy every bit as much as his corduroy slacks' - Milton JonesJames Acaster has been nominated for the Edinburgh Comedy Award five times and has appeared on prime-time TV shows like MOCK THE WEEK, LIVE AT THE APOLLO and RUSSELL HOWARD'S STAND UP CENTRAL.But behind the fame and critical acclaim is a man perpetually getting into trouble. Whether it's disappointing a skydiving instructor mid-flight, hiding from thugs in a bush wearing a bright red dress, or annoying the Kettering Board Games club, a didgeridoo-playing conspiracy theorist and some bemused Christians, James is always finding new ways to embarrass himself.Appearing on Josh Widdicombe's radio show to recount these stories, the feature was christened 'James Acaster's classic scrapes'. Here, in his first book, James recounts these tales (including never-before-heard stories) along with self-penned drawings, in all their glorious stupidity.

Headline

Brand New Me

Charlotte Crosby
Authors:
Charlotte Crosby

For fans of ME ME ME, this is the next chapter in Charlotte Crosby's life - Celebrity Big Brother winner, MTV presenter, fitness DVD and book bestseller and one of the UK's best loved and funniest reality stars.In the two years since ME ME ME, national sweetheart Charlotte Crosby could not have been busier. Her jam-packed TV schedule has included appearances on some of the nation's favourite shows such as Celebrity Juice and This Morning, she is the presenter of MTV's new hit show Just Tattoo of Us and is now the face of her very own make-up range, Flique. Here in BRAND NEW ME Charlotte talks us through an incredibly busy year, making us laugh as ever with her funny moments (like when her mum woke up on Christmas morning to find her passed out naked by her new swimming pool) but also opening up about the difficult months surrounding her shock departure from Geordie Shore, betrayal and her heartbreaking ectopic pregnancy. After working through her loss by bravely speaking out, she is now an ambassador of the Ectopic Pregnancy Trust, helping raise awareness of the symptoms so other women can get early treatment and help if they find themselves going through a similar experience.So welcome to BRAND NEW ME, the next chapter in Charlotte's life: businesswoman, TV presenter, charity spokesperson, stronger than ever, inspiring us with her work ethic, smashing it with her style and still making us wet our pants laughing.

Headline

The Wrong Knickers - A Decade of Chaos

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon
Headline

Revenge

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Dreamland

Graham Mccoll
Authors:
Graham Mccoll
Headline

All Teachers Wise and Wonderful (Book 2)

Andy Seed
Authors:
Andy Seed
Headline

The Cat Who Saw Red (The Cat Who… Mysteries, Book 4)

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
Headline

The Cat Who Played Brahms (The Cat Who… Mysteries, Book 5)

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
Headline

The Cat Who Played Post Office (The Cat Who… Mysteries, Book 6)

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
Headline

The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (The Cat Who… Mysteries, Book 7)

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
Headline

The Cat Who Sniffed Glue (The Cat Who… Mysteries, Book 8)

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
Headline

Guilt (Alex Delaware series, Book 28)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

Gruesome secrets from the past turn into a dark and complex current case for psychologist Alex Delaware... Guilt is a compelling and high-octane thriller from bestselling author Jonathan Kellerman. Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly. 'Ingenious and horrifying' - The Sunday TimesWhen a young couple takes possession of their dream home, they can't wait to remodel the neglected mansion. That is until they make a gruesome discovery of a rusted metal strongbox containing two rotting leather doctor's bags. And inside each bag, swaddled in sheets of sixty-year-old newspaper, lies a tiny human skeleton.The case hits the media, and theories abound. The most likely culprit is a mysterious woman, employed as private nurse to wealthy L.A. families during World War Two. Lieutenant Milo Sturgis consults psychologist Alex Delaware for insight into the perpetrator's motives but the horror is just beginning... Two more bags are discovered, but this time the infants inside have been dead less than a month. Is a copycat at work? Or is there a link between the two finds which goes back decades? By the time both cases close, Alex and Milo will have confronted unprecedented narcissism, cruelty, deceit and a cold but fiendish objectification of the human spirit that shakes both men to the core... What readers are saying about Guilt: 'I couldn't put this book down. Such an intricate plot, full of twists and turns''A very smart and intriguing story''Five stars'

Headline

Victims (Alex Delaware series, Book 27)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Kill Switch

Bill Shaw
Authors:
Bill Shaw

From surviving a horrific terrorist attack in Northern Ireland, to the violence of the Gulf War and an assault course of harrowing experiences in Iraq, Bosnia and Columbia, Major Bill Shaw had seen it all. But Bill's strength and courage was tested to its absolute limits when he was arrested for a crime he did not commit. Posted in Afghanistan after two years in Iraq, Bill was responsible for the safety of four hundred men in a full-scale danger zone in one of the most dangerous countries in the world. The married father and grandfather, who had risen through the ranks to become a commander of men and an MBE, had long accepted that each day could be his last. But he never expected to find his own life at risk under a corrupt legal system. Thrown into prison and forced to share a cramped, vermin-infested cell with sixteen Afghans, among them members of the Taliban and al-Qaeda, Bill had no idea when, or even if, he would see his family again. This is the incredible true story of a brave soldier who survived some of the toughest war zones in the world only to face the nightmare of being wrongfully imprisoned a very long way from home. Gritty and gripping, this powerful military memoir is an eye-opening account of life on the frontline.

Headline

Sure and Certain Death

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Mystery (Alex Delaware series, Book 26)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Storm Rider

John Francome
Authors:
John Francome

A missing person. A macabre find. A murderer in their midst. Storm Rider is another suspenseful thriller set in the racing world from bestselling author John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'Look out, Dick Francis, here's Francome riding another winner' - Peterborough Evening TelegraphIn life, horse-fancier and antiques dealer Glyn Cole caused a heap of trouble - for his girlfriends, their jealous partners and his creditors. His two-year absence from the close-knit Berkshire horse community has been something of a relief. Broken bridges have been mended; lives have been rebuilt. And his disappearance has been a miracle for one individual in particular: the person who killed him. But now Glyn is back - in bizarre circumstances. A record-breaking storm has ripped his corpse from its ingenious hiding place. How did he get there and how did he die? Many have benefited from his absence - but who is no longer sleeping so soundly at night? It seems that, even in death, bad boy Glyn is as much trouble as he ever was...What readers are saying about Storm Rider:'Excellent story, written with a great understanding and passion by an expert with an eye for detail using his own racing experiences and knowledge''I was delighted by the interesting corpse conundrum!''A well-constructed and compelling narrative, with real dramatic pace and a succession of clever twists'